jump to navigation

Mango Salsa July 3, 2010

Posted by nrhatch in Food & Drink, Vegetarian Recipes.
trackback

Mickey-OKI love the name of this recipe . . .

Saying Man~GO or Sal~SA (or An~TON~i~o . . . Ban~DER~as) with the emphasis on the indicated syllables (not necessarily the correct syllables) makes me smile.

Saying Man~GO and Sal~SA in juxtaposition makes me smile even more.

Anyway, like many recipes, this one is rather fluid in terms of both the ingredients and quantities to use.   It comes from a cyber pal, Beth, who lives, loves, and laughs in West Virginia.

Enjoy!

Mango Salsa

Ingredients:  mango * avocado * tomato * jalapeño * cilantro *  red onion

Seasonings:  lime juice * garlic * salt * olive oil (2-3 tablespoons)

Dice desired fruits and veggies from above list.  Mix together with desired seasonings from list.

Chill overnight to allow the flavors to marry.

Serve with tortilla chips or as a side dish ~ either way, Mango Salsa is a wonderful way to give your fruit and veggie intake a boost for the day.

Nutrition Tip:  The more colorful our plates become . . . the more vitamins, minerals, fiber, and anti-oxidants (another fun word!) we are employing in our quest to improve our health and well-being.

For a similar recipe:  Mango Salsa (Duck and Goose)

Related posts:  Zucchini Boats * Versatile Pasta Salad * A Trip to the Farmer’s Market * Yummy Hummus  *  Ten Ways to Fiber Up Your Diet * Bon Appetit! *  Bruschetta

 

Comments»

1. cindy - July 3, 2010

Yum Nancy, I really love mango!

nrhatch - July 3, 2010

I have to confess . . . I’ve never actually made this salsa but Beth loves it so I wanted to share.

Making salsa is a wonderful way to gather round the good stuff ~ whenever we incorporate so many different colors of the rainbow in one dish we are giving ourselves a nutritional boost.

Enjoy!

2. Paula - July 3, 2010

I love salsa of any kind…sans cilantro (tastes like soap to me!), and I might try this one…but I always have a hard time knowing how to pick a ripe mango! My sons is good at it, having lived in Thailand for an extended time, but he’s not always around when I shop! Any suggestions, anyone?

nrhatch - July 3, 2010

Hmm . . . maybe smell them like a peach?

Or squeeze them like Charmin? : )

3. Paula - July 3, 2010

The smell doesn’t always work, even with peaches – lately, anyway for me. I have been sorely disappointed in some peaches and nectarines that smelled and felt divine, and then had ABSOLUTELY NO FLAVOR WHATSOEVER! The smell test has always been my stand-by method for ripeness. That plus the feel – also for melons, but I don’t know mangoes well enough (being a sort-of-yankee) to be able to now what’s ripe smelling! Love the way they taste when they’re peeled and cubed for me!

nrhatch - July 3, 2010

I’ve asked on FB for tips . . . none received yet. Sorry.


What Say YOU?

