jump to navigation

Fun with Words: Ridiculosities September 27, 2010

Posted by nrhatch in Humor, Poetry, Word Play, Writing & Writers.
trackback

English is ridiculous!
I don’t care what you say
The K in Knees, unnecessary
It just gets in the way

Why do we have silent Gs
In front of Gnome and Gnu?
Superfluous both, standing round
With nothing at all to do

The silent P in Psychiatrist
Seems so melancholy and blue
If we could not pronunciate
Would we be depressed too?

And . . .

What about the extraneous W
In Wrinkles, Wry, and Wring?
How sad to be employed silently
Unable to say a thing

No wonder the P in Psychosis
Can’t tell falsehoods from true
If we had no raison d’etre
We’d be dazed and conflicted too

Perhaps Webster was WUI
When he added a G to Gnat
Writing Under the Influence would explain
Peculiar spellings like that

Same goes for words like Ptomaine
Gnarled, Gnash, Gnaw,
and Knotty
Writing While Intoxicated?  Yup
Noah must have been quite sotty

Tomorrow’s post:  Fun with Words: Gnome

Comments»

1. cindy - September 27, 2010

Deliteful?

nrhatch - September 27, 2010

I had a blast writing this yesterday. The English language quacks me up!

2. aardvarkian - September 27, 2010

I like a silent P myself 🙂

nrhatch - September 27, 2010

I know, right! Stop listening to my P. 😉

3. Loreen Lee - September 27, 2010

I new you’d come thru!
Your verse is good and true.
Good thing that it is not per verse
But that’s in the ‘language’ two.

nrhatch - September 27, 2010

What’s the converse of perverse? 🙂

Paula - September 27, 2010

Wonderful. . .have I had some influence on you. . .or is it the other way around? 😀

I now FULLY EXPECT some additions from you to my book of “Odes to the Everyday!” So get yourself over there, Lady, and start posting!!!

The two of you will probably be interested in my next Ode, to be posted this week called, “Ode to Homonyms.” Stay tuned!

nrhatch - September 27, 2010

Twin sons of different mothers.

I’ve written fun poetry since grade school. I’ve always loved playing with words.

I am definitely interested in reading your next Ode. 🙂

poeticinteraction - September 27, 2010

I’ll have to think. Oh dear! through verse, is per? Right? ad means (too!). Right? Hadn’t thought of the con-verse. (with?) But I’m writing a Menippean satire all about real cons, etc. And such a genre is supposed to have ‘verse’ in it. Maybe I’ll figure it out yet. Maybe a con-verse-sation with an adverse, perverse inmate. I have to stop! Control me!

nrhatch - September 27, 2010

Love it!

“Maybe a con-verse-sation with an adverse, perverse inmate. I have to stop! Control me!”

4. souldipper - September 27, 2010

If my memory serves me…mnemonics. Ah yes, I was writing on Nancy’s blog.

nrhatch - September 27, 2010

Good one.

I expect this poem could be several (hundred) verses longer ~ we’ve got enough ammo in the English language.

5. paulatohlinecalhoun1951 - September 27, 2010

Loreen – you left out obverse!

nrhatch - September 27, 2010

Paula’s got a brand new blog!!! WOOT!

Welcome to WP. 🙂

poeticinteraction - September 28, 2010

Wow. I was unfamliar with the word, but on checking it out with Webster, it seems you have, as could be expected, found a word that could, if used with cunning, serve within a legal indictment and prevent any future perversion!

nrhatch - September 28, 2010

Point. Counterpoint. 🙂

6. poeticinteraction - September 28, 2010

Also understand about Paula’s blog. Will just keep on the lookout for when the next ode is published.

7. poeticinteraction - September 28, 2010

Love Mr. Huxley. should have said ‘to prevent’. Love this kind of ‘fun’ with words. My irony! But, hopefully, it’s only on word use, not personal.

nrhatch - September 28, 2010

Playing with words is my passion. 😉

Not sure I understand your reference to Mr. Huxley.

8. Loreen Lee - September 28, 2010

Adous Huxley wrote a very good novel called Point Counterpoint. I was a great fan of his in the sixties.

nrhatch - September 28, 2010

Thanks.

The only Aldous Huxley book I’ve read is Brave New World.

Never heard of Point Counterpoint.


What Say YOU?

