jump to navigation

The Third Jesus July 18, 2010

Posted by nrhatch in Magick & Mystery.
trackback

In The Third Jesus, Deepak Chopra examines the life and teachings of Christ as Man, Myth, and Mystic.

As summarized on Amazon:

The first is the historical Jesus, the man of flesh and blood who lived more than two thousand years ago.

The second Jesus is a person who never lived but is a figure created by the Church to represent thousands of years of theology and Church teaching.

Behind these two images stands a third Jesus, the radical, mystical teacher who taught his followers how to change the world.

In The Third Jesus, Chopra explores Jesus’ original message, revealing a spiritual guide of profound depth and inspiration that speaks to anyone who believes in the importance of peace and love.

By turning fresh eyes on the New Testament and returning to the essentials of Jesus’ message, Chopra shows how the third Jesus can truly transform our lives—and humanity.

Deepak encourages readers to see Jesus, not as the poster boy kidnapped by the Christian church, but as a Spiritual Being ~ an eternal Spirit who temporarily adopted a mortal persona to share a message of peace, hope, love, compassion, and acceptance with the world.

If we look beyond the man, and the myth of Christianity, this is the Christ  who emerges from the mists of time . . . The Third Jesus who knew himself as eternal and everlasting Spirit.

When Jesus said I am the Way, the Truth, and the Light, he would not have been referring to his earthbound persona, Jesus of Nazareth, a role he would shortly be leaving behind.

Nor would he have been speaking of the Christian church and its claims.

The words, I am the Way, the Truth, and The Light, refer not to mortal man or religious myth, but to the eternal and everlasting Spirit within.

Not the Spirit within Christ.  The Spirit within us.

All of us.

Related posts:  Thanks, God! * Why I Speak of Spirit, Not God * God Is Not A Christian, Jew, or Moslem * Self-Fulfilling Prophecies * Access Your Inner Wisdom * Our Deepest Fear * Winks, Whispers, and Nudges

Comments»

1. Loreen Lee - July 18, 2010

I have read this book by Chopra. Just one thing: I believe the saying of Jesus is “I am the Way, the Truth, and the Life” not Light.
This possibly could be similar to Beauty, Truth and Goodness or Plato’s Good, if they were put in philosophic parlance.
I don’t consider that my spirit is developed enough to utter these words with reference to myself. Spirit, my understanding, can be limited within the individual. I’ll just work on getting my ego to be more virtuous and less full of vice. After all, it’s hard enough to spot the vice within oneself, and unless one can this could cloud up that spirit!!!!! Some mystical experiences have to be checked out, even. They can be self-deceptive. I know this, when I checked with the Buddhist on a Spiritual experience I had.

nrhatch - July 18, 2010

(1) You’re right, but he also referred to himself as the light:

“I am the way, the truth, and the life. …. He who follows Me shall not walk in darkness, but have the light of life.”

(2) I tend to agree with you, I would not be comfortable saying, “I am the way, the truth, the light,” even if I knew I meant the Spirit within. : )

Instead, I would say, “Spirit is the way, the truth, and the light.” Or just “Spirit lights the way.”

(3) To me, Spirit is always fully “developed,” but not always “accessible,” cloaked as it is by ego and its concerns.

It’s more a matter of learning to tap into its wisdom (via the spiritual internet), than of having to develop Spiritual wisdom on our own.

Like a constantly flowing stream, Spirit is ready to light the way, once we figure out how to enter the flow of life to access its wisdom.

To me, there is only one Spirit, which we access by looking within:

https://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2010/07/08/why-i-speak-of-spirit-not-god/

As I use the term, Spirit IS Goodness (joy, peace, love, hope, truth, serenity, humility, kindness, benevolence, empathy, generosity, and compassion).

2. nancycurteman - July 18, 2010

Sounds like an interesting book. A Persian friend I spent time with at the University of Nice was born into the zoroastrian religion. Her philosophy seems appropriate here. She doesn’t practice any religion because she considers all religions divisive. I think history has proven this.

nrhatch - July 18, 2010

I agree with your friend.

Many religions are extremely divisive ~ instead of seeking to unite the world, they seek to “conquer” it.

3. Joanne - July 19, 2010

Reminds me of a book I read years ago… WILL THE REAL JESUS PLEASE STAND, by Vendel Jones (model for the Indiana Jones series). It was intriguing and prompted my paradigm shift… I’d like to read this one now.

nrhatch - July 19, 2010

I’ve heard of that book, but don’t think I’ve read it. I get most of my books from the library these days ~ to keep from cluttering up my house and to save $$$’s.

If you want more info on this book, the link to Amazon (above) allows you to search inside and peruse its contents more fully.

4. flyinggma - April 24, 2011

Sounds like a book to add to my ever growing reading list. Thanks for sharing, Jeanne

nrhatch - April 24, 2011

I thought it might interest you, Jeanne.

Sometimes I believe that the real lessons Jesus came to share with us (love, compassion, and kindness) get buried beneath the label of “Savior.”


What Say YOU?

