jump to navigation

Where’s the ESC Key? April 12, 2012

Posted by nrhatch in Health & Wellness, Nature, People, Poetry.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

1: At about 100 m. reserve canopy suddenly unpacks and opens 2: Skydiver decides not to cut away the main canopy, because there is a risk the main will tangle with the reserve. Reserve canopy goes forward and strikes the main canopy. 3: Skydiver fights for main canopy. Main and reserve canopies assume biplane position (one of two possible positions when both canopies can work) Photograph by Dmitry A. Mottl

Memories erased
By a hard drive malfunction

A lifetime abased
Software keeps crumbling

Circuits and synapses fried
No longer firing

Fumbling thoughts
Stumble

Mental acuity
Tumbles

And takes a nosedive

Nothing

Free

About

This

Fall

Where’s the Escape key?

* * * * *

Need a laugh?   The New Alphabet for Seniors (Passionate About Pets)

Illustration:  Wikipedia ~ Malfunction (Parachuting) (Creative Commons License)

Comments»

1. BrainRants - April 12, 2012

I was going to make a joke about the “any” key but realized this isn’t about a computer, is it?

nrhatch - April 12, 2012

No. But life is better with laughter . . . always! :lol:

BrainRants - April 12, 2012

Well, damn. About all I can do is laugh for you and with you.

nrhatch - April 12, 2012

Thanks, Matt!

2. cuhome - April 12, 2012

The wonderful thing about poetry is that it can be applied in the most valuable and meaningful way, determined by the reader’s perspective. This poem can mean so many things, and each reader will create value for themselves, unique to themselves. Thanks, Nancy.

nrhatch - April 12, 2012

My thoughts exactly, Janet. That’s why I love poetry:

http://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2012/03/06/the-value-of-what-we-write/

3. CMSmith - April 12, 2012

Very poignant and scary. I can relate in a very real way, as I suspect you know.

nrhatch - April 12, 2012

Yes, I thought this would “hit home” for you if you read it ~ so many people are witness to the rapid aging of parents, siblings, and spouses.

Welcoming new life is much more better than watching the other end of the spectrum. For me, at least.

4. Andra Watkins - April 12, 2012

Stop. This sounds like me. :)

nrhatch - April 12, 2012

Hardly. You appear to be of sound mind and body . . . except for the clumsy bits, of course. ;)

5. Piglet in Portugal - April 12, 2012

I wish my Mum could have a new memory card. How simple life would be if we could just replace parts as they fail us.

nrhatch - April 12, 2012

Yes! Snap out . . . Snap in.
Or just recharge the batteries. ;)

I don’t want to live forever . . . but I want to be compos mentis as long as I’m here. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Non_compos_mentis

Piglet in Portugal - April 12, 2012

Unfortunately, there is nothing wrong with her batteries, just her mind. (I think she would be an excellent advert for the Duracell brand of batteries becuse she just keeps on going)

I spoke to her yesterday on Skype and it was heartbreaking her memory is shot away.

Well, if we lose our minds at least our blogs will be a legacy of our better days for our families.

nrhatch - April 12, 2012

Yes! And maybe re-reading old posts will give our memories a “jump start” when they start to slip.

6. Jas - April 12, 2012

beautiful analogy.. :)

nrhatch - April 12, 2012

Thanks, Jas. Here’s to being awake, alert, and alive.

7. sufilight - April 12, 2012

This pulled at my heart strings. I think of my Mom and the many people whose mind has declined. Very nice analogy!

nrhatch - April 12, 2012

Thanks, Marie. It’s hard to witness the decline. If you need a laugh, I just added a link to a post on the “lighter side” of aging.

sufilight - April 12, 2012

Just read your new post. It’s good to be light, as an example I purchased Snoopy bandaids and have one on in my pinky as I have a small paper cut. I like it! :)

nrhatch - April 12, 2012

That’s awesome. I’m going to get “kiddie band-aids” the next time I shop.

The link above to Barb’s blog ~ the alphabet for seniors ~ is great. Funny, and true.

8. Carl D'Agostino - April 12, 2012

The warden has that key.

nrhatch - April 12, 2012

If only they could be “paroled” for good behavior. :)

9. barb19 - April 12, 2012

This is very appropriate for me this morning Nancy. I wish I had an Escape Key for my mother; she has just taken another turn for the worse. She will be 92 next week – if she makes it.
btw – thanks for the shout out.

nrhatch - April 12, 2012

Sorry, Barb. It’s hard watching our loved ones fading away.

I’m glad you had a chance to visit with your mom and family in Scotland last year.

barb19 - April 12, 2012

For that, I am truly thankful.

nrhatch - April 12, 2012

You both looked so happy in the photos. Good memories.

10. viviankirkfield - April 12, 2012

Beautiful poem, Nancy! Yes, modern medicine has done wonders for keeping us alive…but only our bodies…they don’t know yet how to keep the mind alert and active.

nrhatch - April 13, 2012

No, they don’t. I expect that fresh air, sunshine, exercise, laughter, and chocolate ;) help to keep cobwebs out of the attic.

11. souldipper - April 13, 2012

Oh gawd, may we all escape! Oh, wait a minute…we do! :D

nrhatch - April 13, 2012

Exactly. We should have an ESC key . . . so we can exit stage left when we have had ENOUGH.

12. Three Well Beings - April 13, 2012

It is hard to watch…the synapses slowing down, even in really healthy aging parents! And then there is the reality that in time it will be my turn, too. And I’m sure I will wonder where my escape key is! Debra

nrhatch - April 13, 2012

My parents’ parents (even those who lived into their 90′s) maintained their mental faculties to the finish line ~ maybe their DNA hadn’t been compromised by a lifetime of exposure to pesticides, insecticides, herbicides, and other environmental pollutants?

Or maybe they were just lucky? No way to know.

Three Well Beings - April 13, 2012

My thought exactly on the pesticides chemical exposure. We had an occurrence here in CA that still disturbs me, and I thought I might share about it soon…maybe for Earth Day. I try not to be so loud I frighten others, especially over things they can’t control directly, but I personally feel such a sense of concern for the children. Here I go again…breathe deep…exhale… :-)

nrhatch - April 13, 2012

When corporations put PROFIT ahead of WELL-BEING, the Earth and its inhabitants PAY THE PRICE.

Sounds like a great post for Earth Day . . . any day.

13. wightrabbit - April 13, 2012

A thought provoking analogy – cleverly thought out. Thank you :)

nrhatch - April 13, 2012

Thanks, Jacqueline. Wish aging were like parachuting . . . so we could pull a rip chord and slow the descent.

14. sweetdaysundertheoaks - April 13, 2012

At first, I thought your puter had pooped out. Duh! I clicked over and read the Senior’s alphabet. :lol: And found that lilies were poisonous for kitties. Had no idea.

sweetdaysundertheoaks - April 13, 2012

No lol for the lily sentence!

nrhatch - April 13, 2012

The senior alphabet had me nodding along. Oh, what we have to look forward to. :D

Pet owners need to be careful about plants and pets ~ some of them are lethal.

15. bluebee - April 13, 2012

You describe it so well – it’s decay all the way.

nrhatch - April 13, 2012

Thanks, BB. We need a dentist for the mind (e.g., a mentist) who can get in there to address our mental decay by filling cavities and doing “bridge work.”

16. Pocket Perspectives - April 14, 2012

Remarkably enough….my mother’s software seems to be improving the past few weeks…circuits and synapses seem to be firing appropriately…(except she seems to have moments where she thinks her bed is on a chair lift at a ski area…)…but generally improvement over a few months ago. There is some well intentioned, but confusing, multiple medicating going on with some seniors and the side effects are hard to distinguish from senility…but any improvements are happy signs…

nrhatch - April 14, 2012

That’s great, Kathy. Glad you’re seeing some improvement. On a lighter note, I hope she doesn’t fall out of bed . . . that would be a L~O~N~G way down! ;)

Pocket Perspectives - April 15, 2012

yup…now THAT would be a fall!

nrhatch - April 16, 2012

Bombs Away! :shock:

17. eof737 - April 22, 2012

Great photo and scary too. Skydiving ain’t for me. ;-)


What Say YOU?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,742 other followers

