jump to navigation

Getting Paid To Play! August 17, 2010

Posted by nrhatch in Happiness, Life Balance, Mindfulness.
trackback

When a job is a custom fit for our unique talents, interests, and abilities, we no longer dread Monday mornings.

Knowing that the work day will fly by, we look forward to rolling up our sleeves and getting back to work:

Hi Ho!   Hi Ho!    It’s off to work we go . . .         

Sounds great, huh?

For most of us, that type of job sounds more like a fairy tale fantasy than reality.  But dreams do come true . . .

If your job actively detracts from your joy and happiness, you may need to update your resume and look around for something better suited to your time and temperament.

{{SIGH}}

In contrast, if your job doesn’t excite you, but doesn’t negate happiness in other areas of your life, you may not need to shop for an interview suit just yet.

Working mindlessly with widgets all day is not a problem if you have enough time, money, and energy to explore other more creative pursuits and interests after hours.  Many writers pay the bills with a 9-5 job, while happily creating articles and/or story lines when the work day is done.

Let’s say you’re a well-paid (but uninspired) CPA by day and a volunteer in a soup kitchen at night.  If your life feels balanced, you don’t need to change your job just because it doesn’t excite you.

But, what if you could be the accountant for the soup kitchen?  Or for other non-profits?  That might be worth exploring.

If your job isn’t a perfect match with your favorite interests, make an effort to pursue those interests off the job.  If you have a hobby you enjoy, make time for it every day.

When you develop a certain level of proficiency at it (whether “it” is painting, photography, sculpting, woodworking, or completing tax returns), explore ways to get someone to pay you to do what you already love to do:

* If you love sailing, what about getting a part-time job at a marina?

In time, you might start a charter business for landlubbers who long to get out onto the ocean but lack the skills to do so.

IMGP0900d

* If you love baking delectable desserts, consider working weekends at a bakery.  In time, you could be running your own catering business called Delectable Desserts.

* If you love animals, you might enjoy being a pet sitter, dog groomer, or even a veterinarian (if you have enough motivation to return to school).

Tree-Frog-Percheda

Every day, people transform favorite hobbies into careers they love . . . jobs  they would  be willing to do for free.

If they can do it, why not you?

When you love what you do for a living, you’ll never have to work another day in your life.

Instead, you’ll get paid to “bang on your drum” all day.

Comments»

1. Agatha82 - August 17, 2010

I totally agree, I hated my previous job, it zapped me of my creativity and sucked my soul into a black hole (okay that’s a bit dramatic but you get the gist)

Still trying to figure out what to do for money, something will click into my head sooner or later, I’ve had a nasty cold and a bad neck so I am not really job searching right now…

nrhatch - August 17, 2010

That’s the way I felt right before I stopped practicing law ~ like the best parts of me were being consumed by the trials and tribulations of court room work. : )

I took a week’s vacation, felt great, and the minute I walked back into my office at work I KNEW that I had to leave. A few weeks later, I was FREE.

Thirteen years later, I’ve never once regretted that decision.

2. Paula - August 17, 2010

Really good article! I always told our children that as far as jobs/careers go, “Find the thing(s) you really LOVE to do, then find someone willing to pay you a living wage to do it!”

Once again I am reminded of a true story: A young lady (very bright and sweet) was a student at a college where my hubs was the campus minister. She held a part-time job as a docent/hostess for the school archives/museum. The college president had recently published a book on Nazi Germany, on which he was considered an authority; the book was for sale, and on display at the facility. One day she was giving a tour of the collections at the museum to a very distinguished VIP. On stopping to flip through the book he looked at “Cindy,” and commented, “Oh yes, I recall hearing that Nazi Germany was one of his avocations.” To which she replied, “Oh, I don’t think so – it’s really just a hobby!” When she later discovered her error, she almost died of embarrassment! 😀

nrhatch - August 17, 2010

That’s funny. Thanks, Paula!

Are you still typing one handed? If so, you must be getting fairly proficient . . . no typos. Better than I do with 2 hands.

3. Paula - August 17, 2010

Yup – one handed. Ialso use spell checker, which catches most of the errors. I had been a fairly fast typist (about 90 wpm), so I know where all the keys are, iy’s jst that my speed is down to about 35, not including error correction, which I’ve not done for purposes of this reply! I see lots of red squiggly lines. This is probably going to be a permanent fixture for my life – the omne-hand thing, I mean – so I spend a lot of time each day trying to improve my left-handed “pecking.” Time will tell. I’ll check my speed again in a few eeks!

nrhatch - August 17, 2010

Oh, that’s too bad. I didn’t realize that you would never regain use of your right hand.

Maybe you’ll be pleasantly surprised (and surprise your doctor down the road). I keep my fingers crossed for you.

And, I see what you mean about the “red squiggley lines” . . . not as clean and polished as your other one handed efforts. : )

4. Joanne - August 17, 2010

Perfect timing once again, Nancy…
I start a two-week substitute assignment tomorrow.

I was thinking how much I enjoy subbing as opposed to being bound to a contract. Not only do I still get to work with young people, but it also frees my time to do more with my music and other creative hobbies I enjoy.

Now that my living expenses have been whittled down significantly, my source of income is a perfect match for me. This is all part of the recent clarity I achieved through this month’s transitions.

nrhatch - August 18, 2010

Excellent.

Once we realize that freedom is worth more than huge houses, or closets full of stuff we never wear anyway . . . we open ourselves up to all sorts of possibilities.

Have fun with the new assignment. : )


What Say YOU?

