jump to navigation

Jackie Evancho November 9, 2012

Posted by nrhatch in Music & Dance, People.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Some of us bloom in autumn.  Others in summer.  A few talented souls bloom in Spring.

One such talent . . . Jackie Evancho.

In support of the release of her CD, Dream with Me, Great Performances presented Jackie Evancho in a solo concert at the Ringling Museum in Sarasota which revealed the amazing range and depth of this spectacular young talent.

Watch highlights from the solo concert debut of the 11-year-old girl with the extraordinary soprano voice HERE.

Aah . . . that’s better!

Comments»

1. Tori Nelson - November 9, 2012

I remember seeing her on TV and thinking it was a hoax. It’s shocking to see such a little girl with such a big voice!

nrhatch - November 9, 2012

No matter how many times I watch her sing . . . I can’t wrap my head around that voice coming out of that little girl! What talent.

2. sweetdaysundertheoaks - November 9, 2012

She certainly has a beautiful voice!

nrhatch - November 9, 2012

She sounds like she’s been singer for 30 year olds. Stellar performance from such a sweet young thing.

3. Andra Watkins - November 9, 2012

I’m pulling for her. I can just imagine that voice in that museum.

nrhatch - November 9, 2012

We watched the PBS special on TV and remained mesmerized throughout. She’s got the WOW! factor, for sure.

4. suzicate - November 9, 2012

Amazing! Thanks for sharing!

nrhatch - November 9, 2012

Glad you enjoyed! She’s such a treat for the ears.

I’ve had this sitting in my draft folder for ages and ages. We were listening to a less talented 11-year-old singer at Riverwalk the other day, and started talking about Jackie . . . came home and realized I’d never posted this.

5. viviankirkfield - November 9, 2012

She is a gifted singer…thanks so much for sharing this, Nancy…what amazes me is how sweet and unaffected she seems by all the fame!
By the way…CONGRATULATIONS! Susanna’s contests are always such fun…and I’m so thrilled you participated…AND WON third place…that is terrific. :)

nrhatch - November 9, 2012

Yes! She has such a pleasant demeanor . . . unlike many child prodigies who don’t manage the extra attention very well.

And YAY! Thanks so much for letting me know about the contest. Playing was FUN. Reading all the submissions was ENTERTAINING. And winning third place (with a cash prize, no less) is the ICING on the cake! Yay! :D

6. kateshrewsday - November 9, 2012

How is that stunning voice coming out of that small frame? Just beautiful, Nancy. I pray her heart and spirit will bear up under the weight of fame it brings her.

nrhatch - November 9, 2012

Isn’t that amazing! When we watched the PBS special, we saw her at home, with her family. Very down-to-earth little girl . . . with a voice direct from the angels.

7. sufilight - November 9, 2012

Whenever I listen to her sing I get goosebumps. I saw an interview where the parents say they treat her like any other child. She has to do chores and gets an allowance. What a talent and gift to the world!

nrhatch - November 9, 2012

Me too! Her parents and siblings are so supportive . . . without spoiling her. I love that!

8. Barbara Backer-Gray - November 9, 2012

Wow, T and I were also just wondering if this was for real. Incredible!

nrhatch - November 9, 2012

Her voice is one in a million . . . one in a billion for someone that age. Just amazing.

9. Booksphotographsandartwork - November 9, 2012

How wonderful that must be to be able to do that! It’s beautiful. Thank you for sharing it with us.

nrhatch - November 9, 2012

I’ve been meaning to share this video for ages . . . it got buried in my drafts. Glad it finally saw the light of day. Her voice speaks straight to my heart.

10. Pocket Perspectives - November 10, 2012

How can that be? Just stunning.

nrhatch - November 10, 2012

I smiled at your “How can that be?” . . . it reminds me of the Grinch’s perplexed statments to his dog Max when he realizes that Christmas came, it came just the same. He hadn’t stolen it at all.

How’s that for an aside ~ wow! Talks about veering off topic. :mrgreen:

11. jannatwrites - November 10, 2012

I saw her on America’s Got Talent. She gave me goosebumps, such a beautiful voice.

nrhatch - November 10, 2012

Jake Castro, an 11-year-old boy from Anna Maria Island, is scheduled to be on America’s Got Talent sometime soon ~ his guitar playing is stellar . . . his vocals, not so much.

He’s a bit off key which throws me a bit off kilter. Maybe he’ll grow into his voice. ;)

12. Tammy - November 10, 2012

Now I’m the one with tears. That was absolutely amazing. Thank you so much for sharing. I had not heard of her before.

nrhatch - November 10, 2012

She is an amazing little Diva . . . with none of the obnoxious Diva qualities. Glad you enjoyed this brief intro, Tammy.

13. Three Well Beings - November 12, 2012

She really is amazing, isn’t she? It is even more amazing that she looks like an angel, too. She seems to be a very sweet child…oh I hope that continues! Thanks for reminding me about a new CD. :-)

nrhatch - November 12, 2012

Let me know how you LOVE it, Debra. I expect that you’ll forget you’re listening to a voice not yet in its teens.


What Say YOU?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,024 other followers

