jump to navigation

Weighty Words June 24, 2010

Posted by nrhatch in Food & Drink, Humor, Writing & Writers.
trackback

There’s a correlation between what I’m writing and the number on my bathroom scale . . .

If I’m writing a novel, a continuous effort to push out words toward a unified goal, my weight dips down.

It’s not that I forget to eat, but I’m too engrossed in writing to take my stomach’s protests seriously:

Stomach:  {{rghrghrgh}}

Me:  I’m busy.  I’ll feed you later.

Stomach:  {{RGHRGHRGHRGHRHGRHG}}

Me:  OK, OK . . . as soon as I finish this chapter.

By the end of the chapter, three days later, my stomach has given up and gone back to sleep.

I step on the scale, blink in surprise at the diminutive number smiling up at me, and realize that my novel’s gains are my loss ~ as I flesh out a novel with weighty words, my weight melts away.

In contrast, when I’m blogging, there are too many pauses ~ convenient places to get up and eat:

Me:  Aah, post #427.  Done and dusted.  I guess I’ll head to the kitchen and grab a bite to eat.

Stomach:  I’m not hungry.

Me:  Well, you will be later . . . let’s be proactive.

Aah . . . that’s better!

Comments»

1. Richard W Scott - June 24, 2010

Sigh. With me, it’s a little different. If I write I gain weight. If I don’t write, I gain weight. If I cut down on foodl… you guessed it. I gain weight.

I’d say it’s all in the genes… but the genes don’t fit any more.

cindy - June 24, 2010

hahaha! I hadn’t read your comment before I posted mine 🙂

nrhatch - June 24, 2010

When Bill is working and I’m writing, the weight rolls off, because I really do ignore my stomach.

When Bill’s around, he fixes lunch for us and I stop to eat it and keep him company . . . even if I’m not really hungry ~ that causes my jeans to shrink.

2. cindy - June 24, 2010

LOL, you’re funny Nancy! I’ve been the same size since I was 14, except during my pregnancy; and seven hours after Chelsea was born I was back in my old jeans. I guess I just have a very fast metabolism, because I sure eat a lot.

nrhatch - June 24, 2010

My weight, while generally in the healthy range, has had as many ups and downs, twists and turns, as a roller coaster.

3. Paula - June 24, 2010

Well, it must be true that great minds run on the same track…just didn’t know I was one of them! Check out my most recent post (from last night). Weight and body issues can be so time and mind consuming…wish we as a culture could get away from it, but it is pushed into our faces all the time. I have tried all my life not to listen to people who tell me how I SHOULD be, and learn to be content with what I AM. Since I am so self-critical, that has been an uphill battle!

nrhatch - June 24, 2010

Childhood obesity is an epidemic which in some cases borders on child abuse.

As long as we’re still growing as a nation, the issue needs to be shoved in our faces. We need to eat less and exercise more if we want to be healthy and happy.

I’ll run round and take a peak at your post.

4. Joanne - June 24, 2010

I could write a book on this topic of weight gain, weight loss, yo-yo weight, and weighing words carefully… but sometimes, the more attention we give to the subject, the more we keep what we really don’t want — and we lose by gaining… Enough already… all these weightless words are making me hungry…!

nrhatch - June 24, 2010

I agree.

Obsessing about every calorie and fat gram is generally counter-productive in the long run . . . focusing on making more healthy choices and fewer unhealthy choices tips the scales in our favor.


What Say YOU?

