jump to navigation

If We Could Talk To The Animals . . . June 17, 2010

Posted by nrhatch in Animals, Nature.
trackback

Pluto-HappyI devote a fair amount of blog-space to animal rights and animal advocacy.

Why? Because they’re worth it!

I’ve written posts on protecting our fine-feathered and furry friends from challenges they face due to habitat loss, abuse, over-consumption, and corporate greed.

As well as uplifting pieces on celebrating the animals we encounter in our daily lives.

If you’re interested, use the Category Widgets to locate  posts on:  Amazing AnimalsAnimal WelfareNatureSustainable Living, or Vegetarian Recipes.

Or search for specific words with the Search Bar:  Humane Society (HSUS) * Farmer’s Market * C.S.A.* Vegetarian * Meat Labels * National Wildlife Fund *  Photography * Otters * Crows * Nature Conservancy * Flying Fish * Leaping Lizards * Sushi * Pets * Lion * Birdwatching * Tigger * Bear * Wildlife * Dog * Cat * Etc.

No rules.  Just write!

What about you?  Are you a Nature Enthusiast?  A Birdwatcher?  An Advocate for Animals?  A doting Pet Owner?  Please share.

Comments»

1. Richard W Scott - June 17, 2010

I talk to animals all the time. Some of them answer me–if not in English. It is a very special form of communication.

nrhatch - June 17, 2010

I agree.

Tigger and I converse regularly ~ we understand each other even when surrounded by the sound of silence.

2. theonlycin - June 17, 2010

Nice, Lulubelle just told me a very big secret, but I can’t share 😉

nrhatch - June 17, 2010

Secrets with pets = the BEST!

3. Paula - June 17, 2010

I don’t even have to go to my imagination to talk to the animals! We have a dog that talks – constantly! Now if we could only find a verbal “Rosetta Stone” to help us figure out what she is saying! We also have a parrot – Pepper – who is 48 years old ((Domestic bred, my family has had him since he was 6 months old), and he talks – mainly LAUGHS – like me – ALL THE TIME!) Our present cat, Justin, doesn’t talk – just yowls for food – but we had a dear cat who used to chirp! Enough talking around this house to satisfy any linguist! Now as far as imaginary talk…I talk to myself all the time…but wait – that’s not imaginary! I answer myself too!

nrhatch - June 17, 2010

That’s what I need, a parrot! That laughs, like me, all the time!

Life improves with laughter ~ whatever its source.

4. Tammy McLeod - June 17, 2010

going to the shelter to pick up a new kitty this evening!

nrhatch - June 17, 2010

There is nothing like having a new kitty around to cause laughter to erupt!

And what a lucky cat-to-be . . . getting adopted by YOU!

Have fun!

5. Mstrongair - June 17, 2010

Hello Friends,
hahhaha

I personally prefer wild than tame animals. I love farm animals.
Why is it that there aren’t many Animal Language Institutions around and Humans enrolling in the courses?
I’ve seen and heard humans saying to their pets:
“Sit”, “Up”, “Down”, “Come”,… (That not to mention the cages)
Humans are strange… (Alien talking over here)
Some animals are their best friends, but are the humans the animals’ best friends?

It bothers me when animals don’t have a voice in the stories. I run away from reading that.

Laughter… Healing…

nrhatch - June 17, 2010

We are most definitely Tigger’s best friends . . . he told me so just this morning.

M`E`O`W

6. Joanne - June 17, 2010

If monkeys can learn sign language and crows can nurture, feed and protect kittens (I’ll have to find that video that made the news), and parrots can laugh like Paula and cry like a baby (another video titled “Why Parrots Shouldn’t Live Around Babies”), then animals are just waiting for us to learn how to listen and understand what they are so patiently trying to communicate… I agree with Paula… We need a Rosetta Stone program for animal talk… and whatever happened to Dr. Doolittle, anyway…?

nrhatch - June 17, 2010

I would love to be Dr. Doolittle! : )

Or the “witch” from Thomasina.

Speaking to animals would be AWESOME!

7. Mstrongair - June 17, 2010

Meow!

nrhatch - June 17, 2010

Yes! Exactly!

8. agatha82 - June 17, 2010

Yesterday, I went walking through Hampstead Heath in the evening and I spotted 3 bunnies in a more secluded area, it was a wonderful sighting to see little creatures like that and whenever I have had to good fortune to see a wild animal, I count my blessings. At night, I hear Tawny Owls and sometimes foxes, which most people consider a pest, but they are not. People get annoyed with them breaking into our bins to steal rubbish but they’re only trying to survive and if they are in our residential areas it is simply because us humans have taken over too much territory. We don’t own the world. We SHARE it with others creatures and I think we often seem to forget that.

nrhatch - June 17, 2010

I LOVE bunnies! They automatically put a smile on my face.

Love owls, foxes, deer, raccoons . . . we were always happy to have them grab something good to eat from our yard.

One raccoon would come knock on the sliding glass doors if the bird feeder was empty when he stopped by for a meal! So cute!

9. Andalib - June 18, 2010

Well, I know that Binx understands me perfectly, just as I understand him!
He has different meows and purrs to signify what he wants, how he’s feeling and what’s pissed him off (note to everyone who has a cat, DON’T think for one minute that they all hate water, OK!)
I kid you not when I say that he (as my cat) is better trained than a dog!
If I tell him to ‘come’ he follows, if I pat my chest while I’m standing, he jumps into my arms, no questions asked.
Such a trusting, loving creature.
He is my baby and I love him to bits.

nrhatch - June 18, 2010

I am so glad that you have Binx to share your life right now!

He sounds like an awesome cat!


What Say YOU?

