jump to navigation

Where’s Ego? August 18, 2010

Posted by nrhatch in Humor, Mindfulness, Music & Dance, Spirit & Ego.
trackback

IMGP0971My Ego (like Jacques Brel) is alive and well and living in Paris.

Meditation really works!

More and more often, my mind remains in a state of pure awareness ~ alert and curious, rather than angry, fearful, annoyed, worried, or overly judgmental.

* I HEAR birds and the laughter of children
* I FEEL the breeze and the sun’s caress
* I NOTICE blue skies framing palm fronds
* I SMELL fragrant flowers and fresh baked bread
* I TASTE bittersweet dark chocolate!

But . . . Ego lurks just below the surface.

And, as soon as it doesn’t get its way, it jumps into action, gleefully pronouncing that I am SO RIGHT to get annoyed . . . because who do they think they are . . . and remember that time when . . . and the other time . . . and don’t they understand . . .

As soon as I realize where those thoughts are taking me ~ dragging me into an “unhappy place” ~ I push Ego aside and tune into the moment at hand.

Unless I’m feeling angry, fearful, annoyed, worried, or overly judgmental . . . when all bets are off.

Comments»

1. Loreen Lee - August 18, 2010

It’s so nice to see that Jacques Brel has been so successful in overcoming his ego, and that his remains so generously live on alive and well in Paris. grin grin.

nrhatch - August 18, 2010

Oh, I think Jacques Brel still has an ego. : )

Loreen Lee - August 19, 2010

Irony, nrhatch. Irony.

2. Agatha82 - August 18, 2010

I had a goldfish called Ego…I don’t know why I called him that, but I was only 14 🙂

nrhatch - August 18, 2010

Oh, I love that name for a pet. : )

3. GretchensPianos - August 18, 2010

“Ego” at 14 would sound suitably exotic… 🙂

4. cindy - August 18, 2010

I greet Ego, ergo I stumble …

5. Tammy McLeod - August 19, 2010

I like this post although I have to admit ignorance around Jacques Brel. My morning meditation was from Joyce Meyer on continuously examining one’s own heart for where it needs forgiveness and where it needs to forgive – an ebb and flow. I think that’s an effective way to deal with the ego that is just under the surface.

nrhatch - August 19, 2010

My mom had this album when we were growing up. My favorite song is the last one, If We Only Have Love. : )

6. Naomi - August 19, 2010

Thanks for this great reminder to be mindful, Nance. Yoga is my favourite thing for being in the moment, even if it’s passing 🙂

nrhatch - August 19, 2010

Yoga is one of the best ways to be mindful ~ good for body, mind, and soul. : )

7. Loreen Lee - August 19, 2010

I believe in this too. The exercise of going through our past, and discovering just these aspects of ourselves, is I believe, essential for developing ourselves into better persons. We can’t change unless we can recognize those (yes often subconscious) motivations within ourselves.

Loreen Lee - August 19, 2010

The 7 comment in response to the 5 comment.


What Say YOU?

