jump to navigation

Why Write? July 27, 2010

Posted by nrhatch in Blogging, Spirit & Ego, Writing & Writers.
trackback

220px-Francesco_Hayez_001Do we write to share an idea, a story, a passion  to ignite passion or provoke memory in others?

Or to have our Ego stroked for each bon mot and delightful turn of phrase by pseudo-intellectuals who critique our words liberally?

Do we wish to communicate thoughts, ideas, hopes, and dreams to inspire thoughts, ideas, hopes, and dreams in others?

Or be on the receiving end of endless and empty platitudes by eager writers who hope we will reciprocate in kind?

Did J.K. Rowling create Harry Potter so her audience would admire her way with words and bow down to her genius in creating Dumbledore, Quidditch, and Hogwarts?

Or because she found a story within herself that screamed to be let out?

Do we seek publication because there is something within us that must be shared with a wider audience?  Or because we ourselves wish to be seen?

Distilled to its essence: Do we wish to give?   Or receive?

Comments»

1. Loreen Lee - July 27, 2010

I am not going to answer this, because if I were to do this, I believe you would critique my reasons for writing, through your assumption based on my past experience and my observations of you, that such a proposal from me would just an expression of my ego. “Fools rush in where angels fear to tread”. meaning simply I’m not going to be a fool and walk into any set-up. I know why I write.

nrhatch - July 27, 2010

Excellent response, Loreen.

Just as you need not understand why I write, I need not understand why you write.

We each just need to understand our own motivation.

2. Paula - July 27, 2010

Interesting post, Nancy, and my answer to the questions (even though they were like rhetorical) is “Probably a mixture of most of them!” My initial reason for writing was to help me to clear the jumble from my head. I wrote purely for MYSELF, and thus did not publicize it. When I realized I really wanted to start WRITING, it became a forum to share those thoughts with others and to test whether I could do that effectively. The fact that I want feedback is to help this fledgling writer, and I truly WELCOME all input, both positive and redactive (in the “negative” sense, although I do not consider that in the pejorative sense!.) So, a combination – but a thought-provoking post. Thank you!

nrhatch - July 27, 2010

You’re welcome. : )

3. cindy - July 27, 2010

I really like this post and find a lot of my own reactions in Paula’s comment. I’d answer your question, Nancy, to say that it’s more than wanting to ‘give’ or ‘receive’; I think what I enjoy most is to ‘share’.

nrhatch - July 27, 2010

Wonderful! Life balance flows between Yin and Yang. ; )

4. tsuchigari - July 28, 2010

I love the pictures of Martha Graham, for years I was part of a modern dance troupe and had the chance to learn to express my feelings through dance. Today I still am grateful for the body awareness and grace I gained.

As for writing, I write because it is an outlet for my creativity.

nrhatch - July 28, 2010

I wish I’d stayed with ballet longer than I did. Definitely time well spent.

5. When You Have Something To Say « Spirit Lights The Way - November 2, 2012

[…] Related posts:  Why I Write (Janna T Writes) * Why Write? […]


What Say YOU?

