jump to navigation

7 More Unpolished Stones December 2, 2013

Posted by nrhatch in Art & Photography, Blogs & Blogging, Humor, Poetry.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Tigger-BouncingLast time I created one of these impromptu posts of unpolished thoughts, people didn’t send up a roar of protest ~ at best, it was a whimper.

So, I’m going to do it again.

This time linking to specific posts which spawned my eclectic thinking:

1.  Rainee did a post, It’s so easy to Avoid Doing Stuff, and ended by asking if we ever have days that don’t go according to plan.  After a quick glance through various and sundry mental filing cabinets, I said:

Nope. Uh-uh. Never. All my days go exactly as planned. :razz:

As long as I PLAN to “go with the flow” and/or PROCRASTINATE.

2.  Kate Crimmons wrote a fun and funny post, Is Anyone Really A Standard Size?  While she focused on jeans, I considered my entire wardrobe:

I have every size clothing in my closet . . . and they all fit!  I might be wearing XS, S, M, L, XL ~ it all depends on the manufacturer.

The only thing sure NOT to fit is the article marked “One Size Fits All.”

3.  In Mother to Daughter ~ A Questionable Legacy, scientist and author, Joanne Valentine Simson, discussed the insidious messages girls receive from mothers and others.  My experience was somewhat different:

I never remember being encouraged to downplay my intelligence in order not to compete with boys, nor do I remember being encouraged to pay undue attention to how I looked.

As a result I never got addicted to shopping for shoes or handbags. ;)

I always knew I could be anything that I wanted to be. I never felt that my worth depended on who I married. When I married, I kept my maiden name and corrected people if they addressed cards to “Mrs. BFF” instead of using my name.

That said, my mother encouraged me to be a nurse because that was such a flexible profession for women. My father overheard her and said,”Why should she be a nurse? Why not a doctor?”

I fooled them both and went to Law School. :mrgreen:

Xmas-Cat

4.  Kate Shrewsday did a fab post, The Priceless Art Bonfire, about the systematic destruction of religious artifacts during regime changes.  My response:

Maybe it’s a good thing that some of these relics are no more.

One could wander museums from dawn to dusk for a lifetime and never see all the treasured antiquities “preserved for posterity.”

Perhaps we aren’t making headway in the HERE and NOW because we’ve spent too long staring over our shoulders at our posteriors?

Seize-the-day_

5.  Everyone’s got a story to tell . . . but not everyone is a storyteller:

Have you ever been “trapped” in a conversation that is going nowhere fast?  Key facts are omitted, we circle back trying to scoop them up.

The story veers off in an unexpected direction and we wait, in vain, for it to return to the central thread.

In conversations like these, the temptation to interrupt is . . . intense.

Cat-and-Ducks

6.  BB’s publishing her first book of poetry.  She solicited blurbs for the cover. Here’s mine:

After a round of golf (amid the kangas and the roos)
BB studies her school notes, then pens a poem or two
Her poetic blog is inspired, unequaled, without compare
And that’s because BB is full of . . . AU CONTRAIRE!

To see more of BB’s Bio Blurbs:  Blurb Blurble Bloop ~ One Sentence Biography Competition.

Green-Yin-Yang
7.  In Choosing To Let Go, SuziCate addressed the benefits of “letting go” of the negatives (e.g., Anger, Doubt, Fear, Pain, Resentment, Jealousy).  So true:

When we accept ourselves as we are . . . we accept others as they are.

We no longer feel the need to control “them” (e.g., by insisting on an apology).  Instead, we choose to control our reactions to them.

Once we let our anger and resentment go (as well as our need for external approval) . . . “they” lose their power over us.

We are FREE at last.  And FREE is the best place to BE!

catlady

Aah . . . that’s better!

Care to toss an “unpolished stone” into the comment pool?

Comments»

1. Rainee - December 2, 2013

Thanks for quoting me and for the ping back :-). I can relate to the clothes sizes thing but in my case, it is due to me expanding and contracting!

nrhatch - December 2, 2013

Well . . . there’s some of that expanding and contracting going on here too! :mrgreen:

Here’s to going with the flow!

2. shreejacob - December 2, 2013

From what you wrote about your parents in this post, they were awesome in the way they thought.

It’s the ending of a long day at work…and I can’t seem to find any stones to toss into your pool…

I’m going to do a random click and check out a post or two though :)

nrhatch - December 2, 2013

I think I had just the RIGHT parents for me. We didn’t always see eye to eye, but many of their values became my values.

shreejacob - December 3, 2013

Duh…it’s so strange..I didn’t get a notification that you replied to my comment!
You’re right though..we always have the right parents..reading about the soul’s journey (Edgar Cayce…love his readings!)…we are said to actually choose the circumstances / family to be born in. Sometimes though when I hear of little children being abused and all…I do have to wonder..you know?

nrhatch - December 3, 2013

I’ve read similar claims ~ e.g., that we pick our parents and choose our fates, with some spirits choosing to be homeless alcoholics to teach compassion, etc.

I’m not convinced that life is that pre-ordered or pre-ordained. I expect that much of our existence is just a crapshoot . . . with some getting a crappier deal or roll of the dice than others.

3. suzicate - December 2, 2013

Thanks for the ping back.
#5 is so true…same goes with jokes. I am the worst joke teller ever…I usually forget the sequence or the punch line!
I love how your parents raised you.

nrhatch - December 2, 2013

It’s amazing some of the detours that stories take when told by someone who is a terrible story teller ~ they just go on and on, ending up by going no where fast. :razz:

Here’s a tip ~ when you think, “ooh, I’m going to share the joke,” fast forward to the punch line in your head. Do NOT start telling the joke until you have the finish line in mind. Then you can meander about a bit, embellish here and there, and enjoy the journey, while you keep moving toward that destination.

My parents did LOTS of things RIGHT. The most valuable tip ~ just because you earn it doesn’t mean you have to spend it.

4. Pix Under the Oaks - December 2, 2013

This afternoon I can look forward to clicking over to some new blogs and reading their posts! #2, so true.

nrhatch - December 2, 2013

#2 is going to resonate with lots of readers ~> it’s a wonder we bother with size labels at all given the vast variance involved.

Enjoy your click-a-round!

5. katecrimmins - December 2, 2013

Very fun post! But is shoe shopping an addiction? How about if I only fondle the shoes but don’t buy them? Do they have meetings for this? Is there a ribbon I can wear? Thanks for including me!

nrhatch - December 2, 2013

Haha! Shoe shopping becomes an addiction when MORE closet space for shoes becomes the primary motivation for moving or the #1 consideration when house shopping. :razz:

6. Crowing Crone Joss - December 2, 2013

What a lovely romp this is. I picture all these blogs sitting around the kitchen table swapping stories.

nrhatch - December 2, 2013

What a great image, Joss. Blogs often have a “life of their own” ~ now I can see them swapping stories over tea!

Crowing Crone Joss - December 2, 2013

Wish I was an illustrator and could bring this image to life. There would such diversity and the conversation would go and on till someone asked for whiskey in their tea, and then…

nrhatch - December 2, 2013

OMG! That is priceless . . . we’ll put the bottle of whiskey in the center of dueling blogs around the table. :mrgreen:

7. bluebee - December 2, 2013

“I never remember being encouraged to downplay my intelligence in order not to compete with boys, nor do I remember being encouraged to pay undue attention to how I looked.”

Ditto :-)

Thanks for the shoutout, Nancy!

nrhatch - December 2, 2013

Yay! It’s nice to know that sanity prevails both hither and yon ~ it’s great to grow up knowing that our choices matter.

You’re welcome. Hope the poetry book exceeds your every expectation.

ericjbaker - December 2, 2013

Boys who are threatened by a girl’s intelligence are not worth her time anyway.

nrhatch - December 2, 2013

Agreed! :D

8. ericjbaker - December 2, 2013

re #5… being trapped in a conversation.

I’ve gotten quite cantankerous in my old age. If people start boring me, I tell them. I also announce up front that I do not want to see videos or listen to songs on a your cell phone, no matter how funny or awesome you insist the item to be. Shockingly, people are still willing to talk to me. Go figure.

nrhatch - December 2, 2013

They are willing to talk to you because you have standards ~ a rare commodity! They realize that you value your time so they feel like they really rate if you are willing to talk to them.

I don’t know that I’ve ever come straight out and said, “you are boring me,” but I have moved conversations along when they seemed in danger of derailment ~ helping people to stay “on track.” :mrgreen:

9. Three Well Beings - December 3, 2013

Interesting blog posts, topics and your unpolished responses are good conversation starters. I was thinking just the other day about how it wasn’t my parents who encouraged me to “hold back” in any way, but in my college prep classes in high school I was still encouraged to take a more “female oriented” track, which included two years of typing, but much less strenuous math and science. And I more or less fell in line with that thinking. I was heavy in the humanities, but really deficient in science, which, of course, had to be “made up” later. I don’t think there’s much of that kind of educational segregation going on any more…I would hope not! And as grandmother to two girls, you’d better believe I’ll be championing them onward and upward. :-)

nrhatch - December 3, 2013

Overt educational segregation is less prevalent, but there are still subtle signals for both boys and girls ~ just think of all those horrid PINK toys that girls are encouraged to clamor after. :neutral:

Here’s to gender neutrality! And the demise of Pink Bratz!

10. joannevalentinesimson - December 3, 2013

Nancy, thanks for the blog boost!
And for Three Well Beings: Here’s a link to a NYT article sent to me by a friend, illustrating that women still have a LONG way to go in the sciences. http://www.nytimes.com/2013/10/06/magazine/why-are-there-still-so-few-women-in-science.html?emc=eta1
The article is quite long. Still, I may use that theme as a focus for a future blog post.

nrhatch - December 3, 2013

Thank you, Joanne. It’s a great theme to tackle ~ glad you got the ball rolling.

11. jannatwrites - December 3, 2013

Beautiful unpolished stones :)

I like your thoughts in response to #3. My parents always encouraged me to get an education so I could make enough money to never be dependent on a man (or anyone else.) Marriage for companionship, not trapped out of necessity was the message I got from them.

nrhatch - December 3, 2013

Thanks, Janna. That is a GREAT message to soak up ~ education opens doors. Being trapped in a marriage of necessity would be awful.


What Say YOU?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,752 other followers

