jump to navigation

Let the Punishment Fit the Crime May 26, 2010

Posted by nrhatch in Nature.
trackback

Some dude in Philadelphia mummified a cat using duct tape.  He encapsulated the animal in duct tape from head to tail, except for its face.

Attribution: Joshua Sherurcij

Then, because he found its horrified howling annoying, the dude dumped the cat in a neighbor’s back yard, where it languished a few more days, unable to move.

Eventually, someone spotted the cat and it was rescued.

The cat survived the ordeal, after being put to sleep for an hour so rescue workers could safely remove the duct tape by cutting it away from the feline’s fur. Several animal friendly souls have offered to adopt the cat.

A spokesperson for a local animal rights group said the dude needs counselling, noting that he had shown real “remorse” after being charged with animal cruelty.

Apparently, the dude didn’t understand that duct taping a cat and leaving it lying in the sun without food and water for several days was inappropriate behavior.

Hmm . . . I’m not sure that I believe him.

Let’s tell the dude he’s going to be wrapped in duct tape and left in someone’s backyard without food or water for a few days and watch his reaction.

If he claps his hands and says, “Yay!  A picnic,” then we know that he is seriously disturbed and needs our counselling and compassion.

On the other hand, if he recoils in horror at the thought, and starts howling in anguish (like the cat), then we know that he did understand the consequences of his actions and should be punished accordingly.

Aah . . . that’s better!

Comments»

1. Dani - May 26, 2010

Absolutely the punishment should fit the crime. I just cannot comprehend how people don’t understand that how an animal is treated is complete insight into a person. If a human being doesn’t have regard for an innocent helpless animal they certainly do not have regard for any person. “People” and I’m using the term loosely here who are cruel to animals should receive the same treatment. They do not deserve to be treated with dignity or respect.

2. nrhatch - May 26, 2010

I do my best to remain upbeat, optimistic, and positive about the future of the world. Today . . . I’m losing the battle.

3. Joanne - May 26, 2010

I fight that battle nearly every single day, as I attempt to “make a difference” in the lives of the very ones whose hands our future rests in… It ALMOST makes me look forward to euthanasia… except for the fact that I am a die-hard Pollyanna…

After a good night’s rest, Nancy, you’ll be back… My prescription for staying optmistic is watching more sitcoms and less “news.”

nrhatch - May 26, 2010

It’s not the bad news or the sad news that did me in today . . . it’s the intentional cruelty and sadistic behavior I observed toward defenseless animals.

Man’s inhumanity sickens me.

4. theonlycin - May 27, 2010

This just made me feel so sick. What kind of emotional intelligence does this man have?

nrhatch - May 27, 2010

I wonder whether people like this are born deformed or become deformed by life???

Either way, I’m going to turn my attention to sunnier pastures today and let the “Mother Teresa’s” of the world deal with animal abuse and abusers.

I just don’t have it in me to be an effective advocate on this issue since it debillitates me ever time it rears its ugly head.


What Say YOU?

