jump to navigation

A Virtual Feast May 4, 2014

Posted by nrhatch in Food & Drink, Humor, Mindfulness, Travel & Leisure.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Bass Harbor Lighthouse (in Public Domain)

You can take a virtual vacation any time.

Well, virtually any time.

It’s not advisable when driving or operating heavy machinery.

Just close your eyes and visualize . . .

Today, I’m taking a virtual drive up the coast to Wiscasset, Maine.

In line at Red’s Eat, I chat with the locals and order an overflowing Lobster Roll to eat waterside.

I grab a table on the dock, take a bite of salty seaside goodness, and smile.

Noisy gulls scream and screech at me for not sharing.

Wiping butter from my chin, I reply to the incessant cries of these shameless hovercrafts . . . “Hey! Get your own lobster roll!”

Aah . . . that’s better!

Comments»

1. Pix Under the Oaks - May 4, 2014

I do that all the time. Mainly as a relaxation technique. My favorite is walking Queeny Park in St. Louis. I can close my eyes and still walk the entire route I walked for the nine years I walked it 12 years ago. Also I love to visualize the walk to downtown Venice.. :)
Good Morning Nancy!

nrhatch - May 4, 2014

That’s awesome, Pix ~ it’s relaxing (walking, floating on a raft), or exhilarating (e.g., riding a roller coaster, parachuting from a plane), or delicious (eating lobster, savoring chocolate).

My favorite visualization tale is the POW who IMPROVED his golf game while sitting in a cell picturing sinking every putt. Once released from the POW camp, he came home and played a BETTER game than before he went to war.

2. katecrimmins - May 4, 2014

So….as your second BFF…can I have a bite? Maine lobster is the best!

nrhatch - May 4, 2014

You may. In fact take TWO BITES, we’ll make more!

3. ericjbaker - May 4, 2014

Hey, you put Maine on the wrong coast! That thing is facing the Pacific Ocean.

But seriously folks, Maine is so great I’m worried Canada might try to take it. I want to go back but somebody in my house is no longer willing to drive that far.

nrhatch - May 4, 2014

Maybe you could hit southern Maine (Ogunquit/Kennebunkport) on day #1 (about 6 hours drive from you) and then scoot up to Acadia/Bar Harbor on day #2?

Or take your son on a Mystery Ride and let “somebody in your house” have a staycation at home?

4. Grannymar - May 4, 2014

With travel like that there are no crowds or queues to negotiate, and of course it never rains!

nrhatch - May 4, 2014

Yes! It’s always gorgeous weather when we take a virtual vacation UNLESS we wish to awaken to the sound of the rain pounding away at the tin roof.

5. http://theenglishprofessoratlarge.com - May 4, 2014

Whenever I have to face an ordeal, such as going to the dentist or dermatologist, when pain is involved, I take a mental trip to Hawaii and float about on the waves.

nrhatch - May 4, 2014

Yes! I do the same ~ the noise of the drill is the “roar of the surf pounding the beach” and the light in my eyes is the bright tropical sun. :cool:

6. Val Boyko - May 4, 2014

Sounds so yummy!! I’m off to get some real lunch. :)

nrhatch - May 4, 2014

I love using visualization as a meditation ~ sometimes I revisit “perfect days” from the past . . . sometimes I enjoy delicious food (sans guilt) . . . and I’ve also used it to parachute from a plane, toboggan down a mountain, luge in the Olympics, and practice speeches.

Hope you enjoyed your lunch.

Val Boyko - May 4, 2014

Thanks Nancy I did … and I started to visualize the wonderful places I’d like to re-visit in Scotland with my friends. Imagination and memories are wonderful escapes as well as refreshers in life!

nrhatch - May 4, 2014

Daydreaming is good for us ~ to relax and refresh. Re-visiting Scotland sounds wonderful.

Last night we watched “A Musical Journey ~ Scotland.”

“The Highlands and Lowlands of Scotland inspire this installment of the Musical Journey series, which travels to the Scottish islands known as the Hebrides and the capital city of Edinburgh. Although the accompanying soundtrack doesn’t feature Scottish music per se, the selections — including Mendelssohn’s Symphony no. 3 (“The Scottish Symphony”) and Donizetti’s “Lucia di Lammermoor” — fit the spirit of the scenery.”

So fun to see the castles, lochs, distilleries, etc.

7. Behind the Story - May 4, 2014

A short piece that both inspires with its suggestion and delights with its clever phrases: “a bite of salty seaside goodness,” “the incessant cries of these shameless hovercrafts.” That last phrase reminds me of the hilarious gulls in “Finding Nemo.”

nrhatch - May 4, 2014

Thanks, Nicki! I love those gulls in Finding Nemo . . . “Mine. Mine. Mine.”

We went for a walk on the beach this afternoon and saw a swarm of gulls in a feeding frenzy for handouts. All singing the same chorus.

8. Jill Weatherholt - May 4, 2014

Aw…there’s nothing better than butter dripping down your chin after taking a big bite of lobster!
I love the idea of a virtual vacation, Nancy. I don’t do Pinterest, but it’s a great place to scan photo and take that virtual vacation.

nrhatch - May 4, 2014

Thanks, Jill. I have only been to Pinterest a time or two. I expect that it could become addictive and time consuming.

9. Three Well Beings - May 5, 2014

I’m always good for a virtual vacation. I just enjoyed spending time with you on yours! :-)

nrhatch - May 5, 2014

Yay! I’ve read recently that daydreaming is good for well-being!

10. bluebee - May 5, 2014

Mine is a garlic-laden mussel feast at the Knysna Heads in South Africa…hmmmmmm, very hungry now.

nrhatch - May 5, 2014

I think today I’ll head to Colonial Williamsburg and sip a Mint Julep while waiting to savor a bowl of Peanut Soup at the King’s Arms.

Man, this is FUN. And guilt-free. And ZERO calorie.

11. William D'Andrea - May 5, 2014

I’ve taken virtual vacations myself, on the internet. I’ve clicked on to Google Maps; satellite view. Then I’ve gone down to street level view, and taken the really cheap tours of communities in Mexico. If I could go on line at home, I might be virtually seated in a sidewalk café in Oaxaca, while actually eating taquitos, and having an actual margarita, while listening to recordings of mariachi music.
Try it yourself. Anywhere you want to go in the world, is just a few clicks away.
Hasta la vista mi amiga!

nrhatch - May 5, 2014

Happy Cinco de Mayo!

12. I am J - May 5, 2014

Great idea, Nancy. Virtual travel by visualization or DVD is fun, especially when resources don’t allow for the REAL travel deal. I’ve never been to Maine, but this post has me thinking maybe I should put it on my bucket list.

nrhatch - May 5, 2014

I highly recommend adding New England to your bucket list ~ Vermont and Maine are two of our favorite states . . . in the Summer and early Fall. Not when they are buried under SNOW!

13. jannatwrites - May 5, 2014

That’s great! No travel time, no calories and no risk of the bird pooping on you in retaliation :) I’ve not been to Maine, but would love to see it someday (too bad it’s so far away!)

nrhatch - May 5, 2014

New England is definitely one for the “bucket list.”

We love to visit Vermont and Maine ~ scenic spaces, yummy food, hiking trails, etc.

14. diannegray - May 5, 2014

I often find myself virtually sitting on a beach somewhere enjoying the sun and waves (without getting sand in my pants) ;)

nrhatch - May 5, 2014

Virtual beaches are great. And no sand!

15. lindalitebeing - May 5, 2014

Great fantasy trip. BTW when I lived in New Britain Conn. as a kid, we would go to lobsterman and have lobster rolls before they were trendy. Just lobster and butter on a hot dog bun. Good times :)

nrhatch - May 6, 2014

The lobster rolls at Red’s Eat are the same ~ just lobster, piled high, with butter on a bun. Although I think you can request mayo if preferred.

Here’s to good times . . . and good food!

lindalitebeing - May 6, 2014

agreed!
can you do me a favor and edit my comment? I meant to say lived but typed loved. You can say when I lived and loved New Britain if you like :)

thanks,Linda

nrhatch - May 6, 2014

Done!

16. The Kentucky Derby | As My Camera Sees It - May 6, 2014

[…] Friday, Nancy at Spirit Lights the Way had an excellent suggestion.   Why not take a virtual vacation? I liked the idea so much I took […]

nrhatch - May 6, 2014

Sounds like FUN, J!


What Say YOU?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,064 other followers

