jump to navigation

Stupid Human Tricks August 26, 2013

Posted by nrhatch in Fun & Games, Happiness, Humor, Life Balance, People.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

IMGP1472aWhy do people spend so much time and energy trying to “get ahead”?

Ahead of what?  Ahead of whom?

Why do people work at jobs they hate to buy things they don’t need to impress people they don’t even like?

How many thneeds do we need?

What we accumulate in life matters far less than who we become.

I would rather be friends with an honest man with a large heart and little material wealth than with a “successful” man who cut corners to “get ahead.”

How does anyone claim “success” when they are so busy accumulating stuff that they have no time to Live, Love, Laugh, and Learn?

Life is only an exhibition.  It is not a competition.  So, please . . . no wagering!

Aah . . . that’s better!

The journey between what you once were and who you are now becoming is where the dance of life really takes place. ~ Barbara DeAngelis

Comments»

1. Pix Under the Oaks - August 26, 2013

I have to think about this Nancy. As you know, we are retired and right now we have been there done that getting ahead thing. I am just trying to find the best place for us to spend the rest of our lives so CH doesn’t have to take care of the Tiny Ten. He is tired. Me too. Florida? New Mexico? Florida if that pesky heat and HUMIDITY would go away!

nrhatch - August 26, 2013

Have you considered two small apartments ~ one for winter in a warm climate and one for the summer months in a cooler area? Or a motor home you can move from place to place?

Or a boat??? :cool:

Pix Under the Oaks - August 26, 2013

Yes to apartment/condo for winter months and summer months. Yes to motor home. No more boats.. :) We don’t do well with shared walls. Nancy we have twisted and turned with every kind of scenario. And then there is a house to sell that sits in a rural market that is no good at all right now. Don’t pay any attention to me, I am having my usual morning befuddlement. I am done.. :)

nrhatch - August 26, 2013

I know what you mean about twisting and turning and looking at situations from every conceivable angle . . . and still seeing “no way out” (or, in this case, “no way home”).

I hope a solution (and a buyer for the Tiny Ten) pops into view to ease your befuddlement.

2. spilledinkguy - August 26, 2013

When I was growing up I watched Letterman pretty much every night.
While I schemed.
I was able to come up with some pretty stupid stuff.
Not many actual tricks, though.
So, while it would be cool to squirt milk from my eyeballs… well… I guess things don’t always come together like we plan. :)

nrhatch - August 26, 2013

I loved Stupid Human Tricks, Stupid Pet Tricks, and the Top Ten Lists. I’m sorry you weren’t able to perfect the whole squirting milk thing and get on the show.

But there’s still time . . . :razz:

3. Andra Watkins - August 26, 2013

I’m always trying to become someone better. It beats the alternative. :)

nrhatch - August 26, 2013

I stopped practicing law once I decided that being the “best me” I could be appealed more than being the “best attorney” I could be. I have never regretted that decision. :D

4. ericjbaker - August 26, 2013

Stuff doesn’t do much to elevate my sense of well being.

nrhatch - August 26, 2013

I find that experiential “stuff” that requires interaction for consumption is the best mood elevator ~> food, music, books, etc.

ericjbaker - August 26, 2013

I agree

nrhatch - August 27, 2013

Here’s to buying stuff that we can actually USE! :D

5. sufilight - August 26, 2013

I totally am with you, Nancy. For me the ultimate ‘success’ is peace, inner peace – not trying to get ahead or acquiring material things to impress. From the space of inner peace everything in life becomes a source of abundance and gratitude. I was peeling peaches earlier today which Phil and I handpicked from the local farm and made a yummy fruit salad; I felt so grateful for this abundant gift from nature.

nrhatch - August 26, 2013

Yummy! Handpicked peaches are the BEST! When we slow the pace, we have time to savor moments like you enjoyed today. Yay!

6. jannatwrites - August 27, 2013

Yep. Impressing people would get expensive. It’s funny, but I’ve worked at several companies and the management staff always drove nice, expensive cars. When I first worked for my current boss in 1998, he drove a twelve-year-old Ford with crank windows. I thought that was great! Parked it right next to the Audis and BMWs :)

nrhatch - August 27, 2013

That’s awesome. (I drive a 13 year old Honda Civic).

Before posting this I watched a Travel Show on Mozambique followed by a well-to-do couple buying a home on Grand Cayman. The juxtaposition of scenes back-to-back was telling.

In Mozambique, they were using buckets to pull water from an open well to irrigate a garden with watering cans.

On Grand Cayman, the family of four needed “more space.” The walk in closet was the size of an airplane hanger . . . but it wasn’t “big enough.” The “drive through” shower was so big it had TWO doorways ~ an entrance and an exit! I kid you not.

The kicker? The couple on Grand Cayman kept touting the idea that they wanted to simplify their life . . . with a $1.8 million dollar home. Quel idiots! :mrgreen:

7. shreejacob - August 27, 2013

Very true Nancy…I guess we could say it’s what we are brought up with…keeping up (or now it’s ahead of) the Jones…
But I feel at some points in our lives, Life knocks on our doors and gives us that nudge to push us on…then it’s up to us to choose?

nrhatch - August 27, 2013

Or at least some of us receive that type of nudge . . . maybe others are supposed to keep buying and accumulating and dusting their stuff to keep the economy chugging along. :razz:

8. Three Well Beings - August 28, 2013

Never before in my life have these words felt more true! We have too much, and it’s almost burdensome. At certain stages of our lives we think we need homes and cars and the trappings…and then reach a certain age and hardly know what to do with so much! I hope the economy isn’t relying on me to help…I am not interested in more of anything! :-) (I hope I don’t get caught tomorrow eating these words. hahaha).

nrhatch - August 28, 2013

The “real cost” of buying IT (stuff we don’t need) goes far beyond the purchase price ~ we expend time and energy and $’s to store IT, clean IT, maintain IT, repair IT, use IT, and dispose of IT when we’re done with IT. Life would be so much simpler if we didn’t acquire IT in the first place. :D

9. bluebee - August 28, 2013

Having gone back into corporate life recently (because I need to earn a living), I’m seeing so much of this and I’m so over it – I can’t stand all the posturing, jostling and power play. And to hear management say things like “they sick of so-and-so’s 9-5 attitude” – I want to say, “That person has the balance right. They work hard at work, and go home on time to have a life! You need to get one too!” Such a lot of corporate cr@p-talk!

nrhatch - August 28, 2013

Looking back on my career, I’m glad I never bought into the notion that I should spend all of my paycheck (and then some) in order to impress the folks I worked with.

I still spent too much money on stuff I didn’t really need . . . but at least I was doing it FOR ME and not to impress THEM.

I’m glad that you are “over it” now. Hopefully you earn enough to make ends meet and also sock some away in savings for when you’ve really had enough of the corporate cr@p talk.


What Say YOU?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,929 other followers

