jump to navigation

Music Monday ~ Alanis Morisette November 21, 2011

Posted by nrhatch in Happiness, Music & Dance, People, Spirit & Ego.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

A wonderful song about being in the NOW . . . accepting things as they are and ourselves as we are:

Another about resisting the pull of the myths that we’ve been trained by society to accept as true.  Once we reject these Precious Illusions, we stop being victims of life . . . and start LIVING life:

And once we’re all in the NOW . . . accepting each other as we are . . . maybe we’ll find Utopia:

Be Here Now.

Comments»

1. LittleMissVix - November 21, 2011

I love Alanis!!

nrhatch - November 21, 2011

She is an incredibly wise singer-songwriter with a beautiful voice and a message worth hearing.

I’ve learned lots from listening to her lyrics.

2. Andra Watkins - November 21, 2011

I’ve always loved the strength of her music.

nrhatch - November 21, 2011

Her lyrics are full of spiritual truth . . . the recognition that we are complete as and where we are. :D

3. Tori Nelson - November 21, 2011

One of my favorites :)

nrhatch - November 21, 2011

When Jagged Little Pill came out, I bought copies of the CD for about 10 of my co-workers. She has very powerful thoughts and insights about life, love, and the pursuit of happiness.

spilledinkguy - November 21, 2011

Still an awesome album! :)

nrhatch - November 21, 2011

The Universe gave me a little wink tonight . . .

For Happy Hour, I ran my fingers over our CD’s in the dark and pulled one out at random. Yup! Jagged Little Pill. :shock:

After that, I listened to Under Rug Swept.

4. l0ve0utl0ud - November 21, 2011

Great to see that you’ve created your own Music Monday! Thank you for sharing these songs with us – I like Alanis Morisette although it’s been a long time since I’ve listened to her music. It’s a chance to rediscover her songs :)

nrhatch - November 21, 2011

I’ve been doing Music Monday for about two months now. It’s been FUN to choose an artist and songs each week. :D

5. colonialist - November 21, 2011

Good choice! I like her harmonica insert in the top one.

nrhatch - November 21, 2011

I love harmonica inserts ~ Blues Traveler did some amazing work with harmonica:

6. kateshrewsday - November 21, 2011

A lovely collection, Nancy :-)

nrhatch - November 21, 2011

Thanks, Kate. Glad you enjoyed.

7. sufilight - November 21, 2011

This is lovely. I have not listened to her music or lyrics before. Will be sharing in Facebook. :)

nrhatch - November 21, 2011

Her vision of Utopia is so wonderful . . . and so attainable. All we need do is live in the NOW and let the concerns of Ego fade away. Once we are connected to the source, we no longer compete . . . we cooperate.

8. thirdhandart - November 21, 2011

Love the song, “Hand in my Pocket”. Alanis Morisette has one beautiful, strong voice.

nrhatch - November 21, 2011

She does, indeed. And the Universe gave me a little wink tonight. For Happy Hour, I ran my fingers over our CD’s without peeking and pulled one out at random.

Yup . . . Jagged Little Pill.
After that, I listened to Under Rug Swept.

9. jannatwrites - November 22, 2011

I had Jagged Little Pill, too. I do laugh when some of her songs are “cleaned up” on the radio. I think that draws more attention to the lyrics than if they’d just left it alone :)

nrhatch - November 22, 2011

Yeah . . . what’s so bad about *$#@ing, anyway? ;)

10. Cindy - November 22, 2011

She’s a powerful songwriter, I remember being blown away when ‘Jagged little pill’ came out.

nrhatch - November 22, 2011

Same here. Song after song grabbed my attention.

11. Tammy - November 22, 2011

I’m with Cindy. I was really taken with her when Jagged little pill came out. Love that you’ve highlighted her here. Her lyrics are almost haunting.

nrhatch - November 22, 2011

She has a way with words. :D

12. granny1947 - November 22, 2011

I would comment if I could hear the darn songs at work!!!

nrhatch - November 22, 2011

Sorry you can’t hear them. Maybe later . . .

13. Team Oyeniyi - November 22, 2011

She has always been a favourite of mine. Good choice! :)

nrhatch - November 22, 2011

I listened to Jagged Little Pill and Under Rug Swept back to back last night and enjoyed every song.

14. eof737 - November 23, 2011

Excellent choices…. Alanis is such a breath of fresh air… love her music too. :-)
Have a Happy Thanksgiving weekend! :-)

nrhatch - November 23, 2011

She’s definitely got a head on her shoulders . . . as well as a style all her own.


What Say YOU?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,122 other followers

