jump to navigation

Give Your Stuff Away Day May 12, 2010

Posted by nrhatch in Happiness, Less IS More.
trackback

I know, I know . . . I’ve never heard of it either.

Give Your Stuff Away Day, the recent brain-child of Mike Morone, a 52-year-old former teacher turned entrepreneur, is scheduled for this Saturday ~ May 15th.

Morone unveiled the event for the first time last year, and called it Curb Day:

It’s a national swap meet, if you will, a day to reshuffle and recycle our collective unwanted but usable goods and, as Morone puts it, “magically shift ownership in one weekend.”  Just bring items to the curb and watch them get snapped up. Then take a stroll to find some free stuff for yourself.

Morone is convinced that people hang onto stuff for too long ~ stuff that has little or no value to them, but would have value to others:

He cites as an example the life and death of a used bicycle. “It gets moved around in a garage for years but never gets fixed or ridden. It gets put out as garbage, but it’s not left on a curb long enough for someone else to take advantage of it, to fix it up and make it useful.” Eventually, he says, it ends up in a landfill.

For those of us with cluttered spaces, Give Your Stuff Away Day seems like a step in the right direction . . . but what about the other 364 days of the year?

Morone supports giving goods away throughout the year to local or national charities like Goodwill.  “There are always ways to get rid of items,” he says. “But none is as easy as putting them out on your front lawn.”

Here’s your chance . . . if you have stuff that brings you down every time you look at it (because it’s infused with sad, stale memories) ~ kick it to the curb on May 15th!

To read the AARP article:  He Embraces A Stuff Free Lifestyle

Related posts:  The Power of 50 ~ Spring Cleaning * Simplify Your Life * Annie Leonard & The Story of Stuff * You Better Stop Shopping Around

Comments»

1. Loreen Lee - May 12, 2010

Things have moved that way up here in Canuck land too. There are fewer garage/lawn sales now. People just put the things they no longer need on their front lawns and wait until someone hauls away what they need. Excellent for our neighborhood, in which there are all kinds of residents from the rich to the homeless. Great progress here. grin grin.

2. nrhatch - May 12, 2010

Garage Sales are great . . . if you have the time and energy to babysit your stuff . . . and if it’s worth enough to attract interested buyers.

The best way that we ever got rid of stuff was holding a FREE yard sale for friends ~ we filled our dining room table with stuff we didn’t want and gave our friends boxes to pack up their goodies.

Everything they didn’t claim went to Goodwill.

3. nancycurteman - May 12, 2010

Re-gifting also works. That is unless you make a mistake and re-gift to the person who gave you the gift originally.

4. nrhatch - May 12, 2010

Excellent point, Nancy

Re-gifting is wonderful for “new” items . . . but it doesn’t work as well with broken (but fix-able) bicycles. : )

I love getting rid of stuff ~ friends, neighbors, Goodwill, etc.

It’s such a liberating feeling to have less clutter sitting around collecting dust.

5. theonlycin - May 13, 2010

A wonderful concept. Here in SA everything would be stolen in a flash, way before anyone came out of their houses to have a look around.

nrhatch - May 13, 2010

Actually if the “haves” would do this regularly ~ allowing the “have nots” to take what they needed (or what they could sell), that might be a good thing.

Stuff that the “right hand” no longer needed would benefit the “left hand.”

Thanks for your comment.

6. Joanne - May 13, 2010

How ironic… That date — May 15th — is somewhat a sad reminder of the “would-have-been” 5th anniversary of my 2nd marriage… as short-lived as it was…

Also ironic, many of our argumentive marital triggers had to do with my former spouse’s 20-years of holding onto clutter (even from his first marriage) and not making the necessary room for me an my daughter with the little we did have…

As we were in the process of making plans to move out of HIS house, I hosted a Thanksgiving Dinner the week he was back East visiting his family. I had my family and friends over to celebrate the Thanks-Giving-Away of many items I knew would go into clutter-status, if left to him… They were items I didn’t need and didn’t want to drag with me when I moved out to create a better home for my daughter and me — minus the sad reminders…

Yes, May 15th certainly holds some multiple meanings for me… I had recently looked up the number 515, because I’ve been seeing it often on the clock… According to one website teaching a system of numerology, 515 has to do with two individuals standing independently of one another… Sorry, I’m getting off-topic here…

Bringing my point home… I am currently enjoying the INDEPENDENT freedom of exercising control over my own lifestyle choice habits — clearing clutter; giving things away LIBERALLY to family, friends AND strangers; and not being forced to hold onto someone else’s memories, just because I married him…!

nrhatch - May 13, 2010

Thanks for such an interesting comment, Joanne.

As you know, I’m a big fan of clearing clutter ~ mental, physical, and emotional. We travel best when we travel light:

https://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2010/03/21/you-better-stop-shopping-around/

https://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2010/04/06/simplify-your-life/

7. Agatha82 - July 31, 2010

Only just saw this but wanted to comment because a few months ago I decided to give away tons of things I didn’t need. What’s ironic, is that I hardly have any belongings to begin with and now after doing that, I’ve got even less 🙂

Don’t know if you’ve heard of Freecycle? – It’s a website where you sign up and either post what you’ve got to give away or people post what they’re looking for.

I joined and it was a great experience because there was nothing like the feeling I experienced when giving a complete stranger something that they really wanted or needed totally for free. (and these were things like a vaccum cleaner and even an electric guitar so no junk)

Now, I have even less and I love it, if I ever have to move, I can literally throw my belongings in two suitcases and maybe 2 boxes and that’s it.. There’s a sense of freedom in having so little 🙂

nrhatch - July 31, 2010

It’s a very liberating feeling . . . the more stuff I give away, the lighter and freer I feel.

I’ve heard of Freecycle, but generally donate to Goodwill which sells stuff in thrift shops and uses the money to train people with disabilities to enter the job market.

When we moved last time we handled the move ourselves ~ leaving most of the furniture behind in Maryland. Felt great to have so much less stuff to cart around with us.

What do you use for furniture? Do you sleep on the floor?

Agatha82 - July 31, 2010

We have charity shops here too. (what you guys call thrift shops) Actually, they are all over the place here in the UK.

Every high street in the UK tends to have at least one or two (there are 4 charity shops within walking distance to me) and they are places everyone goes into not only to donate but to purchase from so it’s a great thing. I too donate to them all the time 🙂

Oh I do have furniture but I live in a rented room so none of it is mine (furnished rented accomodation is very common here)
However, it is basic and very small (but lovely with great atmosphere and a nice view) so I’m happy.

nrhatch - July 31, 2010

Sounds lovely.

We need very little to make us supremely happy. : )

8. 20 Ways To Improve Life Balance | Spirit Lights The Way - August 19, 2013

[…] posts:  Give Your Stuff Away Day * Simplify Your Life * Clearing Clutter * You Better Stop Shopping Around * That’s Trashy! * […]


What Say YOU?

