jump to navigation

Practicing Thought Poses December 8, 2013

Posted by nrhatch in Gratitude, Happiness, Humor, Mindfulness, People.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

IMGP2758c

If a new yoga pose hurts, we can’t wish the pain away.

We must practice the pose until we gain the flexibility, strength, and agility we need to hold the pose without pain.

The same is true of changing habitual thought patterns that add to our suffering.

We can change our mental and emotional landscape by practicing “thought poses” aimed at developing greater control, poise, and flexibility through mindful awareness.

A flicker of annoyance appears.  

Instead of re-acting in habitual ways, we learn to adjust our thoughts, giving ourselves the strength, flexibility, and agility we need to avoid pain and hold our poise when confronted with conflict.  

As we gain mental strength, agility, and flexibility, “boulders” (which used to stop us cold) become mere pebbles, easily kicked to the curb.  Rather than ingesting unwarranted insults tossed our way, we learn to “spit them out” and go on with our day.

Over time, with committed practice, “they” no longer have the power to upset us because we no longer give our power away.

If we consciously choose to put peace of mind ahead of all else, we will discover the power that lies within. ~ Joseph V. Bailey

Aah . . . that’s better!

Related posts:  Happy Dance . . . or Häagen-Dazs? * Remember to Spit Out the Seeds * Aah . . . That’s Better!

Comments»

1. Rainee - December 8, 2013

Wise words Nancy

nrhatch - December 8, 2013

Thanks, Rainee! I remember the first time I stepped into the “Detached Observer Pose” and just listened without re-acting. Keeping my poise in that pose was a breeze. :D

2. joannevalentinesimson - December 8, 2013

I liked your comment: “A flicker of annoyance appears.”

nrhatch - December 8, 2013

That “flicker of annoyance” is the signal to take our thoughts OFF auto-pilot so they don’t snowball out of control . . . taking on a life of their own.

3. Naomi - December 8, 2013

That’s it, time to get back into yoga again! Thank you for the inspiration, Nancy . . . always such a treat to read your wise words :-)

nrhatch - December 8, 2013

Thanks, Naomi. Hope your yoga practice is filled with smooth moves. :D

4. Grannymar - December 8, 2013

I have learned to change direction when the “flicker of annoyance” appears!

nrhatch - December 8, 2013

It’s a signal to tune in to our thoughts and ask: “Is it true? helpful? kind?” If not, it’s up to us to change the channel!

5. Crowing Crone Joss - December 8, 2013

Interestingly the more I commit to practicing new “thought poses”, the more I’m aware of opportunities to do so! The Divine sense of humour, I say.

nrhatch - December 8, 2013

Yes! I sense that sense of humor too. Often. :mrgreen:

6. Catherine Johnson - December 8, 2013

Wow Nancy this is fantastic and great timing before my inlaws come to visit ;) I listened to a great religious speech recently about dusting yourself off and not expecting others to dust you off, it was brilliant! She also spoke about handling conflict with grace so that when it happens again you can be kind of on guard and unaffected.

nrhatch - December 8, 2013

Life is much easier when we learn to pick ourselves up and dust ourselves off without waiting around for others to pick us up and set us back on our feet.

In Laws + Practice = Perfect Together! :razz:

Catherine Johnson - December 8, 2013

;)

7. Behind the Story - December 8, 2013

I guess the first step is to identify the “habitual thought patterns that add to our suffering” and to the suffering of others.

nrhatch - December 8, 2013

Yes. I’ve written a number of posts about some of the ANTs (Automatic Negative Thoughts) that arise when we leave our thoughts on auto pilot. I’ve linked to a few posts at the bottom of this one.

Here’s another that might interest you:

http://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2011/07/13/will-this-thought-bring-me-happiness/

8. shreejacob - December 8, 2013

Awesome! Loved the post. Also…those boulders won’t be an obstruction anymore because we will not see them as such, instead we ail the path around them!

nrhatch - December 8, 2013

Thanks, Shree. Here’s to cutting those “boulders” down to a more suitable size. :D

9. Three Well Beings - December 9, 2013

I like the correlation to yoga practice! It’s true. When I first started yoga everything was a challenge. But repetition took care of that. I can relate to the idea of practice thought poses. I really like this–good as I start a new work week. Work is often the best place for me to practice all sorts of attitude adjustments.:-)

nrhatch - December 9, 2013

This analogy struck me while reading one of Andra’s posts on yoga. Everyone expects to be challenged with new physical poses ~ if they keep at it, they see progress. In contrast, when encouraged to be mindful of their thoughts, many people give up after 5 minutes (“it’s too hard” “this is just who I am” “I can’t meditate” “my thoughts won’t quiet down”) and go right back to thinking in ways that make them miserable.

Why the disparity?

10. Pix Under the Oaks - December 9, 2013

Detatched Observer Pose! I like it.. :D

nrhatch - December 9, 2013

It’s a great pose to try when someone decides to give you a “piece of their mind.” The pose lets us listen and hear their piece while maintaining inner peace.

We aren’t busy trying to defend ourselves or argue . . . we just LISTEN.

11. ericjbaker - December 9, 2013

Be careful. Big Pharma is going to buy your blog and reedit this post to say, “Anti-inflammatory pills for your attitude…”

nrhatch - December 9, 2013

Bwahaha! Another quick fix that treats the symptoms without addressing the underlying dis-ease. :mrgreen:

12. jannatwrites - December 9, 2013

“Thought poses” – love it!! I’ve never done yoga, but I like the comparison you drew. I know a couple people who need to practice thought poses…I’ve been on the venting end of their frustration with someone else. Yikes :)

nrhatch - December 9, 2013

The last time someone was making a “mountain out of a molehill” around me, I opened my mouth to remind them to look at the positives. Before I could say a word, “little miss negativity” sneered and said, “And don’t you even THINK about telling me to look on the Bright Side of Things.”

Some people are HAPPY only when they’re MISERABLE. :mrgreen:

13. My Light Bag - December 12, 2013

I’ve been working on my thoughts ever since I read Louise Hay’s ‘You can heal your life’. Pure magic!

nrhatch - December 12, 2013

Once we really tune in and LISTEN to what we’re thinking, it’s quite FUN to change our tune at times.

I’m off to take a sneak peek at “You Can Heal Your Life.”


What Say YOU?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,742 other followers

