jump to navigation

Would You Like To Know The Truth? June 1, 2010

Posted by nrhatch in Humor, Magick & Mystery.
trackback

A few years ago, while sitting in my office minding my own business (since no one else had offered to mind it for me), I heard a knock at the front door.

Through the glass, I saw a wind-whipped stranger standing there with that look on her face . . . the look that says, I’m an evangelist, and I know that you don’t want to talk to me, but please be kind.

I opened the door, and she handed me a pamphlet, entitled “Would you like to know the truth?,” as she intoned, with obvious sincerity, “We are handing out these brochures to every house in . . . ”

At that point, I expected to hear, “the neighborhood,” or “the vicinity,” or “the state.”

Imagine my surprise when she completed her statement by saying, “the World.”

That’s right, Watch Tower Bible and Tract Society of Pennsylvania was busy spreading “the truth” to every household . . . in the World.

Imagine the printing bill!

Imagine the number of trees sacrificed in this noble endeavor!

I thought about inviting her in for a warm drink on a cold day, but decided against extending such an offer ~ after all, she had to be almost as busy as Santa Claus and his elves on Christmas Eve!

Related posts:  Divine Inspiration * Four Worms and a Lesson * Skeptics Welcome

Comments»

1. Richard W Scott - June 1, 2010

))

2. viewpacific - June 1, 2010

Reminds me of a cartoon I saw awhile back.

It showed two visitors standing by a resident at his door holding an open pamphlet and showing a puzzled look on his face.

He says to the two “It’s blank!”

Their reply: “We’re Unitarians. We believe you write your own truth.”

nrhatch - June 1, 2010

That’s awesome! : )

3. Nancy Curteman - June 2, 2010

When I was a child Jehovah’s Witnesses occasionally came to our home to witness. They always scared me. They said they had an exact count of how many people were going to go to Heaven. Clearly, I was not included in the count because I was not a Jehovah’s Witness.

nrhatch - June 2, 2010

How could it be Heaven if it’s only populated with Jehovah’s Witnesses? : )

4. theonlycin - June 2, 2010

This really made me chuckle … watch for a post later today. I’ll do a pingback.

5. A GENTLEMAN CALLER GOT BITTEN ON HIS BUM « The only Cin - June 2, 2010

[…] lifestyle, original cin, relationships, religion, south african blogs, the only cin Reading nrhatch’s post this morning brought back this […]

6. theonlycin - June 2, 2010
7. granny1947 - June 2, 2010

Good thinking…not letting her in…she might still be there!!!

nrhatch - June 2, 2010

You’ve got a point.

I’ve found that the less I say, the less they say. : )


What Say YOU?

