jump to navigation

8.9 Earthquake & 30-foot Tsunami March 11, 2011

Posted by nrhatch in Gratitude, Mindfulness, Nature.
Tags: , ,
trackback

During lunch today, we stared transfixed in horror at the videos taken in Japan during and immediately after the earthquake and tsunami that struck there today.  From AOL News:

The biggest earthquake to hit Japan since records began almost 150 years ago smashed into the country’s northeast coast today, triggering tsunamis up to 23-feet high that swept away boats, cars and homes and killed hundreds of people.

Hours later, the waves hit Hawaii, but did not cause major damage.

To read more:  Massive Tsunami Devastates Japan * California Braces for Waves

Need something to include in your Gratitude Journal for today?  How about, “I was not swept away in a tsunami.”  Or, “My house was not reduced to rubble in an earthquake.”

If you are warm and dry, don’t forget to say “thanks.”

Think Simple Now:  Prayer For Healing

Creating Magic:  A Candlelight Video Prayer for Japan

Comments»

1. Jackie Paulson 1966 - March 11, 2011

Amazing coverage, thanks, Don’t have a tv. My video does not work either. :(

nrhatch - March 11, 2011

Count your blessings, Jackie. Thousands, perhaps millions, of folks in Japan no longer have a TV . . . or a house to put it in.

nrhatch - March 11, 2011

I just saw your comment over on Mirth and Motivation, Jackie.

Thanks for the blessings that you sent out.

2. Maggie - March 11, 2011

Say a prayer for them… or if you don’t pray, send positive thoughts.

nrhatch - March 11, 2011

I’ve been sending waves of prayer their way since I saw the first image.

According to the Weather Channel, the power of an 8.9 earthquake is 3000 times that of the 1989 San Francisco earthquake which registered 6.9 on the Richter Scale.

3. Alannah Murphy - March 11, 2011

I don’t watch TV or listen to the radio but I found out, as soon as clicked into Twitter. Amazing thing about technology, and it allowed me to check on two people I have gotten to know virtually, both of them in Japan. Both were fine, but thousands are not, and my heart goes out to them and their families.

nrhatch - March 11, 2011

I only know one person in Japan, but we are all so connected today. My heart goes out to residents of the affected areas.

4. kateshrewsday - March 11, 2011

Indeed. I feel they’ll need our help soon. We can only wait, I think.

nrhatch - March 11, 2011

True, Kate. We can send our thoughts and prayers, then watch and wait.

We watched videos shot during the earthquake in a Tokyo grocery store and our mouths dropped open. I’ve never seen anything like it. Amazing footage. Even more amazing that someone thought to record the wreckage instead of cowering in a corner.

5. Debra - March 11, 2011

yes …om mani padme hum….for all concerned.

prayers were all over twitter and FB this morning. Technology can be good at times.

Fb allowed me to find out my son is well. He is in Korea but still it was good to know he is well.

always happy to have what i have and be who I am and live this day. again….om mani padme hum.

nrhatch - March 11, 2011

Debra, so happy to hear that your son is OK.

I know that you care about all sentient beings, but certain beings are closer to our hearts than others.

6. oldancestor - March 11, 2011

My company has an office there that was damaged by the quake, but no flooding, as far as we know yet. Word is that everyone is fine, but I’ll wait for independent confirmation. My wife also has a cousin who lives there.

nrhatch - March 11, 2011

Thanks, OA. Hope that you both continue to hear positive news from Japan.

7. barb19 - March 11, 2011

It was awful seeing the images on TV of the Japan earthquake and the following tsunami, and my heart goes out to the people affected. They will be in my prayers.
What is going on in the world lately with natural disasters? We had the devastating floods here in Australia, followed by cyclones, more floods, then the massive earthquake in New Zealand, killing hundreds of people.

nrhatch - March 11, 2011

It is awful, Barb.

My thought: The Earth is trying to get us to “clean up our act.”

oldancestor - March 11, 2011

It’s because of the massive explosion in population over the past 50 years. World population has more than doubled in that time. There are more and more people living in the path of natural disasters.

Earthquakes and other natural events happen all over the planet all the time, bur usually we don’t hear about it because the event took place in a remote area. As more people set up camp in more places, natural events become natural disasters.

nrhatch - March 11, 2011

Good point, OA.

We do tend to crowd the coastline where the effects of tsunamis and hurricanes are more pronounced.

And, inland, the effects of earthquakes and tornadoes are more pronounced where populations are concentrated in cities and high rises.

8. oldancestor - March 11, 2011

Although I wouldn’t blame Earth if she were unhappy with us.

nrhatch - March 11, 2011

We’re a bunch of parasites . . . killing our home and host one species at a time.

9. Carol Ann Hoel - March 11, 2011

We haven’t turned on the news yet. How awful! Tsunamis are the worst thing I can imagine. Yes, we are grateful to be resting safely in this land for now. My heart goes out to the people in Japan. Blessings to you, Nancy…

nrhatch - March 11, 2011

I know that you’ll keep them in your heart and prayers, Carol Ann.

Sorry to be the bearer of sad news, but I didn’t want to let such a catastrophic event pass without reflection.

10. eof737 - March 11, 2011

Hi Nancy, I’m sad about events in Japan… lots and lots of memories from my time there and the folks I know who live there…We’ve had students live with us, one of my kids speaks the language. Prayers all around.
Elizabeth

nrhatch - March 11, 2011

It was terrible to watch even without that type of connection.

I’ll be around shortly to read your post.

Peace.

11. Cindy - March 11, 2011

It’s too tragic, have been watching on CNN and Sky News :(

nrhatch - March 11, 2011

It’s been a hard day on the Planet.

I can’t even imagine what those affected must be dealing with tonight.

12. Tsunami Slams Northeast Japan « adroed - March 12, 2011

[...] 8.9 Earthquake & 30-foot Tsunami (nrhatch.wordpress.com) [...]

13. Tilly Bud - March 12, 2011

I felt like crying all day. I can’t begin to imagine how those poor people must be feeling.

nrhatch - March 12, 2011

Sorrow for the suffering of others can be a doorway to compassionate thoughts and acts of kindness. Peace.

nrhatch - March 17, 2011
nrhatch - March 17, 2011

What Say YOU?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,926 other followers

