jump to navigation

Photo Challenge ~ Contrast March 9, 2012

Posted by nrhatch in Art & Photography, Blogs & Blogging, Nature.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Walking into the library one sunny afternoon, I saw a shadow out of the corner of my eye . . . the sharp contrast between plant, wall, and spiked shadow captured my attention:

A few days later, we attended a cocktail party for alumni of my alma mater at the Tampa Bay Aquarium.   Most of the photos I shot through the glass ended up on the cutting room floor . . . but the contrast between dark water and these glow-in-the-dark jelly fish encouraged me to keep this one: 

I also kept one depicting the contrast between slow waters . . . and fast fish:

And this rooftop shot depicting the contrast between night sky and night lights:

Aah . . . that’s better!

Related post:  Weekly Photo Challenge ~ Contrast (WP Prompt)

Comments»

1. Ruth - March 9, 2012

nice! I especially like the third one: slow water, fast fish – gorgeous photo, Nancy

nrhatch - March 9, 2012

Thanks, Ruth. The aquarium was a terrific venue for the alumni gathering . . . nothing like drinking cocktails with sharks swimming overhead. Ooh . . . barracuda!

2. Andra Watkins - March 9, 2012

I really like the glowing jelly fish.

nrhatch - March 9, 2012

An entire tank was filled with them . . . so mesmerizing to watch as they drift to and fro on unseen currents.

3. sufilight - March 9, 2012

My favorite one is the slow water and fast fish. It’s almost like a painting where I visualize the artist changing moods as he/she paints… :)

nrhatch - March 9, 2012

Yes, I see what you mean ~ after painting rocks and reef sitting in silent stillness, the artist added a few flying fish . . . zip . . . zip . . . zip! :D

4. thirdhandart - March 10, 2012

I love them all Nancy! It was very perceptive of you to capture the first photo. Most people would probably have noticed the very interesting shadow, but then quickly rushed on by. Great entry! :-)

nrhatch - March 10, 2012

Thanks, Theresa. Having a small digital camera in my purse makes it easy to grap snapshots on the go. And knowing that I’m not wasting film or paying to develop unusable prints allows me to play around and experiment.

At other times of the day, as the sun moved through the sky, that plant would probably create ever more interesting shadows.

5. Maggie L R - March 10, 2012

A lot of contrasts, I love the spiky plant and its shadows. good set of contrasts.

nrhatch - March 10, 2012

Thanks, Maggie! That plant stopped me in my tracks ~ something that would never have happened a few years ago. The more “in the moment” I am . . . the more open my eyes are to the wonders of the world. :shock:

6. Three Well Beings - March 10, 2012

Great shots! I have tried and tried to capture interesting photos at the Long Beach Aquarium, and they never really impress. These are really nice! Debra

nrhatch - March 10, 2012

Oh, Debra . . . if you had seen the dismal collection of photos from that evening you would have confiscated my camera! Horrid shot after horrid shot. But I’m glad I kept shooting because these cropped shots appeal to me.

Keep on shootin’ . . . :)

7. Piglet in Portugal - March 10, 2012

I like the second photo best. they look like creatures from outer space!

nrhatch - March 10, 2012

They do! Imagine sitting outside on a dark moonless evening and having a few of these come floating by. YOWSA! That would wake you up! :shock:

8. eof737 - March 10, 2012

Quite dramatic and I love the underwater shots too. :-)

nrhatch - March 10, 2012

Thanks, E! I’m not a very serious photographer, but if I shoot bushels of photos and cull through them, I often end up with 1-2 decent shots. :D

9. sweetdaysundertheoaks - March 10, 2012

Great captures Nancy! I love the fish and your night lights shot. Excellent pictures for “contrast”!

nrhatch - March 10, 2012

The themes this year have been interesting amorphous concepts ~ a bit like jelly fish. Quite the contrast from last year’s prompts. :D

10. kateshrewsday - March 10, 2012

These are beautiful, Nancy :-) Some thought provoking contrasts here.

nrhatch - March 10, 2012

Thanks, Kate. I’ve been working on our taxes (ugh!) and taking a break from numbers to play with pretty pictures seemed just the thing for yesterday’s post.

Enjoyed your story continuation . . . although I cannot imagine photographing anyone engaged in that particular endeavor. ;)

kateshrewsday - March 10, 2012

I think the only kind of person who might is someone who has dollar signs firmly in their eyes in place of stars, Nancy, and a firm grip of divorce law?. Your comment made me laugh :-D Bringing the bishop to his knees indeed

nrhatch - March 10, 2012

Men of the cloth (outside the vestry . . . sans vestments) are as carnal as the rest of us, eh? ;)

Reminds me of The Thorn Birds.

11. nuvofelt - March 10, 2012

There are some lovely and unusual entries this week, and those above are some of them.

nrhatch - March 10, 2012

Thanks, nuvo. These amorphous themes allow free rein to interpretation.

I haven’t been participating much . . . but playing with photos gave me a much needed break from working on taxes. :roll:

nuvofelt - March 10, 2012

I know the feeling :(
I keep looking for displacement activities too…..

12. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide - March 10, 2012

That first is my favorite. It’s like Dr. Suess!

nrhatch - March 10, 2012

It is rather Seussian, isn’t it? With hints of a Truffula tree. :D

13. jakesprinter - March 10, 2012

Beautiful entry for contrast my friend :)

nrhatch - March 10, 2012

Thanks, Jake. I’ve been hanging out with my sister all day and haven’t been around to see many other contrasting posts. I’ll swing by tomorrow.

14. What a Contrast a Cloche Makes – Weekly Photo Challenge: Contrast. « Hurtled to 60 and Now Beyond… - March 11, 2012

[...] Photo Challenge ~ Contrast (nrhatch.wordpress.com) [...]

15. LonelyTravelog - March 11, 2012

I like the jelly fish photo!

nrhatch - March 11, 2012

Thanks. I did get a few decent shots of those amorphous denizens of the deep.

16. Naomi - March 11, 2012

Lovely images, Nancy…what a treat! This brings to mind a long ago photographic exercise that focussed on texture – at the zoo, but no animal photo’s allowed. Great creative angle :-)

nrhatch - March 11, 2012

Thanks, Naomi. What a terrific exercise . . . visit the zoo . . . do NOT photograph the animals.

Definitely an assignment designed to make one think outside the box.

17. pix & kardz - March 12, 2012

very cool clicks – the first one could be wallpaper. as in the oldfashioned kind, pasted onto physical walls – not on the computer. although it would look great there, too, come to think of it.
 
thanks for sharing :)

nrhatch - March 12, 2012

Old Oriental wall coverings with bamboo, perhaps?

18. frizztext - March 12, 2012
nrhatch - March 12, 2012

Thanks for the link up, Frizz.

19. spilledinkguy - March 12, 2012

Wonderful photos, Nancy!
The first one feels almost painterly to me… it would be right at home next to a Hockney!
I really like the underwater worlds you’ve captured, too… particularly the jellyfish… so cool!
And I’m a big fan-o-cityscapes, so the last one is right up my alley too! Awesome! :)

nrhatch - March 12, 2012

Thanks, SIG! Glad you enjoyed.

I find that the weekly themes narrow our focus while expanding our creative horizons. :D

20. island traveler - March 13, 2012

Beautiful, fun, exciting. Thanks for sharing a post that breathes adventure under the sea….have a lovely day.

nrhatch - March 13, 2012

Thanks, islandtraveler . . . nothing like living where land and sky greet the sea, eh?!

21. Perfecting Motherhood - March 14, 2012

I like your jelly fish. I’ve never tried to take a picture of some but you inspire me to.

nrhatch - March 15, 2012

Next time you’re at the Aquarium, give it a go. These jelly fish really did “glow in the dark.”


What Say YOU?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,009 other followers

