jump to navigation

Orchids, Bromeliads, and Epiphytes April 27, 2012

Posted by nrhatch in Art & Photography, Mindfulness, Nature, Travel & Leisure.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

I don’t have a tripod . . .  

Or any fancy photographic equipment . . .

Just a Pentax Optio point-and-shoot . . .

That slips into my purse or pocket . . .

But when you have willing subjects . . .

Gorgeously arrayed . . .

Brilliantly blooming . . .

In showy display . . .

When everywhere you look . . .

You find something else to gaze at or into . . .

When the kaleidoscope of colors . . .

Mesmerizes . . .

And entices . . .

Sometimes . . .

That’s all you need . . .

Aah . . . that’s better! 

Quote:  I try to leave out the parts that people skip. ~ Elmore Leonard

Related posts:  Weekly Photo Challenge ~ Together (WP Prompt) * Aah . . . That’s Better! (Photos from Selby Gardens)

Comments»

1. Andra Watkins - April 27, 2012

Ah, orchids. One of my very favorite flowers, Nancy. Thank you for sharing these lovely photos today.

nrhatch - April 27, 2012

These are still just the tip of the iceberg. The Selby Gardens caused me to point and shoot 126 times in 3 hours.

Everywhere I turned, something caught my eye. :shock:

2. sweetdaysundertheoaks - April 27, 2012

PrettyPrettyPretty pictures Nancy. It isn’t the camera, it’s the picture taker!

nrhatch - April 27, 2012

And . . . the subject matter being captured. :D

sweetdaysundertheoaks - April 27, 2012

Absolutely!

nrhatch - April 27, 2012

Like a barn . . . that looks like a red-headed dame . . . with an up-flipped do. :lol:

3. 2e0mca - April 27, 2012

Lovely display of flowers.

nrhatch - April 27, 2012

Thanks, Martin. The Selby Gardens are a delight to behold ~ an oasis of peace amidst a sea of confusion.

4. Booksphotographsandartwork - April 27, 2012

A feast for the eyes! I really like the orchids in the last photo.

nrhatch - April 27, 2012

That group really wowed me too, Linda. So I saved “the best” for last. :D

5. nuvofelt - April 27, 2012

What beautiful pictures, and perfect for the challenge. Thanks for sharing.

nrhatch - April 27, 2012

Thanks, nuvofelt! I posted it BEFORE the challenge appeared in my in-box, but it seemed to fit . . . so I linked it up. :D

nuvofelt - April 27, 2012

And why not! Absolutely perfect.

nrhatch - April 27, 2012

Thanks! I enjoyed picking the “cream of the crop” (culled from 126 shots) to share.

6. Paula Tohline Calhoun - April 27, 2012

You are right! All we have to do is keep our eyes open! It’s easy to miss beauty when you don’t look for it, and then when you do, you can be overwhelmed with what’s out there (and in there, too). I got a great shot of some orchids at Cypress Gardens in SC last September.

nrhatch - April 27, 2012

I remember your gorgeous shots from SC last fall. A subject worth sharing.

Paula Tohline Calhoun - April 27, 2012

Just another effort on my part at totally shameless self-promotion! :cool:

nrhatch - April 27, 2012

For good reason!

Enter the photo challenge today, PTC . . . Together!

7. Jas - April 27, 2012

nice clicks… I was about to sleep but I am glad I clicked the post cause now I will have all the flowery dreams.. :)

nrhatch - April 27, 2012

Sweet flowery and fragrant dreams, Jas! :D

8. sufilight - April 27, 2012

Oooh, how nice. Enoyed the tour! Which reminds me to get more plants for our house. :)

nrhatch - April 27, 2012

Thanks, Marie. We used to have indoor houseplants . . . I tired of “dusting them.” Now, I plant plants outside and allow Mother Nature to do the dusting. :D

9. suzicate - April 27, 2012

Absolutely lovely! Fabulous subjects, indeed!

nrhatch - April 27, 2012

Thanks, Suzi! If you and Dirt Man ever make it this far south, I highly recommend Selby Gardens as a stop off.

10. Arindam - April 27, 2012

Beautiful pictures of flowers.

nrhatch - April 27, 2012

Thanks. Glad you enjoyed. I had a tough time picking and choosing which to post and which “cuttings” to leave on the floor.

11. Catherine - April 27, 2012

It looks like you went to the US Botanical Garden! I went there last month and I loved the orchid display.

nrhatch - April 27, 2012

The Marie Selby Botanical Gardens in Sarasota FL ~ lots of gorgeous orchids, wildflowers, bonsai, banyons, cacti, bromeliads, and epiphytes. :D

Catherine - April 27, 2012

Oh, nice! Thanks for sharing!

nrhatch - April 27, 2012

Glad you enjoyed . . . and that it brought back happy memories of your visit to the US Botanical Gardens. :D

12. barb19 - April 27, 2012

Beautiful, willing subjects, all giving their glorious best! Who needs a fancy camera?

nrhatch - April 27, 2012

What I love best about photography is its pull . . . encouraging me to pause and really FOCUS on things that catch my eye.

13. jannatwrites - April 28, 2012

What are the big, mostly white with purple flowers in photo 7? I love those and haven’t seen them before!

126 photos in 3 hours – I’m impressed :)

nrhatch - April 28, 2012

I shot photo #7 in the conservatory, but I paid more attention to the blooms on the flowers than the tags which “labeled” them.

Selby Gardens has one of the largest collections of orchids in the world ~ something like 2,000 varieties, both live and dried.

My camera had a work out. Not all 126 photos are share-worthy. Many are redundant because I wanted to capture the shot in question.

I look forward to seeing more of your photos from Hawaii. I thought of your 800 photos as I wandered the Gardens.

14. Three Well Beings - April 28, 2012

Tropical beauty! How lovely :-) I can’t decide which one I like best. They make a lovely collection! I’d say excellent photography! Debra

nrhatch - April 28, 2012

Thanks, Debra. Posts like this are like an on-line memory bank or photo album. Down the road, I can type “Selby Garden” into the “search” feature and re-visit the day.

15. bluebee - April 28, 2012

Beautiful tropical treats, and I love the Elmore Lenard quote

nrhatch - April 28, 2012

Isn’t that a great quote . . . when we clear away the extraneous, our thoughts come through loud and clear. :D

16. Naomi - April 28, 2012

Gorgeously gorgeous – thanks for sharing all this beauty, Nancy :-)

nrhatch - April 28, 2012

Thanks, Naomi. You and Dave would have had a “field day” wandering around the grounds.

We encounted a stationary leopard (lawn statuary) . . . much less challenging to shoot than African rhinos, elephants, hippos, crocs, snakes, and lions. :shock:

17. eof737 - April 28, 2012

Gorgeous flowers; especially the last one.

nrhatch - April 28, 2012

That’s my favorite flower capture of the day. Thanks, E!

18. Sandra Bell Kirchman - April 28, 2012

Love the flowers…and the line “poem” that accompanied them :)

nrhatch - April 28, 2012

Thanks, Sandra. I figured the flowers would speak volumes all by themselves. :D

19. cuhome - April 28, 2012

Absolutely gorgeous! Orchids ~ some so delicate, others almost scary! Amazed how many varieties there are!

nrhatch - April 28, 2012

Same here, Janet. What amazing diversity and splendor on this fragile planet. :D

20. Team Oyeniyi - April 28, 2012

I love orchids too. They have such an amazing variety of colours. I like the rich purple one the best.

nrhatch - April 28, 2012

I didn’t think that I would enjoy them as much as I did . . . they are Show Stoppers, for sure.

21. jakesprinter - April 28, 2012

Stunning Photo

nrhatch - April 28, 2012

Thanks, Jake.

22. jeanne - May 1, 2012

bromeliads are my favorite tropical plant…thanks for sharing your photos.

nrhatch - May 2, 2012

Gorgeous gardens with thriving plants in tropical splendor . . . you would love it.


What Say YOU?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,104 other followers

