jump to navigation

Meditation Amidst The Honking March 10, 2010

Posted by nrhatch in Gratitude, Humor, Meditation, Mindfulness.
trackback

By Amy N. Brueggemann, Guest Blogger

I love rush hour traffic. 

Yes, you heard me.  I am very limited to time that is mine, and mine alone. I spend most of the day surrounded by people who I’m not incredibly fond of, in places that I can’t really stand.

And then I get in my car and I head to my next destination. Which is typically a classroom full of more people.

But between one destination and the next, I’ve usually got about 30-60 minutes of down time. Alone in my car. It never really dawned on me how much time I spend in my car a day. It used to be wasted as a stress point, always hurrying and freaking out about being on time. And weathering St. Louis traffic can at times be incredibly hurtful. Yes, I said hurtful.

People around here are mean when they drive (I sound like a sheltered child when I say that, but this morning I was admonished with several curses, the finger, and a generous amount of honking for going the speed limit). I’m not a bad driver, I just refuse to act like I’m more important than everyone else when I’m behind the wheel. It’s not a race, and to be completely honest, I’m in no particular hurry to get to work 15 minutes early.

Because then I’m at work. And I have to work. And spend time with my co-workers.

So, I take my time, and I listen to my music, and I drink whatever kind of gourmet coffee I picked out that morning. And I smile at people who honk at me, and wave to those giving the bird. And I think about what the hell I’m going to post for today’s PTD (I’m failing miserably guys…sorry), and I pray that I get through the day in one piece and am not too tired by the end of it to enjoy home…when I eventually make it there.

So, yes, I love rush hour traffic. It’s a great place to contemplate.

And, may I suggest checking out The Supreme Bean Coffee Co. ? They have an amazing French Roast.

Yum.   

Amy lives in St. Louis where she writes part-time, goes to school full-time, plays with clay periodically, and holds down several jobs . . . all without spilling a drop of coffee during her rush hour commute.

Comments»

1. RichardWScott - March 10, 2010

Loved this.

Some years ago I realized that with my recorded books, I also no longer minded being held up in traffic. The world was always mine, no matter what.

Recently I’ve discoverd the joy of NOT listening to music or books while I drive. I was amazed to find I have thoughts!

Now, even if I forget my recorded book, my drive time is never wasted.

2. nrhatch - March 10, 2010

I love Amy’s writing, in general, and this post in particular . . .

Such a wonderful reminder to “go placidly amidst the noise and haste” and honking of rush hour traffic. ; )

3. jasouders - March 10, 2010

NICE post! It’s just another way of saying “stop and smell the roses.” And I’ve never minded rush hour except when I was working and I wanted to get home, but now I don’t mind it at all. It’s just another place to be thinking about plot lines and character development.

4. Mandy Ward - March 10, 2010

Daniel likes this part of his journey as well. He says that it helps him calm down from the day at work.

I get mine when I walk back from dropping the kids off at school or walking down to pick them up. Even in the rain.

Nice piece Amy!

5. Joanne - March 20, 2010

Last year I wrote “drove my way” through ten sets of song lyrics while others were stressing their way to their jobs… It’s all a matter of not minding the matter…


What Say YOU?

