jump to navigation

Mmm . . . Sushi! July 4, 2011

Posted by nrhatch in Amazing Animals, Humor, Mindfulness, Nature.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

IMGP0677One day, while taking a quick break on the deck, a lone anhinga entertained me with its incredible prowess in catching, tossing, and swallowing fish from the lagoon, both wings tucked behind its back.

Look, mon, no hands!

The anhinga, also called a snakebird, patrolled the edge of the lagoon until it saw a fish.  Then, with snake-like speed and precision, it would dive, catch the fish, emerge, stick its long slender neck into the air, toss the fish up, throw back its head, grab the prey, and swallow it.

Unlike people who’ve had too much to drink before attempting to catch flying tidbits of food (like peanuts or popcorn) in their gaping mouths at cocktail parties, this bird caught every fish it tossed into the air.  Not a single morsel missed its mark or flew outside its intended arc after being tossed airborne by the bird’s long slender bill.

As it swam clockwise around the perimeter of the lagoon, the bird performed its mealtime mission with great success ~ locating fish every few feet with a  staccato-like rhythm: dive, catch, emerge, toss, tilt, grab, swallow, and repeat.

Perhaps the most amazing part of the spectacle occurred when this fabulous fisherman saw me watching him.

After smacking its bill closed on a small silver fish, it looked me straight in the eye, and murmured, “Mmm . . . sushi,” before diving into the pool for its next “peanut.”

Quote: Take only photographs, leave only footprints. ~ Jim Corbett (Early Conservationist)

No rules. Just write.

What about you?  Do you enjoy Sushi . . . or do you think it’s for the birds?

Related post:  If We Could Talk To The Animals

Comments»

1. Tilly Bud - July 4, 2011

lol :) I didn’t expect that ending :)

nrhatch - July 4, 2011

Glad you enjoyed. :D

2. Debra - July 4, 2011

Happy 4th Nancy. a safe one :)

Yes, that was a surprise ending!

nrhatch - July 4, 2011

Thanks, Debra. Had a nice visit with my sister’s family. Hope to see some fireworks tonight.

3. Cindy - July 4, 2011

Hehehe … I love sushi (sashimi is best though).

nrhatch - July 4, 2011

I’ve eaten vegetarian “sushi” but never with raw fish. I’ll leave the raw fish eating to the birds. :D

4. Maggie - July 4, 2011

Now that made me want some sushi!

nrhatch - July 4, 2011

If you get some . . . ENJOY! :D

5. Richard W Scott - July 4, 2011

Yow, Nancy! The title of this one really caught my attention. Of course YOU don’t eat shushi.

nrhatch - July 4, 2011

You are correct. Other than some “sushi” with rice, veggies, and seaweed wrappers, I’ve never had sushi. I also won’t eat ceviche . . . no matter how many times I’m told that the seafood is “cooked” with the lemon juice. :D

6. Paula Tohline Calhoun - July 4, 2011

I adore sushi! That’s what I had from the (good and reputable) Asian buffet on Ashley’s birthday. I love all the different savories that are combined with the rice and the fish/seafood. Our son Josh, the Japanese speaking and former college student in Japan introduced me years ago, and I have never looked back. I love to add little strips of pickled ginger to the top and dip the roll-slice into soy sauce mixed with some wasabi. Can really clear out your sinuses!

Love watching Anhingas! Back when Ashley worked at a summer camp in Florida, (Camp Glissen), he had the responsibility one summer of feeding an ailing anhinga at their little animal sanctuary. He had to hold its neck straight, and put the fish in its mouth, then hold the beak closed and literally force the fish down its long throat in the same manner you try and get all the toothpaste out of a nearly empty toothpaste tube. He said it was the meanest creature he had ever seen or known, and took every opportunity to bite that he could. Of course, Ashley knew it was sick, and it did get better, but I have a feeling if the two were ever to meet again, there would be no love lost. . .

By the way, I don’t know why I wasn’t surprised at the ending. Seemed logical to me. . . :mrgreen:

nrhatch - July 4, 2011

I love pickled ginger and wasabi . . . but only with rice and veggie rolls. No raw fish for me.

Glad that Ashley managed to get the anhinga back “on its feet.”

If someone tried to force raw fish down my throat . . . I’d try to bit them too! :mrgreen:

7. Vix @ LittleMissEverything - July 4, 2011

No sorry not a fan of sushi, I guess I imagine it to be really slimey :)

nrhatch - July 4, 2011

I’m with you, Vix. Raw fish doesn’t appeal to me. I’d rather eat plain rice. :D

8. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide - July 4, 2011

Such a funny title. I wasn’t expecting to see that, but when you’re right you’re right!

nrhatch - July 4, 2011

The birds around here are fans of fins! :D

9. adeeyoyo - July 4, 2011

Bwahahaha, love the bird’s comment! :lol: Not a sushi fan at all. :(

nrhatch - July 4, 2011

I’m with you, Denise. I’d eat a plate of unadorned white rice before I’d voluntarily eat raw fish.

10. kateshrewsday - July 4, 2011

Stunning bird with excellent taste in food and a succinct, brief style I could grow to like.

nrhatch - July 4, 2011

They are fun to watch . . . even if one is not inclined to dine with them. :D

11. souldipper - July 4, 2011

Nancy, you speak for me! I’d be no competition for that handsome snakebird. Pass the rice, please!

nrhatch - July 5, 2011

Mmm . . . rice and veggies! ;)

12. jannatwrites - July 5, 2011

Never had sushi and I plan to keep it that way…leaves more for the bird! (Oddly enough, my older son does like it. Probably because he likes to watch me control my gag reflex as he eats it.)

That bird would have been entertaining to watch. The efficiency of wildlife is amazing – they know what they have to do to survive. Thanks for the fun read!

nrhatch - July 5, 2011

Kids (of a certain age) enjoy torturing their parents ~ makes them feel powerful and “in control.” ;)

I enjoy watching wildlife ~ predator and prey complete the circle of life.

13. Tammy - July 5, 2011

I do love it but haven’t had it in ages. But did go to the coolest bird sanctuary today in Oregon. Lots of cool falcons, hawks, owls and eagles.

nrhatch - July 5, 2011

Awesome. We have some gorgeous hawks around here ~ they prefer frog’s legs to fish. :mrgreen:

14. therealsharon - July 5, 2011

I have tried sushi a couple of times and it just wasn’t for me.
Hope you had a happy 4th of July! :)

nrhatch - July 5, 2011

The fireworks last night on the beach . . . SPARK-tacular! {{BOOM}}

15. SidevieW - July 5, 2011

it just goes to show, that sober you can catch airborn food better than you can drunk

nrhatch - July 5, 2011

Exactly! :mrgreen:

16. Naomi Estment - July 5, 2011

LOVE this post, Nancy! I’ve not heard of the anhinga before, but have watched others a lot like it doing a similar thing. It was astonishing once to see how many fish a relatively small bird could swallow before taking off gracefully, shedding droppings in the process :-)BTW, belated Happy 4th of July!

nrhatch - July 5, 2011

Thanks, Naomi. We had a fun-filled fourth!

Anhingas are often mistaken for cormorants, and vice versa. Not sure that either are found in South Africa. They are both excellent at fishing for dinner.

17. eof737 - July 7, 2011

You are too funny! I wonder what your reply was? Hmmmm … stir fry? LOL! :-)

nrhatch - July 7, 2011

Stir Fry works . . . and woks. :mrgreen:


What Say YOU?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,063 other followers

