jump to navigation

Sass and Balderdash! November 7, 2012

Posted by nrhatch in Blogs & Blogging, Life Lessons, Mindfulness.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

Yesterday, I read a Freshly Pressed post and fell in love . . . with Sass and Balderdash!

Katie’s post, HaMoLoObMo ~ Hating Month Long Observances Month, mirrors many of the thoughts I expressed about NaBloPoMo in When You Have Something To Say

If posting every day is a priority for us . . . then we should find the time to post every day. 

Especially if it makes us happy and we have something to say.

But what happens if we sign on for NaBloPoMo and miss a day? Will we feel like failures because we couldn’t keep up with the rest of the pack? Will we wonder why we even bothered to try? 

Or will we keep posting carefully crafted quality posts when we have the time and inclination to do so?

That’s the key.

Much of what humans do is just “busy work” . . . we’re like residents of a huge ant farm building tunnels to nowhere.

We need something to do while we’re here so we pretend to ourselves that the “tunnels we’re building” are important.

Many of them aren’t.

Research on motivation has shown that what humans really crave is the opportunity to exercise autonomy, develop mastery, and feel a sense of purpose.  The more we are treated like FWU’s (Fungible Work Units) on an endless conveyor belt from Birth to Death, the less motivated we become.

When we focus on quantity ( a post a day or a novel a month) instead of quality (writing when we have something of import to say and carefully crafting our words to express it in the best possible way), we often lose that sense of mastery and purpose.

When motivation comes from within, we’re inspired to do more and be more. 

When motivation comes from without, we often end up feeling deflated and defeated . . . because IT (whatever IT is) wasn’t important enough to us in the first place. 

Maybe what we were really after was the anticipated rush we expected  to receive in the form of external validation from our peers?

It’s not just WHAT we do that matters . . . it’s understanding WHY we are doing IT.  If we are doing IT just to go along with the crowd, or to gain accolades and applause from our peers, we are generally wasting our time.

Reclaiming our freedom to live life fully requires that we tune out societal messages urging conformity to listen to our own inner wisdom.

Once we learn to rely on inner motivation to set and define our priorities, we become less inclined to jump  on the next-best-bandwagon that rolls down the street.

Aah . . . that’s better!

When we know WHO we are . . . we know HOW to live. ~ Goethe

Related Posts:  Bah Humbug! (Huw Thomas) * Life is Not One-Size-Fits-All

* * * * *

Susanna posted the 8 Finalists from the Halloweensie Contest yesterday morning . . .  and I’m in the running! 

If you want to vote, click this link and Vote for your Favorite! 

They’re all in one place . . . so it’s one stop shopping.  No clicking back and forth between blogs.  Simple, right?  C’mon . . . jump on the bandwagon!

Comments»

1. Andra Watkins - November 7, 2012

Posting every day, for me, is a writing exercise a day. I don’t call attention to that on my blog, but that’s what they are for me. That means some of them are better than others, but the point, for me, is to work with my tools every day.

Because I have that personal goal, on top of working on a novel with a deadline, it is hard for me to participate in other writing challenges. I do think biting off some of those would further hone my writing and might give some additional variety to my blog when I think it’s becoming stale or predictable.

nrhatch - November 7, 2012

I write “every” day today . . . as long as I’m in the mood. If not, I give myself permission to do something/anything/nothing else. ;)

From my perspective, you write every day to develop mastery, to improve at your chosen craft, to get better at what you love to do. That’s a great reason to write.

2. katecrimmins - November 7, 2012

I find that some (but not all) bloggers who post every day are not as interesting as bloggers who post articles that inspired them. Sometimes it’s the mood that makes the post magic!

nrhatch - November 7, 2012

I agree, Kate. When I find myself going round in circles to find something/anything/nothing to post about . . . I usually take the day off. ;)

3. Adam S - November 7, 2012

Katie’s a trip, ain’t she!

nrhatch - November 7, 2012

She is! And she introduced me to you . . . and you’re bitchin’ too! :cool:

Adam S - November 7, 2012

Thanks to you! I think that was a Haiku …

nrhatch - November 7, 2012

A “how do you do?” haiku. ;)

4. granny1947 - November 7, 2012

Good post NR….not posting for a while taught me a lot…if I am not motivated I can’t write.

nrhatch - November 7, 2012

Yes! Plus . . . your absence made our hearts grow fonder of your wit and witticisms! :D

5. kateshrewsday - November 7, 2012

I agree. Being mindful is not just essential, but a very more-ish exercise….

nrhatch - November 7, 2012

What I find ironic . . .

Since posting “When You Have Something To Say,” my posting frequency has INCREASED instead of DECREASING.

I guess that makes my motives suspect. :lol:

6. Tom (Aquatom1968) - November 7, 2012

I try to post every day, but occasionally I give myself the day off, Nancy. I’m discovering the joys of scheduling posts now (I’m a slow learner!), so, when I’m high with the excitement of feeling full of inspiration and can write more than the one post a day I intended to, I can now schedule posts for a later day. And get more days off! Not that posting daily feels like a day ‘on’, I hasten to add, as I just love doing it!
Hope your Wednesday is going well!

nrhatch - November 7, 2012

We thought about clueing you in to the scheduling feature, but decided against it. We knew you’d figure it out . . . eventually. ;)

I remember feeling the same sense of joy and jubilation when I realized I could write NOW and post LATER. Talk about a power rush. **WHOOSH** :mrgreen:

Tom (Aquatom1968) - November 7, 2012

I kind of catch on quick, occasionally!

nrhatch - November 7, 2012

We knew you would. :D

7. Barbara Backer-Gray - November 7, 2012

Hmm, I agree that you shouldn’t write if you have nothing to say. I never do that ;-). But I think NANoWriMo is cool, not so people who have never wanted to write a novel will do it and create crap, but because lots of people want to one day write a novel, but they don’t get round to it, or they get stuck and stop. NaNoWriMo isn;t meant to create novels, but to make people who want to write to sit down and write a certain number of words every day, without worrying about if it’s any good or where it’s going, because that’s how to get past writer’s block, and when you’ve done it, you don’t have a novel, but you have the material that you can then turn into a novel. Or you don’t, and then you can stop thinking that some day you’re going to write a novel and move on to something more realistic.

nrhatch - November 7, 2012

Good points, Barbara. Some wannabe authors will sit down at the keyboard, stare blankly at the keys, and realize that writing a novel is not as easy as reading one. :D

8. wightrabbit - November 8, 2012

‘When motivation comes from within we’re inspired to do more, be more.’ These words jumped out at me, when I read this post, Nancy ~ I can’t even consider taking on one of these challenges as I just know that it would make me irritable and that my inspiration would dry up before the first week was up. I admire those who do make it work for them, they will no doubt be more ‘successful’ novelists and bloggers than I. But I would rather be free to write what and when I’m inspired to. Or not, as the fancy takes me! :)

nrhatch - November 8, 2012

Some people set public goals because it makes them feel “accountable.” They enjoy the comraderie and “back slaps” as they report on their progress to others: “Way to go!” “You da man!” “You can do it!” “Keep it up!” “Etc!”

Not me. Unless I joined a TEAM with a GROUP or TEAM prize at stake, I don’t feel accountable to others. If my inner motivation changed mid-month, I would stop participating. Without one iota of embarrassment.

But I like the point that Barbara made . . . NaNoWriMo is a prompt to cross “writing a novel” off your bucket list if it’s been languishing there, collecting dust, for years. :D

9. Three Well Beings - November 10, 2012

I do applaud those who are able to keep to a strict schedule of writing and posting, but I don’t think that inspiration keeps to a schedule. Or let’s just say my inspiration doesn’t! :-) I have said for a long time that I my only reason for blogging is enjoying the chance to connect and communicate with others, and the day it becomes another chore, I need to move on! I love the Goethe quote!

nrhatch - November 10, 2012

Exactly my thoughts, Debra. I wrote on WEbook for a year or so before starting SLTW . . . at first I was GIDDY being in the midst of so many writers. But things deteriorated due to a growing number of Egos who demanded attention. That, and too much gossiping around the water cooler.

I decided to head out on my own. So glad I did. This is much more FUN. And, if ever it isn’t, I shall find another “Open Window” to climb through. :cool:


What Say YOU?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,978 other followers

