jump to navigation

bin Laden & ME: A Shared Philosophy August 12, 2010

Posted by nrhatch in Happiness, Humor, Life Balance, Sustainable Living.
trackback

Turns out, Osama bin Laden and I share a similar philosophy on life.

{{gulp}}

Before leaving the practice of law, I asked myself:

What if you could be the BEST attorney in the city/state/ country/world in  ten years time, would that be a goal worth working towards?

My answer:  No.

In that sense, I share a life philosophy with comedian George Burns:

I would rather be a failure at something I love to do, than a success at something I don’t. ~ George Burns

It’s not that I didn’t enjoy aspects of practicing law.  I did.  But it became more and more apparent that being “the best attorney I could be” and being “the best ME I could be” were mutually exclusive objectives.

Priorities firmly established, I resigned from the practice of law to become “the best ME I could be.”

(Thirteen years later, I am still a work in progress.)

Recently, I learned that Osama bin Laden has a similar underlying philosophy on life:

According to recent news reportsbin Laden’s goal is to be the “best terrorist” he can be.

Reading that made me laugh at the bizarre world we live in.

Seriously.  How many kids, when asked about their plans for the future, would say, “I want to be a terrorist when I grow up!”

I laughed a second time when I learned that bin Laden is “jealous” of the devastation wrought by BP in the Gulf of Mexico.

He wishes he had thought of it first.

 

Comments»

1. cindy - August 12, 2010

It does take all kinds to make a world.

nrhatch - August 12, 2010

I deleted the 2nd part of your message.

Send me an e-mail.

2. sandysays1 - August 12, 2010

Hmmmm,
That having things in common is a scary, thing isn’t it. Dogs and cats both want to steal your heart the best they can, Elvis and Carruso both wanted to sing as the best they could…and Democrat and Republicans want to screw the best they can.
Sandy
http://www.sandysays1.wordpress.com

nrhatch - August 12, 2010

I’m just glad not to be following in ObL’s footsteps in any other way. : )

George Burns, however, I plan to emulate until I turn 102!

3. Barbara Gunn - August 12, 2010

Sometimes “role models” are there to teach us what not to do!

nrhatch - August 12, 2010

Yup. Positive role models and negative role models abound.

4. MARLENE LA MURA - August 12, 2010

I APPLAUD YOUR BRAVADO FOR CHOSING THE PATH YOU WANTED TO SKIP DOWN..NO ONE SKIPS DOWN THE ROAD TO THE MUNDANE OR DISTASTEFUL OR UNHAPPINESS, ETC.. YOU GO GIRL!

nrhatch - August 12, 2010

Thanks, Marlene!

It took me a few tries to work up the courage to switch paths, but I’ve never once regretted the decision.

5. mizzezmellymel - August 12, 2010

I agree with Barbara wholeheartedly!

nrhatch - August 12, 2010

Me too.

I feel strongly that we should share the best parts of ourselves with the world . . . not aim to be the best “bad apple” in the bushel.

6. Joanne - August 13, 2010

May I add that some of our students are not waiting to grow up to become terrorists… they’re already in training 😀

Seriously, though, this philosophy lately has been making a bee-line to my heart and mind, as well… I’d rather NOT succeed at being a singer/songwriter than succeed at being Teacher of the Year in our present educational system.

nrhatch - August 13, 2010

There’s a wonderful book, “Do what you love . . . and the money will follow,” about taking that flying leap from the road you’re on to the road you really want to explore.

Good luck.


What Say YOU?

