jump to navigation

Eine Kleine Nachtmusik August 23, 2010

Posted by nrhatch in Gratitude, Music & Dance.
trackback

Prior to taking Music Appreciation in college, my familiarity with classical music involved walking out of the room whenever my mother played Bach, Beethovan, Mozart, Schumann, or Strauss.

After the course, I embraced several classical composers,  including Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart ~ a child prodigy who began composing about the age that I learned to tie my shoes.

My favorite Mozart composition:  Eine Kleine Nachtmusik.

To memorize the piece for class, I closed my eyes and saw the notes being played by each instrument as the lively serenade moved through the score.

Lost in the music, the world fell away.

With today’s technology, we can watch the notes being played with eyes wide open . . . while the world recedes from view!

Here’s Eine Kleine Nachtmusik, 1st movement, Allegro, performed by the Advent Chamber Orchestra, accompanied by a scrolling bar-graph score:

Inspiration:  Life As A Writer and Artist (Thanks, Carolyn . . . and Claude!)

Comments»

1. aardvarkian - August 23, 2010

I adore this piece of music.

nrhatch - August 23, 2010

I drown in it every time. : )

2. Loreen Lee - August 23, 2010

Hey! Thank you. Looked up Melody School of Music and found it was here in Toronto. But there was no link to more of the same. So may I ask “How did you get this? Is there more’. This is such a simplified expression of score, it really is helpful to see the general design. Loved this.

nrhatch - August 23, 2010

Glad you enjoyed.

Click on the link to Carolyn’s post. She’s got a link to the site where you can see more of these.

3. Paula - August 23, 2010

And just so you know, Mozart’s genius knew no bounds! Please take the time to listen to as much as you can – he always rewards me with joy, beauty, an peace – despite his own life which had so little of those things. (Read what good biographies of him you can find – as enjoyable as the movie/play “Amadeus” is, it is not even close to being true!)

BYW, I finished and posted today the story of my Mom’s rings.

nrhatch - August 23, 2010

I enjoy most of Mozart’s pieces. Not a fan of Requiem though. Too dark and sombre.

I’ll check out your story shortly.

Paula - August 24, 2010

My family is partial to his last Requiem, and it comes with a lot of laughter in our house when we think about it. See my post on “I’m Never Quite so Dumb…” from April. Maybe you have a few mondegreens in your closet?

http://reflectionsfromacloudymirror.blogspot.com/2010/04/im-never-quite-so-dumb.html

nrhatch - August 24, 2010

Fun post, Paula!

I’ve got nothing to top “Alone again, tangerine” or “Reverend Blue Jeans.”

4. Carole - August 23, 2010

Thank you for the music and the link! Before you were born, I lay on the floor in front of a Zenith console radio, listening to classical music. It was my idea, no one encouraged me, so I guess my love of it just came naturally. I visited Mozart’s apartment in Vienna 25 years ago–nothing much to see, but a thrill for me.

nrhatch - August 23, 2010

My dad loves radio broadcasts. Growing up, he saved his money to buy a small radio to play in bed at night. He still enjoys listening to the end of ball games via radio, in bed.

cindy - August 23, 2010

We listen to the radio while falling asleep every night. Love Mozart!

5. Posky - August 23, 2010

I’ve always loved classical music (most music really) but is it strange that I became transfixed and ended up really enjoying the scrolling bar too?

nrhatch - August 23, 2010

I love watching the notes playing on the scrolling bar ~ but generally I like to close my eyes when listening to Mozart, Chopin, Vivaldi, Pachelbel, etc.

I completely immerse myself in the music and get lost in the joy.

6. Liara Covert - August 23, 2010

Music is often felt as one form of heavenly communication. One never goes to make peace and cmpassion happen. They unfold through you.

nrhatch - August 23, 2010

So true. Beautiful music makes my heart sing. : )

7. deepercolors - August 24, 2010

I grew up in a family that kicked the TV that was playing Mozart, much less didn’t like classical music. I have always loved it though. I don’t know why. Mozart has been proven to help brain function in everything from babies fo older seniors. Mozart for the Mind is but one example.
Yea! Mozart.

nrhatch - August 24, 2010

I’ve given Mozart CD’s to pregnant mothers to soothe them and prompt the babies to create extra synapses while still “cooking in the oven.” : )

8. Judson - August 25, 2010

There was a great movie back in the 1970s where one of the characters in the law school would start each morning off with that piece.

I think it was called “The Paper Chase” … the movie, that is.

— Judson

nrhatch - August 25, 2010

The Paper Chase fits your description ~ made in the 70’s about attending Harvard law.

I don’t recall Mozart making an appearance, but it’s been awhile since I watched (or read) it. You piqued my curiosity. : )


What Say YOU?

