jump to navigation

Good Enough June 28, 2010

Posted by nrhatch in Life Balance, Mindfulness, Music & Dance.
trackback

We don’t have time to pursue all desires to the extreme, but we have plenty of time to dip our toes in the water and decide where to focus our talents . . .

Unless we get caught in the dreaded trap of perfection.

We’ve been programmed to not make mistakes, which may be the biggest mistake we can make.

Instead of expending energy to perfect daily minutiae that won’t matter a year (or even a week!) from now . . . learn to recognize when something is good enough:

Progress, rather than perfection
Is good enough for me
Unless the action in question
Is a high priority

Music, Art, Writing, Life . . . it’s all a wonderful dance.

Even if we step on toes or stumble along the way!

Related posts:  Progress, Not Perfection * Water Over The Dam *  Getting to Good Enough (Dustin Wax) * Follow The Thread (GretchensPianos)

Comments»

1. GretchensPianos - June 28, 2010

Nancy, this is turning into a fascinating discussion!

I agree, we don’t have time to pursue perfection in everything. And “good enough” is actually the goal.

About a week prior to a performance, it becomes obvious that it’s time to be about performing, not tweaking everything AGAIN. There is a point…

Thanks so much for linking to my blog! 🙂

Gretchen

nrhatch - June 28, 2010

In matters of livelihood, there is good reason to constantly strive to improve our “performance.”

But when we feel that everything in our life must be “perfect,” we’re just closing ourselves off from enjoyment:

There’s an Erma Bombeck poem about not letting our goals get in the way of our happiness. I’ll see if I can find it.

2. cindy - June 29, 2010

I agree, taste a bit of everything!

nrhatch - June 29, 2010

I tend to try lots of things . . .

If I enjoy them enough, I work to improve my proficiency. If not, I just dabble a bit and move on to something more suited to my current incarnation.

3. granny1947 - June 29, 2010

Progress rather than perfection…I can live with that!!!

nrhatch - June 29, 2010

Me too!

4. Paula - June 29, 2010

I’ ve made a couple of posts along the lines of “good” and “enough.” My concern with things being “good” is that somehow in our own estimation the word “good” is sometimes seen as an insult! We want superlatives from our critics and from ourselves – even if not perfection. That link is: http://reflectionsfromacloudymirror.blogspot.com/2010/03/youve-got-friend-in-oprah.html

As far as “enough” goes, that’s another word that requires us to open up our hearts and minds – and not just in relation to our own product, but also regarding our possessions and our perceptions of the world around us. That link is:
http://reflectionsfromacloudymirror.blogspot.com/2010/03/when-is-enough-enough.html

I’m linking these not to toot my own horn but to engage others in these conversations…how we use language and change it willy-nilly is of great interest to me…not that it’s necessarily a bad thing (there’s another word – “bad”), but it proves more and more how careful we need to be in what we say, and in listening to what others have to say!

I’ve loved these posts referring to performance, performance anxiety, self-criticism, and didactic criticism! (In the best sense of “didactic.”)
These comments may seem off the track, but they are what I immediately thought of when reading these posts.

nrhatch - June 29, 2010

Thanks, Paula.

Glad you’re enjoying these posts and that they’ve prompted you to post links. I’m a firm believer in “tooting horns” when they need to be tooted ~ both for ourselves and for others.

The goal being, of course, not to stroke EGOs, but to share what we’ve learned with others to help them on their journey.

I’ll check out your posts when I have a few minutes to engage in civil discourse.

Paula - June 29, 2010

Thanks…and remember you need LOTS of TIME to read mine. I look forward to some more of our always civil discourse! 😀


What Say YOU?

