jump to navigation

Birthday Greetings To . . . ME! July 13, 2011

Posted by nrhatch in Bulletin Board, Fun & Games, Humor, Special Events.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

I’ve received Birthday Greetings (and coupons!) from Coldstone Ice Cream, AMF Bowling Lanes, Phillippi Creek Seafood, and Beef O’Brady’s:

I’ve received e-greetings from Busch Gardens, my auto insurer, my bank, and my Alumni Association:

Every time I open my e-mail, another greeting awaits . . .  reminding me that I’m a year older and not a whole lot wiser.

Putting a positive spin on things . . . I’m still far too young to receive a Birthday Greeting from The President!

Quotes to Ponder: 

* About the only thing that comes to us without effort is old age.

* Looking fifty is great . . . if you’re sixty. ~ Joan Rivers

* Despite medical advances, there is still no cure for the common birthday.

* Inside every older person is a younger person wondering what the hell happened. ~ Cora Harvey Armstrong

Tigger-Pogo

* Birthdays are good for you ~ the more you have, the longer you live.

* A diplomat is a man who always remembers a woman’s birthday, but never her age. ~ Robert Frost

* Old age isn’t so bad when you consider the alternative. ~ Maurice Chevalier

* If I’d known I was going to live this long, I’d have taken better care of myself. ~ Ubie Blake

Tigger-Bouncing

* Just remember, once you’re over the hill you begin to pick up speed.

* No wise man ever wished to be younger. ~ Jonathan Swift

* A man who views the world at fifty the same as he did at twenty has wasted thirty years of his life. ~ Muhammad Ali

No rules.  Just write!

Prompted by today’s WP prompt,  WP Daily Prompt ~ The Stat Connection, I just checked my top 3 posts.  This post, the 2nd most popular post on SLTW, continues to be an all-time favorite.  As of today, it’s garnered 7,013 views.

My birthday is 7-13!  How cool is that!

I love the little wink from the Universe that prompted me to check it when I did. If I had checked it yesterday or waited until later today or tomorrow, I would not have seen the 7013.

 

Comments»

1. Tilly Bud - July 13, 2011

Happy birthday! I hope you are going to do something you love today. Thanks for the great quotes.

Enjoy your day xx

nrhatch - July 13, 2011

Thanks, Tilly! I’m at a wonderful place in my life right now ~ I get to do things that I love each and every day.

Here’s to living a life that we love and loving the life that we live!

2. gitikapartington - July 13, 2011

ye ye happy birthday
you have done a lot in the last year
just look at all the blog comments and breathe them in
and thats just part of your year
have a good day x

nrhatch - July 13, 2011

I’ve had a wonderful year (and a wonderful life) because it led me to THIS moment.

On with the dance! Let joy be unconfined. ~ Lord Byron

3. SoapBird - July 13, 2011

Happy Birthday! :) Hope U have a FANTASTIC day! U deserve it! :)

nrhatch - July 13, 2011

Thanks! Here’s to making the most of the moment . . . always and all ways. :D

4. Cindy - July 13, 2011

Happy birthday again :)

nrhatch - July 13, 2011

Thanks . . . again!

Today, I shall be extravagant and messy, spilling sloppy smiles through all the rooms of my life in every minute of every hour. :cool:

5. SuziCate - July 13, 2011

Gotta’ admit birthdays sure as heck beat the alternative! Here’s to the birthday girl! Hope it’s a happy one…don’t forget we’re having a toast to both our bdays! What’s your pleasure?

nrhatch - July 13, 2011

Hmm . . . anything but gin. ;)

I propose a toast to diving into life (right here, right now) with reckless abandon.

Damn the torpedos . . . full steam ahead.

6. misswhiplash - July 13, 2011

When you get REALLY old ‘like what i is’ then you will definitely know that you are getting older

HAPPY BIRTHDAY! SPRING CHICKEN!

nrhatch - July 13, 2011

Thanks, MWL! I would NOT voluntarily return to any point in my past . . . my experiences in life have led me to THIS DOOR. And, quite frankly, I’m enjoying the view from this vantage point.

Who I am is who I want to be . . . whee! :D

7. Barbara Gunn - July 13, 2011

My deceased father-in-law used to say- Never get old! …and the alternative is?
Happy Birthday to someone who is always growing!!

nrhatch - July 13, 2011

Getting older has set me free. I care far less about what other people think about how I choose to live MY life. And, best of all, I like the person I have become.

I have finally reached a point where I can smile . . . even when I make mistakes. It’s all good.

8. Lisa (Woman Wielding Words) - July 13, 2011

Happy Birthday! I wish you a year full of joy, love, and happiness. I’m sure that will happen because you have such a wonderful attitude toward life.

nrhatch - July 13, 2011

Thanks, Lisa. Here’s to finding joy, love, happiness and sweet surprises around every bend in the road. :D

9. Richard W Scott - July 13, 2011

Happy Birthday, Nancy. But, erm… wait a minute. Didn’t you do this about a year ago? Careful, now… ))

nrhatch - July 13, 2011

Thanks, Rik. I know what you mean. It seems like just yesterday that I celebrated turning “21” . . . now I’m “21+” (and holding). ;)

10. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide - July 13, 2011

Happy Birthday!

nrhatch - July 13, 2011

Thanks, Rufus. A slice of that limoncello tiramisu would be perfect for my birthday dessert!

http://rufusguide.wordpress.com/2011/07/13/tiramsu/

11. Maggie - July 13, 2011

Happy birthday, Nancy! Have fun and enjoy! :)

nrhatch - July 13, 2011

Thanks, Maggie. I’m having FUN.

We went to Phillippi Creek for lunch ~ a lobster reuben with caribbean slaw, hush puppies and fat fries. And a white sangria with lots of yummy fruit. Now I’m ready for my Birthday NAP. :D

12. granny1947 - July 13, 2011

Happy,happy,happy birthday,my friend.
May the year ahead be filled with love and happiness.

nrhatch - July 13, 2011

It’s headed in that direction, Granny. Thanks so much. :cool:

13. souldipper - July 13, 2011

Hey Nancy, At our time of life, we can celebrate that a lot of the training is under wrap. Happy Birthday Encore.

nrhatch - July 13, 2011

That’s how I’m feeling right now . . . like I’m ready to “coast” for a bit. I wonder if that’s because I’m “over the hill” and on the downhill run? If so, I’ll be picking up speed even while coasting.

14. kateshrewsday - July 13, 2011

Happy birthday, Nancy. I can’t help noticing the dog in your cartoon looks extremely worried about that ice cream going to his hips. Would that Macaulay was as calorie conscious :-D Hope you have had a great day.

15. Tien - July 13, 2011

Happy birthday Nancy! Many happy returns to you :)

nrhatch - July 13, 2011

Thanks, Tien. It’s good to see you blogging (and baking!) again. Hope you made good progress on your thesis.

16. Rosa - July 13, 2011

Happy Birthday, Nancy! Loved this one “Birthdays are good for you ~ the more you have, the longer you live.”

Rosa - July 13, 2011

May you have many more birthdays!!

nrhatch - July 13, 2011

Thanks, Rosa! I had FUN picking out some age related words of wisdom. That’s one of the best. ;)

17. Booksphotographsandartwork - July 13, 2011

Happy Happy Birthday! Whew I made it just in time. Hugs.

nrhatch - July 14, 2011

Thanks, Linda. It was a very happy birthday. :D

18. jannatwrites - July 14, 2011

Happy birthday! I didn’t know you’re birthday was in July, too. Great month, eh?

nrhatch - July 14, 2011

Indeed! Lots of wonderful people celebrating birthday this month ~ you, me, Suzi, my sister, Sharon’s hubby, Cindy’s daughter, etc.

Par~Tee! ;)

19. viviankirkfield - July 14, 2011

Well, it’s still the 13th here in Colorado…so Happy Happy Birthday, Nancy. I”m so glad I’ve met you and have the opportunity to enjoy your humor and wisdom…yes, you have both in abundance!!!

nrhatch - July 14, 2011

Thanks, Vivian. My sense of humor sustains me . . .

Wine improves with age
Age improves with wine
Life improves with laughter :razz:

20. William D'Andrea - July 14, 2011

Happy Birthday Nancy!

nrhatch - July 14, 2011

Thanks, William. I had a terrific day . . . with not a care in the world weighing me down.

21. flyinggma - July 14, 2011

I’m a day late but Happy Birthday Nancy. Wish I were close by to help celebrate. I love birthdays and Chevalier’s quote. I’ve used it often when others complain about getting older.

My personal favorite is ” Anyday you start above the ground is a good day!”

nrhatch - July 14, 2011

Thanks, Jeanne. One of my bestest birthdays ever! Not because of what we did . . . but because of how I felt inside. Absolutely positively HAPPY!

I hope the silence in your empty nest becomes less deafening. Change is tough . . . but inevitable. Without change, we stagnate and become “mucky.” ;)

22. gospelwriter - July 14, 2011

Happy Birthday, Nancy! And many more, too…

nrhatch - July 14, 2011

Thanks, Ruth. I had a wonderful day that could not have been a single drop happier. :D

23. Sandra Bell Kirchman - July 14, 2011

Woohoo, happy birthday, Nancy! I, for one, am glad you were born :D

My philosophy is…my positive thoughts keep me young. Love and laughter keep me happy. All the rest is irrelevant.

Love ya, gal!

Sandra Bell Kirchman - July 14, 2011

P.S. I forgot to mention that this quote is the one I really relate to – who knew I’d reach 70!!

“If I’d known I was going to live this long, I’d have taken better care of myself.” ~ Ubie Blake

nrhatch - July 14, 2011

Thanks, Sandra! Yesterday, it feel good just to be alive.

On with the dance! Let joy be unconfined. ~ Lord Byron

24. barb19 - July 14, 2011

Happy Birthday to you! ♪♫• ♪♫¸¸.•*¨*•☆ Love the quotes.
Sorry to be a little late Nancy.

nrhatch - July 14, 2011

Thanks, Barb. Wonderful birthday . . . I smiled ALL DAY. :D

25. therealsharon - July 14, 2011

Hope you had a happy birthday! Sorry I’m late saying so

nrhatch - July 14, 2011

No problem. Hope you had FUN celebrating Chad’s birthday!

26. Christine Grote - July 17, 2011

Lucky 13! Happy birthday–late.

nrhatch - July 17, 2011

Thanks, Christine. I had a wonderful day. :D

27. eof737 - July 17, 2011

A very HAPPY HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY BLESSING coming your way! Sorry I missed your special day but you got lots of coverage from the usual suspects and more… Added joy and happiness to you Nancy! :-)
E

nrhatch - July 17, 2011

Thanks, E! I had a HAPPY day on Wednesday and a good week since. :)

28. You Were Born To Succeed - January 27, 2012

Happy Birthday, Nancy! I agree with the Beatles. I hope you enjoy your day.

nrhatch - January 27, 2012

Thanks, Nancy!

29. You Were Born To Succeed - January 27, 2012

Well, I feel stupid. I neglected to read the date of your post. I have to laugh at myself or I will cry. Maybe you can save it til July.

nrhatch - January 27, 2012

Don’t feel stupid. Being kind is NEVER a waste of time! I shall have an extra piece of chocolate tonight to celebrate your early birthday greetings! ;)

30. pix & kardz - February 20, 2012

My favourite is the one about birthdays being good for you, and the more you have, the longer you live. In fact, if you hadn’t posted it, I would have shared it.
 
Anyhow it is nowhere near your Bday but I just bumped into this post. Have a great day today! :D

nrhatch - February 20, 2012

Thanks, Kris! Over the years, I’ve expanded birthday celebrations to “birthday week” and even “birthday month” (for the milestones). Maybe I should expand still further to . . . “It’s my Birthday Year!”

What a great excuse for eating C~H~O~C~O~L~A~T~E!

pix & kardz - February 20, 2012

haha, bring it on! :D

nrhatch - February 20, 2012

P~A~R~T~E~E!

31. Zen and Genki - May 1, 2012

Happy birthday, indeed!
Loving your blog!
anne

nrhatch - July 22, 2013

Thanks, Anne. This post continues to be an all-time favorite of visitors. Prompted by today’s WP prompt, I just checked my top 3 posts . . . this one has garnered 7,013 views.

And my birthday is 7/13! Cool! :cool:

Zen and Genki - July 23, 2013

That IS cool! And that IS a whole lotta views! (On a different note, I’d say you should play 7 and 13 on the next lottery ticket you pick up :))

nrhatch - July 23, 2013

That’s an idea! Good to see you “out and about.” Your blog has been quite quiet.

32. Russel Ray Photos - May 22, 2012

Happy belated birthday!

nrhatch - July 22, 2013

Thanks, Russel! Today’s WP Prompt:

Go to your Stats page and check your top 3-5 posts. Why do you think they’ve been successful? Find the connection between them, and write about it.

When I got there, I saw that THIS is the 2nd most popular post on SLTW. As of today, it’s been viewed 7,013 times. Cool . . . my birthday is 7-13! :mrgreen:

I love the little wink from the Universe that prompted me to check it when I did. If I had checked it yesterday or waited until later today or tomorrow, I would not have seen the 713.


What Say YOU?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,057 other followers

