jump to navigation

Who Are You . . . REALLY? December 5, 2013

Posted by nrhatch in Mindfulness, Nature, Spirit & Ego, Spirituality & Faith.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

vanarsdel7Who are you?  Really.  I don’t mean the roles you are playing this week, this month, or this year.

Like actors on stage, the roles we play come and go.

We are NOT the labels we wear.

I don’t mean what you do.

If who you are is what you do, then who are you when you don’t?

I don’t mean what you own.

You are not your house, your car, your clothes, your dishes, or the trips you take.

I don’t mean your history.  That’s just how you got to be HERE.  NOW.  Your past is water over the dam.

No man enters the same river twice ~ because he is not the same man and it is not the same river.

vanarsdel8Who are you right now?  In this moment?

Underneath the layers of ego-driven protection?

Apart from your fears and guilt and angst producing thoughts?

Who are you first thing in the morning BEFORE you remember who you were yesterday?  Or the day before that?

Who are you . . . REALLY?

When you know the answer to that, you will know all you ever need to know.

* When we know who we are, we know how to live. ~ Goethe

* When we understand who we really are, we free ourselves from the illusions that hold us back.

Aah . . . that’s better!

Related posts:  The Real You * The Art of Living * My Life in 250 Words

* * * * *

Artwork by Maitte Van Arsdel ~ available at Island Gallery West.

Comments»

1. shreejacob - December 5, 2013

Hmm..I feel that we are all in one way or another learning to remember who we truly are. Some know it logically, some are completely unaware, some are quite on the way there…I know I’m a work in progress…and each day and moment is another opportunity for me to remember the “magnificence of me” (as Anita Moorjani calls us souls) and also remembering that we are all One.

When that day comes…it will come, right now…I shall happily walk along the path to remembering :)

nrhatch - December 5, 2013

When we untangle ourselves from external perceptions and expectations, we see our essential self with clarity. When we stop worrying about who they are . . . and about who they think we are . . . we finally see who we are.

And when we know WHO we are . . . we know HOW to live.

2. Rainee - December 5, 2013

I have been learning who I am from the day I was born. I have a pretty good understanding of myself, even though I have learnt a tremendous amount on the way, I am still fundamentally the same person. I am OK with that :-)

nrhatch - December 5, 2013

In many ways, self-discovery involves washing off the mud of societal expectations to discover that we ARE still in there:

To be nobody but yourself ~ in a world which is doing its best, night and day, to make you everybody else ~ means to fight the hardest battle which any human being can fight; and never stop fighting. ~ e.e.cummings

3. Lisa A. Kramer - December 5, 2013

Always the tough questions, Nancy. The answer remains a mystery . . . although I’m getting closer to knowing.

nrhatch - December 5, 2013

When we set aside our label makers and stop worrying about how to encapsulate and market ourselves to others, we’re on the way.

Don’t worry about what the world wants from you. Focus on what makes you feel more fully alive. What the world really needs are people who are fully alive. ~ Joseph Campbell

4. suzicate - December 5, 2013

A good question we should all deeply explore.

nrhatch - December 5, 2013

Yes! It has always been so:

Know thyself. ~ Oracle of Apollo at Delphi, Greece
To thine own self be true. ~ Shakespeare
Turn the spotlight inward. ~ Gandhi

5. jannatwrites - December 5, 2013

Love the river quote. It’s so simple but true!

nrhatch - December 5, 2013

That’s long been a favorite. Once we realize that we are in a constant state of metamorphosis, we worry far less about how others view us . . . because their perspective is so transient.

That’s so YESTERDAY! :mrgreen:

6. Andra Watkins - December 5, 2013

Ha. I am a grouch first thing in the morning, but I hope that isn’t who I really am. Life is a series of figuring out what matters and what doesn’t. I hope more of the right things matter to me today.

nrhatch - December 5, 2013

Once we realize that “figuring out what matters” (to us) is key, we are ON THE WAY! We become far more mindful of the choices we make and far less susceptible to manipulation by people who use fear, guilt, and flattery to get us to do what they want us to do.

We’re FREE! :mrgreen:

7. kateshrewsday - December 5, 2013

Thanks, Nancy, for this reminder of what lies at our core. The distinction between who we are and what we do can become so blurred.

nrhatch - December 5, 2013

We are not encouraged to “Just Be” . . . but when we press pause, and quiet our mind, the more we hear.

8. Grannymar - December 5, 2013

I’m me right to the core and I am happy in my skin, warts and all!

nrhatch - December 5, 2013

Yay! Here’s to letting it all hang out. :D

9. Patricia - December 5, 2013

This is making my brain itch. I’ll have to get back to you.

nrhatch - December 5, 2013

Maybe it’s the dry air, so prevalent this time of year. ;)

Patricia - December 8, 2013

Thinking hard makes my brain itch…happens to all ditzy folk.

nrhatch - December 8, 2013

And itch rhymes with ditz . . . coincidence, or not? :D

10. Tokeloshe - December 5, 2013

I’m not a morning person, so I’ll sleep on it ;-)

This post inspires me as I am planning a scrapbook layout “”Almost 60″, so I have made some notes, mostly bulleted points, as I’m not good at writing, especially in English.

nrhatch - December 5, 2013

Sounds like a perfect plan! Always put off until tomorrow what doesn’t have to be done today.

Your scrapbook sounds great ~ I never would have guessed that English wasn’t your first language. If I tried writing in French (which I studied for years without mastering), alarm bells would sound throughout cyber space.

11. ericjbaker - December 5, 2013

I am a biological organism with a confusing tangle of synapses. When i look at myself, I see a blur, because I am the only organism I can’t make generalizations about. I know right away that they are wrong.

nrhatch - December 5, 2013

That is an astute observation, Eric. We must be particular about our particulars rather than engaging in the generalizations that work so well when we look at our fellow travelers ~ but when we peer with intent, many of us see a tangle of contradictions.

We are nothing if not inconsistent. :mrgreen:

12. sufilight - December 6, 2013

I am the eternal formless observer of my thoughts, my body, my life and death.

nrhatch - December 6, 2013

Yes! Well put, Marie. When we step firmly into the role of observer, shift happens.

13. bluebee - December 6, 2013

I think I know, but one thing I’m absolutely certain of: I’m very tired…

nrhatch - December 6, 2013

Being tired makes everything harder. We need sleep. Rest up.

14. Tammy - December 6, 2013

I am in new of my espresso.

nrhatch - December 6, 2013

Enjoy your java jolt. :mrgreen:

15. Pix Under the Oaks - December 6, 2013

I am not a morning person either so sometimes I need to come back and read when my brain is firing but at 62 I think I know who I am but I am always learning new things about myself and I think I am basically happy with who I am except for that pesky worry thing. ALWAYS working on that as you know.. :)

nrhatch - December 6, 2013

Yay! Happiness abounds when we can say: “who I am is who I want to be.” What a great place to be.

Pix Under the Oaks - December 6, 2013

Well, I’m flexible.

nrhatch - December 6, 2013

Good. Once you kick those pesky worries to the curb, you’ll be golden. :cool:

16. suzjones - December 7, 2013

I am love. I am peace.

nrhatch - December 7, 2013

What a great way to be!

“Peace is not needing to know what will happen next.” ~ Hilary Smith

17. Val Boyko - December 8, 2013

So Hum :) Perfect reminder thank you!

nrhatch - December 8, 2013

It’s a long way home . . . we need lots of reminders along the way.

18. Naomi - December 8, 2013

Ah, love this post, thank you Nancy. I will be paying close attention, especially first thing in the morning, with this one of my all-time favourite quotes in mind (that I’d forgotten about, so thank you): “When we know who we are, we know how to live. ~ Goethe

nrhatch - December 8, 2013

It’s fascinating to watch the past filtering back as we return to consciousness each morning and orient ourselves to person, place, and time. Goethe’s quote is quite apt.

19. Who are You…REALLY? | My Light Bag - December 13, 2013

[…] ~ full post at Spirit Lights the Way […]

nrhatch - December 13, 2013

Thanks for sharing the link on My Light Bag.

20. Being Authentic | Spirit Lights The Way - February 16, 2014

[…] posts:  The Real You * More Than A Mudge Puddle * Who Are You . . . Really? * The Boundaries of Your Mind’s Fullness […]


What Say YOU?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,745 other followers

