jump to navigation

Rocky Mountain High . . . in Colorado November 7, 2012

Posted by nrhatch in Bulletin Board, Gratitude, Mindfulness.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

MarijuanaYay!  Amendment 64 passed in Colorado.

“On Tuesday night, Amendment 64 ~ the measure seeking the legalization of marijuana for recreational use by adults ~ was passed by Colorado voters, making Colorado the first state to end marijuana prohibition in the United States.”

I, for one, hope that the momentum spreads to other states like wildfire.

Marijuana is far safer than alcohol.  Either both should be legal, or neither should.  But it’s time to end the double standard.

Aah . . . that’s better!

Related posts:  Not In Our Town * The War on Drugs ~ A Joint Decision

* * * * *

Susanna posted the 8 Finalists from the Halloweensie Contest yesterday morning . . .  and I’m in the running!

If you want to vote, click this link and Vote for your Favorite!

They’re all in one place . . . so it’s one stop shopping.  No clicking back and forth between blogs.  Simple, right?  Even a stoner could do it!  ;)

Comments»

1. Lisa Wields Words - November 7, 2012

The other day, while waiting in the doctor’s office, I was reading an article about some popular hallucinogenic drug that is supposed to have healing qualities. (Sorry, I can’t recall the name). It is, of course, illegal, but is often administered under the guidance of a guru or spiritual retreat, and begins with vomiting but leads to (supposedly) spiritual journeys that ask the user to confront their inner (and sometimes outer) demons.

Anyway, one thing that struck me as I was reading the article was the list of what would be considered a lethal dose of various substances. I laughed out loud when this substance was close to alcohol (where the lethal dose was something like 12 units–I guess I should look up my facts) while a lethal dose of marijuana was something like 1000 units.

I don’t think anyone partaking in marijuana would have the stamina to take 1000 units at one time, do you?

I’ll see if I can find the article . . . stand by.

nrhatch - November 7, 2012

Yes! Please. I’d love to read it.

I thought about running around to gather statistics to support my statement that “Marijuana is far safer than alcohol.” Then decided not to bother with documentation.

Anyone who has been around anyone who is stoned vs. someone who is drunk has all the proof they need. ;)

Lisa Wields Words - November 7, 2012

I can’t find the article (It was in some fashion magazine that I don’t usually read) but the drug is called ayahuasca.

nrhatch - November 7, 2012

Thanks, Lisa. I expect that most people already know that marijuana is 100 times safer than alcohol . . . or refuse to even entertain that possibility.

Now, I’ve got to pack my bags and go visit mom! :mrgreen:

2. Arlee Bird - November 7, 2012

Good for you! I totally agree and am glad to read another blogger who supports this issue. It’s time for a change. The impact on tax revenue could be tremendous. The wasteful spending on this part of the war on drugs could be used for far more productive purposes. The Federal government needs to follow suit here so all states can have the same uniform approach as they have with tobacco and alcohol.

nrhatch - November 7, 2012

Exactly! We can collect tax revenue from the sale . . . instead of spending tax dollars to arrest, try, and jail someone for possession of a joint. And we can spend the money we save on education, or healthcare, or feeding starving children.

3. Judson - November 7, 2012

In principle, I agree with you … but in reality, in a public place, I can sip on my Bourbon and water and unless you get close enough to sniff my breath, you won’t even know it (at least for the first 2 or 3, lol) … but if you light up a joint in a public place, everyone is going to know it in seconds and a lot of people are going to be upset. Even if it’s safer than tobacco, it’s still sort of like smoking cigarettes in public … it’s tough to do it and stay out of other people’s way. Legalize it? Sure. But keep it at home!

nrhatch - November 7, 2012

My best guess: If smoking cigarettes is prohibited in an area, smoking a joint will be too. For example, no one should expect permission to light up in a hospital, the grocery store, or an elementary school.

But if smoking and drinking is legal in a venue, I see no reason to exclude someone who wants to light up a joint . . . unless, of course, they don’t want to share. ;)

Judson - November 7, 2012

It won’t work here … All public places like bars and restaurants, etc. in North Carolina are now totally non-smoking.

nrhatch - November 7, 2012

That’s often the case around here too . . . although bars can get around the “No Smoking” in restaurants by limiting the food they serve.

4. barb19 - November 7, 2012

The use of marijuana for pain relief is also better and safer than taking pain killers – most of which have side effects.

nrhatch - November 7, 2012

Yes. This video touches upon how ludicrous it is for the pharmaceutical companies to fund the “war on drugs” given all the side effects of legal drugs.

Warning: This video contains FOUL LANGUAGE . . . but it won’t cause nausea, diarrhea, vomiting, coma, or death.

barb19 - November 8, 2012

Couldn’t watch it – it’s blocked in my country. Pffft!

nrhatch - November 8, 2012

Darn. I hate when that happens. It’s a humorous look at a serious subject featuring a number of comedians ~ George Carlin, Chris Rock, etc.

5. Andra Watkins - November 7, 2012

I’d smoke weed over taking many of the pharmaceutical drugs out there, any time.

nrhatch - November 7, 2012

Same here! Especially if I had cancer and was riddled with pain with no appetite.

6. Booksphotographsandartwork - November 7, 2012

From prior knowledge I’d just assume not be around anyone who drinks or smokes pot. But if a sick person needs it thats another story. I’m not going to begrudge them a way of feeling better. Someone who is in desperate pain and terminally ill should get whatever they can to help them.

nrhatch - November 7, 2012

I’m surprised by your comment. I would never have pegged you as a teetotaler, Linda. My favorite aunt didn’t drink except the occasional sherry . . . “for medicinal purposes only.”

7. SammyDee - November 7, 2012

Hmmm, I’m still not convinced. I’ve read your other posts on the subject and I understand where you’re coming from but if it went to a referendum here in England I wouldn’t vote for it to be legalised for recreational use. It isn’t a topic I’ve debated though to be honest – I’m just not comfortable with the idea of just anyone using it.

nrhatch - November 7, 2012

One reason may be because it’s been governed by prohibition for most/all of your life. What we aren’t familiar with makes us uncomfortable.

Most of us grew up with bars and liquor stores, so alcohol is an accepted drug . . . despite the devastation caused by drunk drivers. Once pot is legalized, it won’t seem like a foreign substance.

8. ericjbaker - November 7, 2012

I don’t know why the feds continue to fight it. Anyone who knows anything about the patterns of history can see that pot will one day be legal in all 50 states. It’s like betting money on a roulette wheel that has already stopped on a different number.

nrhatch - November 7, 2012

I love how you put that . . . I expect that the feds continue to fight it because Big Pharm, Alcohol, and Tobacco lobby for continued prohibition.

Of course, I’m beginning to suspect that their best interests and our best interests don’t coincide. Just a hunch. ;)

ericjbaker - November 7, 2012

This poison is OK, but not that one, because we said so.

nrhatch - November 7, 2012

The video (above) is hilarious . . . as comedians poke holes in the hypocrisy.

9. viviankirkfield - November 7, 2012

Thanks for taking a stand, Nancy! Hurray for Colorado…I knew there was a reason we moved here. :) :) Seriously though, I don’t ‘partake’, but I’m happy the people voted to pass the amendment…the tax funds will help…and people who want to smoke it will find sources anyway..and legalizing it won’t encourage younger people to try it.
Congrats on being in the finals in Susanna’s contest…I’m sooooo happy you joined in. Best of luck…your entry is GREAT!

nrhatch - November 7, 2012

Colorado is an awesome state for many reasons, including being forward thinking. :D

Congrats to you too! BFF and I both loved your poem about guising. Landing in the finals is a thrill because there were so many great submissions. And the contest was such FUN.

viviankirkfield - November 26, 2012

Yes, definitely forward thinking. :)
I love Susanna’s contests…such fun to read everyone’s creative entries. :)

nrhatch - November 26, 2012

Quite fun. I’m looking forward to her Christmas contest. :D

viviankirkfield - November 26, 2012

Oh Goodie!!! I know Susanna will be so happy. :)

10. Barbara Backer-Gray - November 7, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised that they legalized it. If it’s ever legalized it has to come from the states, but the first one will have some serious drug tourism problems at first. But it will keep more people out of jail and it will be less of a stepping-stone drug.

nrhatch - November 7, 2012

I expect you’re right . . . Colorado will have an influx of tourism in the coming months. More tax revenue for the state. Then, other states will see the light . . . and allow folks to light up! :idea:

11. Pocket Perspectives - November 7, 2012

Enjoy Colorado and it’s many benefits! :D

nrhatch - November 7, 2012

Just one more reason to visit Rocky Mountain National Park. ;)

12. jannatwrites - November 8, 2012

Interesting. I hadn’t heard about this initiative in CO. In Arizona, voters supported medical marijuana. That was in the last election and they STILL haven’t figured out how to implement it. Maybe by the next election they’ll have it figured out ;)

nrhatch - November 8, 2012

Maybe all you progressive states can exchange notes and get the ball rolling . . . while the East Coast continues to live in the Dark Ages. ;)

13. wightrabbit - November 8, 2012

Just to let you know ~ you don’t have to smoke cannabis. As with any natural herb, you can absorb the active ingredients through a vaporiser, which cuts out inhalation of and addiction to toxic substances added to tobacco by the manufacturers. I worked in Social Housing for 17 years, managing low~rent inner city estates. The stoners were too wrecked to cause any trouble but the alcoholics were an anti~social nightmare!

nrhatch - November 8, 2012

Yes! Alcohol wreaks havoc on individuals and society, making people agressive and unpleasant and prone to drunken brawls. The effects of pot are just the opposite, it allows people to smooth away the rough edges of life and mellow out, while listening to tunes and enjoying some munchies. :mrgreen:

14. 420smokersblog - November 8, 2012

Reblogged this on 420smokersblog.

nrhatch - November 8, 2012

Great collection of “election returns.” Thanks for sharing.

15. sweetdaysundertheoaks - November 8, 2012

Hmmm. And we have been throwing around Colorado for retirement after realizing I can’t take the heat after this past summer. It had been in the running but now.. :) Seriously, I am glad it passed. Missouri legalize marijuana, I can’t imagine.

sweetdaysundertheoaks - November 8, 2012

Retirement from country life! Geesh I need to eat some breakfast.

nrhatch - November 8, 2012

OK. You and CH can retire to Colorado . . . and visit Florida during the winter months.

Hmm . . . come to think of it, maybe we’ll start to spend HOT searing summers in Colorado and return to Florida with the snowbirds in the fall. Mom would love to have us out there for a few months each year. And now we have an added incentive. ;)

sweetdaysundertheoaks - November 8, 2012

Sounds like a plan!

nrhatch - November 8, 2012

Although I didn’t miss not being around the wildfires this summer . . . they came too close for comfort to my brother’s house. Several mornings they woke up with smoke filling their bedroom. :shock:

nrhatch - November 8, 2012

You mention breakfast . . . my stomach starts growling. :D

16. Three Well Beings - November 10, 2012

I hope it spreads, too! I didn’t previously think of Colorado as enlightened. But I do now! :-)

nrhatch - November 10, 2012

We are waking up to the realization that when the “powers that be” say that something is good (or bad) for us . . . they don’t necessarily have OUR best interests in mihd. They have a conflict of interest. Always. Those in power want to stay in power.

Glad that we are opening our eyes to the truth. :shock:
Sorry that Prop 37 didn’t pass. :-(

17. mpejovic - November 11, 2012

I have to personally disagree with this one. Just like with alcohol, marijuana can be very addictive and very destructive for some people and I don’t think it should be readily available. The newer kind, which has been easily accessible in pot clinics in California (but is now being shut down) is way more potent than what weed used to be years ago. People get addicted and they suffer physical and psychological consequences that are not reversible. Drug addiction is drug addiction, no matter the drug. I have seen first hand the damages pot can do and it’s not pretty. The withdrawal part is even worse.

nrhatch - November 11, 2012

I guess we will have to disagree, Milka. I’ve never seen anyone have problems with pot like people do with alcohol . . . yet alcohol is legal and pot is not. Makes no sense to me.

mpejovic - November 11, 2012

Marijuana is way more addictive than alcohol and has different effects on the brain. Try going to a Marijuana Anonymous meeting and you’ll understand the damage it can do. When people need to smoke it two or three times a day to function, you know they have a problem. I lived with such a person and it’s ugly.

nrhatch - November 11, 2012

I’ve seen people be very ugly when drinking or smoking crack (that’s some nasty stuff) . . . but never after smoking pot.

I’ve also never met anyone “addicted” to pot . . . but I’ve met plenty of alcoholics.

nrhatch - November 11, 2012

I just did a quick search:

Dr. Jack E. Henningfield of NIDA ranked the relative addictiveness of 6 substances (cannabis, caffeine, cocaine, alcohol, heroin and nicotine).

Cannabis ranked least addictive, with caffeine the second least addictive and nicotine the most.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/National_Institute_on_Drug_Abuse

Arlee Bird - November 11, 2012

I think there could be a lot of variables at play here and a lot would depend on the individual and their mental functioning. I haven’t heard of any evidence of marijuana being physically addictive and I doubt whether anyone would go through actual physical withdrawal.

I’ve heard the same claims made about tobacco and yet I was a 3 pack a day smoker for years. One day I decided to quit and that was that–stopped smoking and no problems whatsoever. Yet I’ve heard others claim they “can’t quit”. It’s a matter of will.

I’d say hamburgers, sugar, and even healthy things like exercise are harmful in excess. It’s a matter of self-control, and let’s face it, self-control can be a difficult thing for many people to manage, especially if they enjoy their drug (or what have you) of choice is something that gives them please.

Also there might be a conflict of thinking between the nonuser and the user. Neither sometimes sees eye to eye.

Lee

mpejovic - November 11, 2012

Just talk to marijuana addicts and they can tell you more. I think like everything else, some people become addicts and others don’t. You’ll always have a percentage of people who can drink, smoke and do other things and be fine, and a minority that will become addicted. Until you start using a substance, you won’t know which side you belong to, unfortunately. I think it’s definitely worth debating. Clearly plenty of people are alcoholic and yet alcohol is legal for others to enjoy with moderation.

Arlee Bird - November 11, 2012

I’m sure I’ll eventually get to this topic on Tossing It Out since I’m starting to deal with more provocative topics. I will link to this post when I do. It will probably be several weeks until I get to it though. I think often the biggest misconceptions about marijuana come from those who have never tried it, but are vehemently against it. And some people have very different reactions to the substance, but I think that is not the fault of the substance.

nrhatch - November 11, 2012

Thanks, Lee. Good points. Milka, your last sentence is my main point ~ if alcohol is legal for people to enjoy with moderation, pot should be too.


What Say YOU?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,009 other followers

