jump to navigation

Feeling Blue May 14, 2012

Posted by nrhatch in Art & Photography, Happiness, Life Balance, Mindfulness.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

“Artists can color the sky red because they know it’s blue. Those of us who aren’t artists must color things the way they really are or people might think we’re stupid.” ~ Jules Feiffer

“Whenever I feel blue, I start breathing again.” ~ L. Frank Baum

“One reason a dog can be such a comfort when you’re feeling blue is that he doesn’t try to find out why.”

“If the sight of the blue skies fills you with joy, if a blade of grass springing up in the fields has power to move you, if the simple things in nature have a message you understand, Rejoice, for your soul is alive.” ~ Eleanora Duse

“The real miracle is not to walk on water, but to walk on earth. Every day we are engaged in a miracle which we don’t even recognize: a blue sky, white clouds, green leaves, the black, curious eyes of a child, our own two eyes. All is a miracle.” ~ Thich Nhat Hanh

If you’re going to be blue, this is the right kind of blue to be. 

Related posts:  WP Weekly Photo Challenge ~ Blue (WP Prompt)

Comments»

1. Barefoot Baroness - May 14, 2012

“Artists can color the sky red because they know it’s blue. Those of us who aren’t artists must color things the way they really are or people might think we’re stupid.” ~ Jules Feiffer

Fabulous quote!

Blue… my favorite color in this world. All blues…

nrhatch - May 14, 2012

Same here! One of the things that made me fall in love with Florida is all the blue surrounding us ~ sky and sea. :D

I love that quote too. It makes me laugh.

2. suzicate - May 14, 2012

These are some really good quotes, Nancy. The one by Eleanora Duse speaks to me.

nrhatch - May 14, 2012

If I had to pick one of these quotes for you . . . that’s the one I would have picked. You are nurtured by nature.

3. Jennifer Avventura - May 14, 2012

Love the second one, what is that little green man thing?

nrhatch - May 14, 2012

It’s a Turtle Shower to rinse off after the beach. :cool:

4. Crowing Crone Joss - May 14, 2012

That quote by Ms Duse is one of my all time favourites.

nrhatch - May 14, 2012

I expect it speaks to the nature lover in you, Joss. I can see you now, once you get to Europe, you’ll be climbing mountains and twirling around like Julie Andrews in The Sound of Music. :D

Crowing Crone Joss - May 14, 2012

big smile at that image here. Definitely!

nrhatch - May 14, 2012

The only difference . . . you’ll be wearing RED hiking boots and a matching hat. :D

5. lostinagreatbook - May 14, 2012

Gorgeous – you spark my travel bug just by looking at these photos. Love the reflected image in the seagul shot as well!

nrhatch - May 14, 2012

We fell in love with all the gorgeous blues the first time we visited the Gulf Coast. Moving here was a dream come true.

6. sufilight - May 14, 2012

I actually took a deeep breath while reading your post, felt relaxed. :) Thich Nhat Hanh’s quote is a a favorite one of mine.

nrhatch - May 14, 2012

It is a reminder to look for the miraculous . . . even in the “mundane” aspects of daily life.

And on that note . . . Tigger has GAINED 0.2 lbs. since the vet visit on Thursday. Yay! He may surprise us all. :D

sufilight - May 14, 2012

YES!!!!!!!!! I am so happy to read this news! :)

Vanessa Dawne - May 14, 2012

Wonderful news — there is good along with the bad. ;-)

nrhatch - May 14, 2012

Thanks! Tigger can afford to lose a pound or two . . . but we want it to drop off S~L~O~W~L~Y.

For now, we are glad to see him holding his own . . . and energetically chasing (and catching!) lizards on the deck.

Pocket Perspectives - May 14, 2012

ohhhh….go Tigger!…if the lizards disappear, be sure to go out and find some more….keep Tigger inspired!…Maybe inspiration can heal, when doctors can’t….. : )

nrhatch - May 14, 2012

The lizards only disappear when it drops below 50. There should be plenty to “inspire” him in the coming months.

7. Marion Driessen - May 14, 2012

Your photos give a happy feeling.

nrhatch - May 14, 2012

Yay! I loved the WP Prompt this week since most of my favorite photos feature the color blue.

8. judithhb - May 14, 2012

“The real miracle is not to walk on water, but to walk on earth. Every day we are engaged in a miracle which we don’t even recognize: a blue sky, white clouds, green leaves, the black, curious eyes of a child, our own two eyes. All is a miracle.” ~ Thich Nhat Hanh Love that quote Nancy. Thank you and the photos are just perfect with the quotes. :)

nrhatch - May 14, 2012

Glad you enjoyed, Judith. Here’s to keeping our eyes wide open to all the miracles around us.

9. Andra Watkins - May 14, 2012

Gorgeous photos, Nancy. Enough to lift the spirits on the worst of days.

nrhatch - May 14, 2012

Thanks, Andra. I was thrilled when I saw the prompt for the belated weekly challenge. Had it posted on Friday, I might not have been in the mood to play along.

Blue is calming and soothing and life affirming.

10. spilledinkguy - May 14, 2012

You do blues beautifully, Nancy! :)

nrhatch - May 14, 2012

Me . . . and Mother Nature. :cool:

11. Pocket Perspectives - May 14, 2012

Isn’t blue such a calming, but also uplifting, color?…and your photos really show that… I wonder how the phrase “feeling blue” came about?…seems to me that the color “blue” just doesn’t go with the sense of that phrase….well, whatever, I’ll ignore it and just go with that sense of happiness I feel when I see blue sky and blue water : )

nrhatch - May 14, 2012

Yup, BLUE got a bum rap:

“Feeling blue”
“Well, I guess that’s why they call it the blues . . . ”
The Blues Brothers
Blue Moon

Orange you glad they didn’t they pick on orange? ;)

Pocket Perspectives - May 14, 2012

hahahhaa…..you are feeling better…. : )

Pocket Perspectives - May 14, 2012

okay….h just looked over my shoulder and found his 9 year old sense of humor….he suggests we “green and bear it….”….at least I think he meant “bear it”….maybe he meant “bare it “….????? : )

nrhatch - May 14, 2012

Thanks, Kathy! I’m definitely smiling and laughing more easily than yesterday. A better way to be. :D

12. Albadr Nasution - May 14, 2012

Great photo and great quotes. I think I will copy the quotes to my blog. Can I?

nrhatch - May 14, 2012

Yes, sure. Borrowing and sharing quotes is one of my favorite things about the internet.

Loved your blue photos too! Gorgeous shots.

13. The Retiring Sort - May 14, 2012

Love the seabird!

nrhatch - May 14, 2012

Perfect timing . . . usually I’m too early or too late.

The Retiring Sort - May 14, 2012

Me too! ;-)

14. ailsapm - May 14, 2012

Wonderful photos, and the quotes are delightful! xxx Ailsa

nrhatch - May 15, 2012

Thanks, Alisa. I love it when the sky is blue . . . and I am not! :D

15. Perfecting Motherhood - May 15, 2012

Nice blue pictures, I like the pier especially.

nrhatch - May 15, 2012

Thanks, Milka. That pier resides across the street at Harbour Isles.

16. jannatwrites - May 15, 2012

You had several great quotes here. I especially liked the Jules Feiffer one and the dog not finding out why we are blue.

Those pictures are gorgeous. Did you take them all?

nrhatch - May 15, 2012

Thanks, Janna. I did take them all.

I love that dog quote . . . when I’m happy for “no reason,” I just enjoy the feeling. When I’m sad, I tend to dissect the emotion to see what’s at the bottom of it. I should just feel the sadness and let it drift away.

17. kateshrewsday - May 15, 2012

It is a very beautiful blue indeed :-)

nrhatch - May 15, 2012

Sometimes the only thing I need to spark a smile . . . blue skies and swaying palms.

18. ZielonaMila - May 15, 2012

Beautiful photographs, fantastic colours. I am greeting

nrhatch - May 15, 2012

Thanks. I love photographing nature . . . it reminds me to keep my focus on all the wonders offered.

19. Meemzo - May 15, 2012

All very nice

nrhatch - May 15, 2012

Thanks . . . here’s to seeing blue without being blue. :D

20. sweetdaysundertheoaks - May 15, 2012

I love your Florida BLUE this morning Nancy!

nrhatch - May 15, 2012

Much better than having the blues, eh? ;)

sweetdaysundertheoaks - May 15, 2012

Absolutely!

21. William D'Andrea - May 15, 2012

The world “Blues” is often used to mean sadness. “Singing the Blues” is a way to relieve the sadness; especially if the singer is someone like Ray Charles.

nrhatch - May 15, 2012

I seldom listen to “the blues.” When I’m happy, I listen to happy music. When I’m unhappy, happy music helps cheer me up.

But once in a “blue moon” . . . I enjoy listening to the blues

22. eof737 - May 15, 2012

Beautiful selections. ;-)

nrhatch - May 15, 2012

Thanks, E! The theme was perfect for me this week.

23. cuhome - May 15, 2012

I especially liked this one: “One reason a dog can be such a comfort when you’re feeling blue is that he doesn’t try to find out why.” So, so true.

nrhatch - May 15, 2012

I know your pup has been a source of comfort to you, Janet. Without using a single word. :D

24. pix & kardz - May 15, 2012

gotta love the blues! :)
thanks for sharing.

nrhatch - May 15, 2012

I loved this theme . . . so many of my favorites photos and images feature “BLUE.”

25. Tokeloshe - May 15, 2012

Great quotes and beautiful photos!

nrhatch - May 15, 2012

Thanks, Tok. The hardest thing about this week’s challenge was narrowing down the choices. I love capturing “blue.”

26. bluebee - May 16, 2012

Love the L. Frank Baum quote :-D Reminds me of my best friend who can always make me laugh and get over myself when I’m being a miserable old bag

nrhatch - May 16, 2012

Friends who make us laugh when we most need a good laugh are PRICELESS. :D

27. Three Well Beings - May 16, 2012

Blue is indeed my favorite color, and if I’m “the other blue” I often seek a little solace with ocean blue. It’s calming, isn’t it? I can’t say which quote I like the best. Each one is spot on! Debra

nrhatch - May 16, 2012

Glad you enjoyed, Debra. When my mood is “gray” . . . blue skies and seas remind me to keep floating. My favorite meditation CD is Ocean Voyages. It’s nothing more than waves peppered with thin instrumentals. It clams me to the core.

28. sweetdaysundertheoaks - May 16, 2012

Nancy I think I took your title! Unconsciously soaked into my brain! Sorry!

nrhatch - May 16, 2012

No worries, mate . . . “feeling blue” is a well worn phrase, open to all. :D

29. Booksphotographsandartwork - May 16, 2012

I think I would have far fewer weeds if I lived there.

nrhatch - May 16, 2012

Most times that is, indeed, the case. But there are times when the world still comes crashing down on my shoulders. And it is up to me to shrug off the weeds.

30. souldipper - May 24, 2012

Good quotes and philosophies, Nancy. I especially like the first one. I suspect you and I (biznezzy types) don’t look as though we have license to paint the sky any colour we like. Aha…look closer! :D

nrhatch - May 24, 2012

Exactly! When I paint, I use whatever color pallet appeals . . . often defying the laws of physics.

I’ve painted purple pigs, green cats, flying mermaids, turquoise palms, and pink snowmen. So much more fun than realism. :D

souldipper - May 24, 2012

Yay FREEDOM!!


What Say YOU?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,098 other followers

