jump to navigation

The Spark of Creativity June 3, 2010

Posted by nrhatch in Humor, Writing & Writers.
trackback

200px-RealMotherGoose

Rik wrote an interesting post this morning (as he does most mornings) ~ Wing It or Plan It:  How Do You Start Your Story?

Well, Rik, it depends . . .

When I do my taxes, I figure out how large a refund I need, and work backwards from there.

Sometimes, when I write, I do the same thing.

I start with the last sentence, then create a tortuous path through the underbrush of my thoughts to end the post at the beginning.

Frankly, that type of writing is a bit exhausting for me.

Other times, I look around at all the amazing topics to choose from until one cries out more insistently than the rest:

Pick me!  Pick me!

Of course, that can be as challenging as choosing a single piece of Godiva from the display case.

So, most times, I just start typing and let the path unfold before me . . . reveling in the uncertainty of not knowing exactly where it will lead.

For example, in my last post, A Writer’s Life For Me, I started with lyrics running through my head (don’t ask me how they got there), and one thing led to another until I stumbled across, bumped into, or otherwise encountered Walt’s quote about Treasure Island.

As his words appeared before me, I knew I had reached the finish line.

In writing like life, if we remain open to the moment, Spirit Lights The Way.

Related posts:  A Writer’s Life For Me * Eavesdropping on the Rooftop Literati * The Power Of Awesome * Austen & Dickens Had It Easy * Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland * It’s In The Mail . . . 

Comments»

1. nancycurteman - June 3, 2010

I love your Godiva simile. I notice you use lots of similes in your writing. Just a little side point: The use of metaphors and similes is purported to be a sign of intelligence.

nrhatch - June 3, 2010

I love Godiva chocolate ~ picking one piece is torture for me.

BTW: I use similes and metaphors because it’s easier than describing my feelings in words . . . i.e., I’m a lazy writer. : )

2. Joanne - June 3, 2010

Writing certainly is like a box of Godiva’s… You might not know what it’s going to taste like until you bite first and then write…

nrhatch - June 3, 2010

Life is like a box of chocolates . . . full of sweet surprises!

3. theonlycin - June 3, 2010

No, no, no; not lazy, as nancy curteman says, clever!

nrhatch - June 3, 2010

Sweet!

I suppose it is clever to be economical with my energy. : )

4. theonlycin - June 3, 2010

sorry about the typo “curteman”, correction!

nrhatch - June 3, 2010

Correction granted!


What Say YOU?

