jump to navigation

Walking Meditation July 9, 2010

Posted by nrhatch in Happiness, Health & Wellness, Meditation, Nature.
trackback

Seeing red?

Blood pressure soaring through the stratosphere?

Heart attack imminent?

Ready to go postal?

Relax . . .

Create space for what matters.  Enjoy a walking meditation to regain your equilibrium and peace of mind.

A walking meditation is simple:  (1) Start walking.   (2) Stop thinking.

Put your worries on “pause” for 5-10 minutes.

Maintain a quiet awareness as you focus on the sights and sounds you encounter.  Get outside your head.  Return to the land of the living.

Immerse yourself in the present moment.

Breathe.  Relax.  Repeat.

Be Here Now.

Related posts:   Meditation 101 Creative Visualization * The ABC’s of Happiness * More ABC’s of Happiness * Don’t Believe Everything You Think * Attack of the Killer ANTs

Comments»

1. Joanne - July 9, 2010

Very much in sync with what where I’m at… As I’m in the midst of yet another HUGE transformation — moving, letting go of any attachments that have been holding me in my current reality for some time, and ready to start another chapter — it’s the outdoor walks that have kept me in tune with every step of this process…

Normally I would run for 30 minutes at least twice a week… This past week, my “sub-audible voices” have instructed me to WALK instead… I’ve walked at least 20 miles this week and experienced that shift in my equilibrium… I’m not feeling the angst I started with at the onset of this transformation…

AND as I walked I reflected on the interpretation of a dream I had just before this onset… I’d probably need to blog on that alone… It will wait until I’m all settled into my new place…

nrhatch - July 9, 2010

Lovely!

We just got back from a walking meditation the beach. We did not walk anywhere near the distance you’ve been covering.

2. cindy - July 10, 2010

As I just said on your previous post, I’ll start on Monday.

nrhatch - July 10, 2010

Enjoy!

Especially when the skies are blue, walking does wonders for clearly my head of cobwebs and improving my flow of words when I return to the keyboard.

I started with “for one minute I’m just going to observe what’s going on outside of me without THINKING about it” ~ now I often find that my mind automatically tunes to Channel KTAB (Keep Thoughts At Bay).

Once you start giving your mind and thoughts a “time out,” you begin to pay more attention to how they’ve led you astray in the past.

3. Paula - July 10, 2010

This is my daily – sometimes hourly meditation, whether walking, sitting, or waiting at a traffic light…meditation works best for me when I not only clear my head and let Spirit in but also when I clear my head of ME, and think of others. Here is something I say many times a day, from St. Theresa, and it always blesses me with peace: “May today there be peace within; may you trust God that you are exactly where you are meant to be; may you not forget the infinite possibilities that are born of faith; may you use those gifts that you have received and pass on the love that has been given to you; may you be content knowing you are a child of God; let this Presence settle into your bones and allow your soul the freedom to sing, dance, praise, and love. It is there for each and every one of you.” So be it!

nrhatch - July 10, 2010

Thanks, Paula.

I like to stop THINKING entirely when I meditate. It gives my brain a much needed rest and reminds me that I am NOT my thoughts. I am the observer of my thoughts. That reminds me not to believe everything I think. : )

Aah, that’s the prayer I included in Progress, not Perfection, with a few modifications to make it “my own”:

May we remember to access the peace within.
May we trust that we are exactly where we are meant to be.
May we not forget the infinite possibilities available here and now.
May we use our gifts wisely, and share our joy freely.
May we accept ourselves as we are.
May we allow spirit the freedom to sing, dance, laugh, praise, and love.
May spirit remain ever present ~ a beacon to light our way.

https://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2010/05/12/progress-not-perfection/


What Say YOU?

