jump to navigation

Life is an Echo November 9, 2012

Posted by nrhatch in Art & Photography, Nature, Poetry.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Life is an echo . . . what you send out comes back.  ~ Chinese Proverb

To a mind that is still, the whole Universe surrenders. ~ Chang Tsu

One today is worth two tomorrows. ~ Ben Franklin

Some things have to be believed to be seen.  ~ Ralph Hodgson

Aah . . . that’s better!

Related posts:  Weekly Photo Challenge ~ Renewal * Nature’s Inspiration  (Simple Truths)
Comments»

1. applepieandnapalm - November 9, 2012

Beautiful quotes and photos!

nrhatch - November 9, 2012

Thanks! These quotes begged for photos. :D

2. Richard W Scott - November 9, 2012

Great photos!

nrhatch - November 9, 2012

Thanks, Rik. They’re from Marie Selby Botannical Gardens in Sarasota. Beautiful place to wander and ponder.

3. Adventure Nick - November 9, 2012

Beautiful shots!

nrhatch - November 9, 2012

Thanks! Glad you enjoyed.

4. nuvofelt - November 9, 2012

Those orchids are beautiful. Sadly I never have much success with them :(

nrhatch - November 9, 2012

I’ve never grown orchids . . . I just admire them when out and about.

5. Tom (Aquatom1968) - November 9, 2012

Great post, Nancy!

nrhatch - November 9, 2012

Thanks, Tom! I love the photo challenges . . . especially with themes like “renewal.”

6. kateshrewsday - November 9, 2012

I love the Chang Tsu one, Nancy. I think I shall write it large on a piece of paper on my wall.

nrhatch - November 9, 2012

That one . . . and the last one . . . really got my attention. _/!\_

7. sufilight - November 9, 2012

Beautiful quotes and images! To think sages have been saying this for centuries but mankind is slow to catch up.

nrhatch - November 9, 2012

We are a slow-witted bunch, aren’t we? ;)

8. Andra Watkins - November 9, 2012

When MTM’s mom lived in Tampa, she had so many lovely orchids. I wonder what happened to them now that she’s back in Wisconsin.

nrhatch - November 9, 2012

Maybe someone adopted them?

9. jannatwrites - November 10, 2012

Great photos! I especially like the last quote. It’s a thoughtful reversal of the “gotta see it to believe it” saying.

nrhatch - November 10, 2012

That’s my favorite for just that reason. I read it WRONG twice before the difference sunk in. And it’s so true . . . somethings are visible only when we believe.

10. l0ve0utl0ud - November 10, 2012

Very interesting quotes, I love the Ben Franklin one especially.

nrhatch - November 10, 2012

Rather like a bird in the hand is worth two in the bush. Or don’t count your eggs until they’re hatched.

11. rutheh - November 10, 2012

The quotes and photos are excellent.

nrhatch - November 10, 2012

Thanks, Ruth.

12. Adam S - November 10, 2012

Great quotes, Nancy! Do you read the “I Ching” by chance?

nrhatch - November 10, 2012

I first read a translation of portions of the “I Ching” in high school . . . I had a daily inspiration calendar that contained 52 quotes from it. Since then, I’ve dabbled.

I’m starting to bump into it again. Last week, I checked out a few transalations on line ~ there is no clear consensus about which one is “the best.”

Shocking, I know. :shock:
Normally “we” agree on everything.

Adam S - November 10, 2012

Check out the translation by Brian Browne Walker. Its the best one~

nrhatch - November 10, 2012

Thanks, Adam. I will do that.

13. Colline - November 10, 2012

I enjoyed your quotes – makes one think a little. My favourite photo by far is the first one as I enjoy the colours.

nrhatch - November 10, 2012

Aren’t those blooms radiant? The greenhouses at Marie Selby are filled with radiance, perfect for renewal.

Colline - November 10, 2012

Visiting those greenhouses must have been like visiting heaven :)

nrhatch - November 10, 2012

And the outside gardens too . . . definitely a wonderful place to wander and ponder.

14. sweetdaysundertheoaks - November 10, 2012

Lovely images and quotes. My favorite quote, Ben Franklin’s.

nrhatch - November 10, 2012

Yes! Seize the day . . . for “tomorrow” we die. And we never know which tomorrow will arrive to claim us.

15. Waywardspirit - November 10, 2012

Xtream wonder©

nrhatch - November 10, 2012

?

16. Patricia - November 10, 2012

Love the last quote!

nrhatch - November 10, 2012

That one really got my attention too . . . after I read it wrong twice before reading it right.

17. mpejovic - November 11, 2012

Love the orchids!

nrhatch - November 11, 2012

You would love wandering around the gardens with your camera, Milka. Amazing diversity of blooms.

18. spilledinkguy - November 12, 2012

I was a bit bummed-out by how much colder it was here this morning than last (and dreading the rapidly approaching ‘W’-word)… so it was twice as nice to see such bright / warm / cheerful photos today, Nancy! Wonderful! :)

nrhatch - November 12, 2012

C’mon down, SIG! It’s a brilliant sunny day . . . 78 degrees and climbing. :cool:

19. Three Well Beings - November 12, 2012

Each one of these proverbs is worth memorizing! I particularly like “Life is an echo…what you send out comes back.” I’m going to make little cards with each of these and post them on my desk at work…that seems to be the place where they would be put to best use! :-)

nrhatch - November 12, 2012

Awesome! Really glad they resonated, Debra. And cards on your desk sounds a great way to jog your memory.

20. eof737 - November 15, 2012

Beautiful touches… ;-)

nrhatch - November 15, 2012

Thanks, E!


What Say YOU?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,020 other followers

