jump to navigation

Journey Into Healing November 5, 2011

Posted by nrhatch in Books & Movies, Health & Wellness, Meditation.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

In Journey Into Healing ~ Awakening the Wisdom Within You, Deepak Chopra, M.D., shares page after page of concise insights worthy of consideration.  A few of my favorites:

* The cause of disease is often extremely complex, but one thing can be said for certain:  no one has proved that getting sick is necessary. [p. 20]

* We all create scenarios and then become convinced by them, down to our very cells.  [p. 37]

* Vedic verse declares, “The inner intelligence of the body is the ultimate  and supreme genius in nature.  It mirrors the wisdom of the cosmos.”  This genius is inside you, a part of your inner blueprint that cannot be erased. [p. 51]

* Every cell is a miniature terminal connected to the cosmic computer.  [p. 52]

* Just one year ago, 98 percent of the atoms in our bodies were not there.  It’s as if we live inside buildings whose bricks are being systematically taken out and replaced.  [p. 60]

* We have a pharmacy inside us that is absolutely exquisite.  It makes the right medicine, for the precise time, for the right target organ ~ with NO side effects. [p. 69] 

* Science declares that we are physical machines that have somehow learned to think.  Now it dawns that we are thoughts that have learned to create a physical machine.  [p. 72]

* When the mind is peaceful, inner energies wake up and work miracles for us ~ without any conscious effort on our part. [p. 77]

* When we experience pure silence in the mind, the body becomes silent also.  And in that field of silence, healing is much more efficient.  [p. 97]

* If the nervous system were purified of stress, then it would only express Being, which is always life-supporting because its nature is bliss.  [p. 106]

* The use of love is to heal.  When it flows without effort from the depths of the self, love creates health.  [p. 111]

* One’s inner sense of “me” is built up of images from the past, all the fears, hopes, wishes, dreams, loves, and disappointments one calls “mine.”  However, if you strip all these images away, something of “me” is still left: the decision maker, the screen, the silent witness.  [p. 124]

* An intimate relationship is one that allows you to be yourself.  [p. 138]

* The deepest reality you are aware of is the one from which you draw your power.  [p. 140]

In addition Chopra shares tips for Mindfulness Meditation,  concluding that section by stating:

If you stay rested, take care of yourself, and take time to commit to meditation, you are bound to get in touch with your inner self.  You will tap into the cosmic mind, the voice that whispers to you nonverbally in the silent spaces between your thoughts.  This is your inner intelligence, and it is the ultimate and supreme genius that mirrors the wisdom of the universe.  Trust this inner wisdom and all your dreams will come true.

Aah . . . that’s better!

Related post:  Enjoy The Ride (Crowing Crone)

Comments»

1. Maggie - November 5, 2011

Every cell is a miniature terminal connected to the cosmic computer. [p. 52]

An intimate relationship is one that allows you to be yourself. [p. 138]

Those are my favorite quotes from this post. And I believe that good thoughts and prayer (if you believe in prayer) work wonders when it comes to healing.

nrhatch - November 5, 2011

The book is full of intriguing insights ~ perfect for pondering.

What is prayer . . . if not LOVE? What is LOVE . . . if not healing?

2. Cindy - November 5, 2011

‘Love creates health’ is possibly the truest of all the statements.

nrhatch - November 5, 2011

“The deepest reality you are aware of is the one from which you draw your power.” :)

3. Carl D'Agostino - November 5, 2011

This is “Science and Health”, Mary Baker Eddy (Christian Science) all the way. I am not an adherent but it’s on my nightstand for whenever I need that spiritual boost.

nrhatch - November 5, 2011

One’s inner sense of “me” is built up of images from the past, all the fears, hopes, wishes, dreams, loves, and disappointments one calls “mine.” However, if you strip all these images away, something of “me” is still left: the decision maker, the screen, the silent witness.

Namaste. _/!\_

4. Just A Smidgen - November 5, 2011

I love these quotes, I’ll have to pick this book up, it really reflects so many of my own personal beliefs. (Love your Namaste.. _/!\_

nrhatch - November 5, 2011

Thanks! I borrowed it from Debra at The Blue Lotus Cafe.

I have yet to read anything by Deepak Chopra that didn’t resonate with me, at least in part.

This book is a collection of observations he has made in his other books . . . one thought per page which makes them perfect for further reflection and meditation.

5. SidevieW - November 5, 2011

I never liked Chopra. Undertones of “I am great so you will listen to any rubbish I will spout”

nrhatch - November 5, 2011

I love his approach . . . because it marries Western medicine with Eastern philosophy.

But he’s not everyone’s cup of . . . Vedic wisdom.

6. Ruth - November 5, 2011

“[N]o one has proved that getting sick is necessary.” Good one!

nrhatch - November 5, 2011

That one opened my eyes too, Ruth.

Maybe some illnesses are “set in stone” or “mandated by our genes” . . . and maybe not.

7. kateshrewsday - November 5, 2011

He’s onto something, I think. The link between mind and body is stronger and more complex than many of us would care to admit.

nrhatch - November 5, 2011

I think that’s it exactly. At one point, everyone believed that the world was flat. It wasn’t. We learn more about the mind and the world and our metaphysical reality every day.

I am open to the possibility that we will continue to unlock the mysteries of the universe and develop increasing control over our health and well-being through the thoughts we think . . . or don’t think. :D

8. Ronnie/Hurtled to 60 - November 5, 2011

This links in well with the stress awareness day on Tuesday, which I have just blogged about. I need to investigate meditation

nrhatch - November 5, 2011

On my blogroll, you’ll find Happiness links to . . . meditation, Deepak Chopra, The Dalai Lama, etc.

Meditation is good for what ails us . . . especially if we want to reduce self-created stress.

9. Team Oyeniyi - November 5, 2011

* An intimate relationship is one that allows you to be yourself. [p. 138]

That’s my favourite.

This one I am striving for: * When the mind is peaceful, inner energies wake up and work miracles for us ~ without any conscious effort on our part. [p. 77]

nrhatch - November 5, 2011

When I meditate consistently, I feel better, more peaceful, and more in tune with the synchronicities of life. Life seems less of an effort when we are “in the flow.”

Team Oyeniyi - November 6, 2011

Most definitely!

10. sufilight - November 5, 2011

Deepak Chopra is one of my favorite authors. The quote on love caught my attention because I am reading “Healing and Recovery” by Dr. David Hawkins who is a former psychiatrist who is deeply spiritual, healed himself of over 22 diseases and he talks about the power of belief and of Love. He says when one is in the energy field of love healing can take place because it’s a very high energy.

The body is amazing isn’t it? Imagine having a pharmacy within. Wow.

nrhatch - November 5, 2011

I believe that . . .

When I meditate by focusing my awareness on LOVE or KINDNESS or COMPASSION . . . I feel a connection to a powerful energy field. I feel tapped into the source of all.

11. bluebee - November 5, 2011

That silent witness has a lot to answer for ;-)

nrhatch - November 5, 2011

;)

12. Julie - November 5, 2011

I really appreciate these snippets because after reading too Deepak Chopra books, I found I just cannot connect with his writing style and decided not to read any more – even though I am very interested in the topics he writes about and believe him to be an important spiritual teacher.

So thanks for the Cliff Notes version!

nrhatch - November 5, 2011

Each of us must tune in to “teachers” who resonate with us, as and where we are.

If his writing style does not appeal to you, it’s probably because you’re not in his “intended audience” . . . at least right now.

I love listening to him speak . . . the cadence of his voice is very reassuring to me. I also love listening to the Dalai Lama, for the same reason. I’m attuned to the vibration of their voices. :D

13. ElizOF - November 6, 2011

An intimate relationship is one that allows you to be yourself…. I like this line as it is true for me and I bet for many of us. I meditate regularly and the workshop I’m taking includes several meditation sessions… I don’t care about Chopra’s all your dreams will come true line but I understand the hyperbole…. Great post Nancy! :-)

nrhatch - November 6, 2011

I got a fortune in a cookie once ~ You will live a happy and peaceful life.

That’s my dream.

14. granny1947 - November 6, 2011

Thanks for this NR. Wendy has read it and taken down the name. We will be buying the book!

nrhatch - November 6, 2011

I hope she enjoys it. It’s very soothing, with one thought per page to contemplate, quietly. :D

15. adeeyoyo - November 6, 2011

He’s a very wise man!

nrhatch - November 6, 2011

He strikes me that way. He told a story one new year where his sons prayed for “more uncertainty” . . . because in uncertainty lies all possibility.

How many of us embrace “known certainty” rather than reaching out to explore possibilities inherent in uncertainty?

Explore. Dream. Discover.

16. sweetdaysundertheoaks - November 6, 2011

* If the nervous system were purified of stress, then it would only express Being, which is always life-supporting because its nature is bliss. [p. 106] Yes! : )

nrhatch - November 6, 2011

We we find ways to neutralize stress . . . we promote health.

Aah . . . that’s better!

17. viviankirkfield - November 6, 2011

Deepak Chopra…my husband and I have just about every book he has written! His observations and recommendations are so commonsense…why don’t we all just do it…as Nike says!

I guess because: humans tend to make life more complicated than it really is; we can’t believe something so simple like getting enough restful sleep or drinking pure water or taking a few minutes each day to clear our mind or eating healthful food could “fix” many of our medical issues; people seem to want to hold on to hurts and negative feelings and resentment instead of letting go of the past, forgiving and making room in their cells for positivity and healing.

Thank you so much, Nancy…I do love your posts!

nrhatch - November 6, 2011

Thanks, Vivian. Right back at you!

We do complicate our lives . . . filling them to the brim with non-essentials while putting the essentials on the back burner.

When we eat right and sleep right . . . we feel ALL RIGHT! ;)

18. l0ve0utl0ud - November 6, 2011

I love Deepak Chopra. I read The Ultimate Happiness Prescription: 7 Keys to Joy and Enlightenment, and there were many ideas in there that changed my outlook on life. I enjoyed reading the quotes you posted…the last one has inspired me to go and do some medidation and yoga :)

nrhatch - November 6, 2011

Throughout his presentations (in books and videos) is the underlying theme of How To Be HAPPIER! A topic that is near and dear to my heart.

19. Holiday Stress and How to Renew, Relax and Rejuvenate « Positive Parental Participation - November 6, 2011

[...] Add to that the upcoming gift-giving holidays and you increase the stress level exponentially.  Our expectations of what the holidays should be often conflict with our finances and our available time and energy and we are doomed to disappointment.  Letting go of the past can definitely help.  For more information and great tips from Deepak Chopra, read a recent post from a great blogger, Nancy at Spirit Lights the Way. [...]

nrhatch - November 6, 2011

Thanks, Vivian. Seeing Holiday Ads on TV in early October creates Holiday Stress for many.

We picture having a perfect holiday filled with love and laughter but we’re so busy shopping that our expectations diminish as frustraton mounts.

Reminding ourselves of our TRUE priorities helps us bring things back into balance.

20. TheIdiotSpeaketh - November 6, 2011

Sounds like an uplifting book. I will have to check it out. :)

nrhatch - November 6, 2011

It’s very calming and soothing . . . which feels very healing.

21. CMSmith - November 9, 2011

I think it’s interesting how the cells in our bodies replace themselves. I didn’t know it happened so rapidly. But the “brains” or “plans” behind it all remain the same, just duplicated, hopefully without flaw.

I like Deepak Chopra.

nrhatch - November 9, 2011

The rapid replacement of cells may ultimately provide us with a fountain of youth.


What Say YOU?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,099 other followers

