jump to navigation

Tea for Tattoo February 16, 2013

Posted by nrhatch in Fiction, Synchronicity & Mystery, Word Play.
Tags: , , , , , , ,
trackback
200px-March-hare

Wikipedia ~ The March Hare (in Public Domain)

The tinkling of the bell alerted me to her arrival.  I glanced up from my still warm tea and drank in her silhouette.

She stood in the doorway, as sure as stone.

She cast her eyes around the tea room and headed my way, slacks whispering her approach, “Excuse me, is this seat taken?”

She did not wait for my answer before drawing back the chair and claiming the seat as her own.

I expect she saw welcome in my eyes, “It is now.”

She motioned the waitress, before returning her gaze to me, “It is always now.”

“Yes.  And we are always here.”

She closed her eyes and breathed in the moment.  I kept mine open, all the better to see her with.

Tousled hair framed her face, falling just to the collar of her jean jacket.  I smelled a hint of jasmine as I followed her breath.  Steady.  Calm.

She opened her eyes and shrugged off her well-worn jacket, revealing a small tattoo on her right arm.

I nodded at the Taoist symbol, “It becomes you.”

“And you?”

Green-Yin-YangI rolled up my sleeve until the mirror image of her tattoo peered out at its peer.

Satisfied, she selected a scone from the now depleted tea tray, “I knew.”

“I did too.”

Aah . . . that’s better!

Comments»

1. Chris Edgar - February 16, 2013

Thanks, this looks intriguing to me so far. What I imagined when I read this was that these two women exist in a dystopian society where the kinds of present-moment awareness practices you’re talking about are banned. Maybe it could be argued that they’re de facto banned in our own culture. :)

nrhatch - February 16, 2013

Cool interpretation . . . “1984” enmeshed with “Brave New World” over woven with a Zen moment. :D

2. Don - February 16, 2013

Beautiful, Nancy.

nrhatch - February 16, 2013

Thanks, Don. In the midst of cleaning out and sorting through my bookshelves, I stumbled across A Writer’s Book of Days. I flipped through a few prompts and landed on, “Write about a tattoo.” So I dove in. :D

3. diannegray - February 16, 2013

This is great (and highly intriguing), Nancy! ;)

nrhatch - February 16, 2013

Thanks, Dianne. We’re “enjoying” a cold snap today . . . pausing for tea seemed the thing to do.

4. colonialist - February 16, 2013

I could get tao like this story … tao two and all … :)

nrhatch - February 16, 2013

Tao for tea . . . and tattoo! :D

5. ericjbaker - February 16, 2013

At first I was disappointed this wasn’t a post about Hervé Villechaize. But it turned out to be pretty good anyway.
;)

Nice work. I’m always up for some Taoist prose-poetry.

nrhatch - February 16, 2013

Perhaps Hervé Villechaize is the narrator who ordered Tao tea and shared his scones? ;)

ericjbaker - February 16, 2013

You didn’t hear him say, “De plane, De plane!” at any point, did you?

nrhatch - February 16, 2013

No, but I think he muttered, “De scone, De scone!” when she pilfered it. :mrgreen:

6. Patricia - February 16, 2013

Intriguing…

7. bluebee - February 16, 2013

Mmmm, a mystery

8. shreejacob - February 16, 2013

Oh…it is like most commenters have said…Intriguing! And that tattoo symbol looks awesome..maybe instead of a lotus I’ll get that for my next!
The story is just nice..meaning that it makes for a wonderful sense of mystery we can allow our imaginations to wander yet at the same time it doesn’t make me *want* to know what happened before or even after…there isn’t that sense of….uhmm….urgency???
I think that’s awesome :D

nrhatch - February 16, 2013

Thanks, Shree. That’s just what I was after . . . allowing readers to use their imaginations to wander and wonder without DEMANDING explanations about the past or future.

Because the NOW is just enough. :D

shreejacob - February 16, 2013

Gosh..reading that last line of your comment I just had this over whelming feeling that everyone want to be in the NOW…which is a good thing! Then again, it just maybe that I’ve been reading up on it and wanting to practice it…and my imagination just took that idea and ran with the “everyone wants to be in the NOW” thing..hehe

nrhatch - February 16, 2013

You might enjoy The Power of Now by Eckhart Tolle. It’s a concise look at the power of bringing our attention to bear on the moment at hand.

9. jannatwrites - February 16, 2013

What a neat encounter. It’s like the calm aura attracted one another. Could be the budding of a long friendship, or just a nice break from the “now”.

nrhatch - February 16, 2013

The Writer’s Book of Days interrupted by book sorting and poked and prodded me to write NOW . . . not LATER. :D

10. klrs09 - February 17, 2013

That was beautiful and interesting. Is it part of a larger work?

nrhatch - February 17, 2013

Not yet.

11. sufilight - February 17, 2013

Very spiritual to me, reminds me of The Way of The Peaceful Warrior. :)

nrhatch - February 17, 2013

Thanks, Marie. I loved that book, especially Socrates, working at the all night gas station.

12. Grannymar - February 17, 2013

Nice stand alone piece, yet I can see it as a preface to a longer story.

nrhatch - February 17, 2013

Who knows? I’ll have to wait and see whether these two will turn tail after tea . . . or tell tales of their tattoos. :mrgreen:

13. sweetdaysundertheoaks - February 17, 2013

Ooooo Nancy how fun! Hope there is more.. :) Now I want scones and a tattoo.

nrhatch - February 17, 2013

We’ll see. Today, it’s back to sorting through stacks and piles of books pulled off shelves to see who gets what.

And maybe we’ll have scones for tea! :D

14. Barbara Backer-Gray - February 17, 2013

Cool. I love anything with a teashop as a setting.

nrhatch - February 17, 2013

Given your avatar, I’m not surprised. :D

Tea shops exude warmth, peace, and relaxation. It’s like pressing the PAUSE button on life.

Barbara Backer-Gray - February 18, 2013

Exactly!

15. Tom (Aquatom1968) - February 17, 2013

A very nice peek into the present, Nancy! A timely coincidence perhaps?

nrhatch - February 17, 2013

Perhaps a bit of synchronicity and mystery. A timeless and timely meet up of kindred spirits.

16. adeeyoyo - February 17, 2013

Lovely write, Nancy. Calm and peaceful, but leaving unanswered questions… for another time perhaps?

nrhatch - February 17, 2013

Thanks, Denise. They might be back . . . we’ll see.

17. viviankirkfield - February 17, 2013

But I want more! :) You drew me in, Nancy…and I was there. Higher praise cannot be given. You are a gifted writer and storyteller!

nrhatch - February 18, 2013

Thanks, Vivian. Sorting through my books gave me a chance to flip through A Writer’s Book of Days. As soon as I saw the prompt, I knew . . . “Write about a tattoo.” :D

18. SidevieW - February 18, 2013

Mirror images?

nrhatch - February 18, 2013

That’s an idea . . . she’s an imaginary friend that the narrator saw in the mirror. :D

SidevieW - February 18, 2013

Maybe. Nice one for speculation

19. kateshrewsday - February 18, 2013

Lovely. Whoever she is, she’s very sure in herself.

nrhatch - February 18, 2013

When we know WHO we are . . . we know HOW to live. :D


What Say YOU?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,051 other followers

