jump to navigation

Indiana Jones Wouldn’t. Would You? July 23, 2010

Posted by nrhatch in Humor, Nature.
trackback

TimonIndiana Jones hates snakes.

He is satisfied that dangerous reptiles should be appreciated (or ignored) only from afar . . . like in a galaxy far, far away.

What about you?   Would you . . .

(a)  Be willing to go into the Everglades at night to round up 14-foot-long Burmese Pythons and bring them in “dead or alive”?

Snake Hunter Cleaning Up Florida’s Everglades One Snake At A Time

Favorite quote:  “Snakes bite me all the time,” Capt. Fobb says. “They’re trying to get me not to pick them up. You learn that, when they’re 10 to 11 feet long, you don’t pull away when they bite … If you can just kind of hold still while they decide you’re not something to eat, you’re OK.”

(b)  Be willing to eat a poisonous snake to win a $2 bet?

Indian Man Eats Poisonous Snake, Barely Survives

Favorite quote:  Luckily for Zaver, doctors were able to remove the contents of his stomach before the snake’s poison reached his bloodstream, which would have killed him.

(c)  Be willing to live with dozens of poisonous snakes and constrictors (and allow them to drop gently onto your pillow at night) to set a Guiness Book World Record?

Man Attempting World Record For Living With Dangerous Snakes

Favorite Quotes:  Jones (first nameDavid, not Indiana) is living in a room near Damodoryn, South Africa, for the next 121 days with more than three dozen constrictors, green mambas, boomslangs and other variations of killer serpents in an attempt to set a Guinness world record.

Often, he says, the snakes drop on his pillow or shoulders as he’s trying to work or sleep, but there have so far been no instances of Jones being bitten by one of these deadly terrors.

Me neither.

Comments»

1. Agatha82 - July 23, 2010

I like snakes, I happen to be one in the Chinese Horoscope but I don’t think I’d like to live with one eeek

nrhatch - July 23, 2010

They wouldn’t have to bite me or squeeze me to death . . . I’d die of fright if one landed on my pillow or across my shoulders.

{{shudders}}

2. Loreen Lee - July 23, 2010

I’m lucky. My experience with snakes is of one’s more gentler and smaller. Water snakes, garter snakes, – some of my friends keep them as pets. No pythons- though there is a man in city who does keep one.

nrhatch - July 23, 2010

Most of the snakes I’ve seen around here have been on the non-poisonous variety, but I still want them to stay outside and away from my bare feet. : )


What Say YOU?

