jump to navigation

Farro Fit For A Pharoah October 6, 2013

Posted by nrhatch in Food & Drink, Humor, Vegetarian Recipes.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

Farro, an ancient grain, hales from Egypt, dating back to the time of the Pharoahs . . . when cats were “king” and worshiped as the deities they are.

Cats-eyes

Farro is not as complete a protein as Quinoi, but it’s higher in nutritional value than Brown Rice and lower in gluten than Wheat.

Farro is an excellent addition to soups or stews since it doesn’t disintegrate into a mushy mess if left cooking on the stove for a tad too long.  Farro can also be used in salads, hot or cold.

The next time you’ve got only 30 minutes to get dinner on the table, you might consider  One Pan Farro with Tomatoes (Smitten Kitchen) ~ one bite and Deb’s entire family knew the recipe belonged in their laminated permanent collection.

Quite an endorsement ~ especially since Smitten rhymes with Kitten and we all know how finicky cats can be!

Aah . . . that’s better!

Want more recipes from Deb Perelman ~> The Smitten Kitchen Cookbook

Comments»

1. katecrimmins - October 6, 2013

I do believe you are working to convert me. Of course you had me at “cats were kings.” I never tried this grain. I had quinoa (sp?) but found it gritty although it may have been the way it was made.

nrhatch - October 6, 2013

I tried farro for the first time about 2 weeks ago. We had house guests who introduced us to it by sending us two bags from Trader Joe’s. I checked ALL my cookbooks and didn’t find a single recipe for Farro. So I checked on line and found the Smitten Kitchen’s blog.

Farro reminds me of barley . . . plump, nutty, chewy. I would definitely make it again.

katecrimmins - October 6, 2013

OOOHHHH! I like barley. Now I AM interested.

nrhatch - October 6, 2013

Yay! My work here is done. :D

I used one of the two bags to make the Smitten Kitchen’s recipe. The second bag is going into my first post of Harvest Soup this fall ~ with all manner of veggies.

2. Pix Under the Oaks - October 6, 2013

CH likes barley soup so I am up for trying the recipe for the Farro!

Pix Under the Oaks - October 6, 2013

Soup for Fall.. :D

nrhatch - October 6, 2013

Maybe now that the cold front has come through, you’ll be in the mood for a pot of soup. I don’t make soup often in the summer . . . but it’s perfect for cold rainy days.

3. atreegrowsinbklyn - October 6, 2013

I just saw this in my local market. I was curious about it , but now armed with an endorsed recipe; I’m going to try it.

nrhatch - October 6, 2013

Go you! Experimenting with new foods allows us to broaden our horizons and global perspective at low cost and, if something isn’t to our liking, we can . . . Spit It Out! :razz:

But I don’t expect that you’ll have to do that with this. It’s delish!

4. Eric Tonningsen - October 6, 2013

I’ll politely refrain from commenting on cats as kings. However, I’ll sing the praises of quinoa. Love it! Will have to try farro.

nrhatch - October 6, 2013

Quinoa is queen of the grains. Quite a powerhouse. Farro has been a pleasant surprise. Hope you enjoy it!

Today, I mixed cooked farro with sauteed onions, peppers, and a can of Rotel tomatoes and chili peppers. Hot, spicy, and perfect with homemade cheese bread.

Eric Tonningsen - October 6, 2013

Yum!

5. kateshrewsday - October 6, 2013

Thanks for the recommendation, Nancy!

nrhatch - October 6, 2013

You’re welcome, Kate. I found it quite a hearty and filling grain ~ perfect for the cooler temps of fall.

The most surprising to me ~ that NONE of my cookbooks included a single recipe. Not even Moosewood Cooks.

6. Tammy - October 6, 2013

That looks terrific, doesn’t it?

nrhatch - October 6, 2013

Yes! Quick, easy, nutritious, delicious, and full of fiber with “staying power.”

Definitely a great “go to” recipe to have on hand.

7. pix & kardz - October 7, 2013

never heard of farro before. am quite a fan of quinoa though. will have to watch for farro in the future! thanks for sharing. :)

nrhatch - October 7, 2013

I had heard of it, but had never seen it staring back at me from the grocery store’s shelves.

Now that I’ve tried it, I’ll keep an eye out for it.

8. Three Well Beings - October 7, 2013

I’ve had farro in my cupboard for far too long…and haven’t done anything with it! I’m glad to have a specific recipe. I needed a direction! LOL!

nrhatch - October 7, 2013

Excellent! I also enjoyed the way I fixed it last night ~ with sauteed onions and peppers, and a can of Rotel tomatoes and chiles. Spicy, filling, hearty, and heart healthy.

9. jannatwrites - October 7, 2013

I’ve never heard of farro before, but I might just give it a try. Right now, we rotate between brown rice and quinoa.

nrhatch - October 7, 2013

It reminds me of barley, but it’s not a dead ringer. I haven’t used in in soup yet but plan to do that next.

10. colonialist - October 7, 2013

Cats still are, but they just take a lower profile …
Farro, farro reminds me of the Glockenspiel in Disguise, in Danny Kaye (the movie one) singing ‘The Leetle Feedle’. And also, ‘It is a farro, farro better thing I do now …’

nrhatch - October 7, 2013

I don’t recognize the Danny Kaye reference, but cats are masters of disguise ~ moving with stealth through the shadows and pouncing on unsuspecting prey.

Like Kato!

colonialist - October 7, 2013

Like him, indeed!

nrhatch - October 7, 2013

Cute clip, Col. Thanks for gathering it for me to watch. Here’s to smitten kittens and finicky cats . . . and tongue twisters twisted around by Danny Kaye!

11. shreejacob - October 8, 2013

Thanks for the information!! I wonder if it can be eaten instead of rice and if it’s expensive…must to some investigating. As a Sri Lankan..if we don’t have rice for over 2 days we feel like a void has been created in our lives…rice and spice…lol

nrhatch - October 8, 2013

Rice + Spice = That’s Nice!

It can be used as a substitute for rice in some dishes . . . but it may be more expensive than rice depending on where you live.

12. Booksphotographsandartwork - October 8, 2013

Sounds great and like something my daughter in law would love. I will let her know about it, thanks.

nrhatch - October 8, 2013

You’re welcome, Linda. People who enjoy brown rice, whole wheat pasta, quinoi, barley, millet, etc., should enjoy the taste and texture.

13. A Week’s Worth of Veggies | Spirit Lights The Way - November 18, 2013

[…] Related Posts:  Hunger Action & Awareness Month * Farro Fit For A Pharoah […]


What Say YOU?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,065 other followers

