jump to navigation

Circular Motion vs. Linear Progression April 25, 2012

Posted by nrhatch in Life Balance, Mindfulness, Synchronicity & Mystery.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

HorseracingIf you’re running around in circles, it doesn’t matter how fast you run . . . you’ll never get THERE from HERE.

Slow down.
Take a step back.

Assess the situation.
Gather necessary information.

Avoid wasting time & energy with knee-jerk reactions.

Take one step at a time.

The way will teach you the way . . . as the path unfolds before you.

When we LISTEN . . . anything in life can be our guide.

Aah . . . that’s better!

Comments»

1. sweetdaysundertheoaks - April 25, 2012

Yes!

nrhatch - April 25, 2012

Will we go round in circles?
Or will we fly high like a bird up in the sky? :cool:

2. Lisa Wields Words - April 25, 2012

One step at a time, is the only way to move.

nrhatch - April 25, 2012

When I first got Tigger’s Dx on Saturday, I just “sat with the info” for a day before starting to research natural cures, etc. I think it helped me “conserve energy.”

We seem to be turning a corner . . . we’ll know more tomorrow.

3. Andra Watkins - April 25, 2012

I hope my putting one foot in front of the other is leading me in a somewhat straight line. :)

nrhatch - April 25, 2012

Sometimes life’s a roller coaster
Moving up and down
Other times, it’s a ferris wheel
Going round and round

But today I’m filled with peace
As I take time to . . . breathe, relax, and repeat.

Aah . . . that’s better!

4. 2e0mca - April 25, 2012

It’s funny how coincidence occurs… I’m about to write about going round in circles ;-)

Amen to no knee-jerk reactions – that’s a managerial prerogative!

nrhatch - April 25, 2012

What we need is a reminder sign:

Press *PAUSE* for assistance. ;)

5. suzicate - April 25, 2012

Well said! Running around in circles gets you no where but where you started…and really,really tired!

nrhatch - April 25, 2012

Monday seemed like the loop-de-loop at the State Fair. Yesterday, I stepped back, re-assessed and felt much better.

Today . . . was GRAND. :D

6. terry1954 - April 25, 2012

sounds like the merry go round. u get on but it is much harder to get off. great blog!

nrhatch - April 25, 2012

Yes, exactly. Good to get off and watch it go round and round.

Aah . . . that’s better!

7. sufilight - April 25, 2012

A good message for me. I am paying attention to what you wrote and listening!

nrhatch - April 25, 2012

The faster I go . . . the longer it takes me to arrive.

If I take it slow, I almost always bump into a shortcut that saves me TIME and ENERGY. Aah . . . that’ better.

8. thirdhandart - April 25, 2012

I’m listening. Thank you for the much needed guidance, Nancy.

nrhatch - April 25, 2012

Thanks, Theresa! We’ve had a trifecta of sweet synchronicities in the past 2 days ~ perhaps the Universe wanted me to know we’re headed in the right direction. Hope so.

9. kateshrewsday - April 25, 2012

It’s the avoiding knee jerk reactions I always find hardest…

nrhatch - April 25, 2012

I find that knee-jerk reactions quickly multiply the task at hand ~ as soon as you do one thing, two more things pop into view . . . then four . . . then eight.

The exponential progression quickly frazzles nerves. Taking a GIANT step back allows us to focus on the entire forest again, instead of remaining lost in the trees.

10. Three Well Beings - April 25, 2012

I’m chuckling…it took me nearly 1,000 words to say what you just did–brilliantly and with brevity! And I agree with Kate…I really do have to work at the knee jerk part. Good mid-week reflection! Debra

nrhatch - April 25, 2012

Thanks, Debra.
You’re prolific . . . I’m lazy. :lol:

Can’t wait to swing by and take a peek.

11. aawwa - April 25, 2012

A great reminder – thank you!
Lorraine

nrhatch - April 25, 2012

As Simon and Garfunkle would sing . . .

Slow down, you move too fast.
You’ve got to make the morning last.
Just kicking down the cobblestones.
Looking for fun and feeling groovy!

12. Crowing Crone Joss - April 25, 2012

The way does indeed teach us the way and often simply the next thing.

nrhatch - April 26, 2012

It amazes me how often the answer or information I need appears on the horizon . . . as soon as I “slow down” and pay mindful attention to THIS moment.

13. Jas - April 26, 2012

I hope you have broken the loop and found the direction…

nrhatch - April 26, 2012

Thanks, Jas. We slowed down enough to allow the path to unfold before us. Aah . . . that’s better!

14. barb19 - April 26, 2012

You stepped back from your worries of the last few days and now you are feeling the benefit – a prime example because sometimes we can’t see the wood for the trees. Our bodies tell us what to do but we don’t always listen.
I hope Tigger is improving.

nrhatch - April 26, 2012

Two hours until we round up the little guy and head over to the vet. We are cautiously optimistic that his fever AND his blood glucose reading will BOTH be headed in the right direction.

15. bluebee - April 26, 2012

Yes, those circles give one a distinct feeling of deja vu :) and same old, same old. It takes work to eradicate that “haven’t I been here before?” syndrome

nrhatch - April 26, 2012

It does take work ~ “the more things change . . . the more they stay the same.”

Plus ça change, plus c’est la même chose

16. eof737 - April 28, 2012

Love that hair do… You know, the fried look above. Forget about running in circles, I could rock that look for the summer. :lol:

nrhatch - April 28, 2012

I love using that graphic . . . and you would definitely rock that look! :D

17. Perfecting Motherhood - April 30, 2012

Funny, I just had a discussion with a counselor this morning about that. She actually helped me to find a place to start, instead of going around in circles and not accomplish what I want to do.

nrhatch - April 30, 2012

Sometimes just picking ONE THING to focus on makes all the difference.

One + One + One + One -> Tons more DONE!

Perfecting Motherhood - May 1, 2012

She had some great advice by telling me to take money out of the equation and just focus on letting the creative juices flow. It’s going to be a challenge but this is the only advice I’ve heard so far that’s motivated me to start tackling my projects. It’s always nice to talk to someone with an outside perspective, to help you get unstuck.

nrhatch - May 1, 2012

Taking money out of the equation is an essential part of MANY key life decisions ~ that’s what I had to do BEFORE deciding to leave the practice of law.

I highly recommend the book, Your Money Or Your Life:

Perfecting Motherhood - May 1, 2012

Thanks for the book recommendation, I’ll check it out.


What Say YOU?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,024 other followers

