jump to navigation

‘Twas The Week Before Christmas December 17, 2010

Posted by nrhatch in Humor, Special Events.
Tags: ,
trackback

2013-12-05 19-49-08_0036‘Twas the week before Christmas
And shoppers were frazzled
The mall, once so alluring,
No longer dazzled

Displays of ties and sweaters
Looked forlorn and threadbare
Picked over baubles and thneeds
Were strewn everywhere

Tempers flared during the endless
Store to store shuffle
“Merry” and “Bright” got lost
In the hustle and bustle

But I heard them exclaim
As they drove off with their loot
“Next year will be different ~
I’ll give . . . shopping the boot!”

Inspired by Side View’s weekend theme challenge.  For more contributions, please visit:  Weekend Theme ~ ‘Twas The Week Before Christmas

Related posts:  I Need A ThneedThose Alluring Lures * You Better Stop Shopping Around

For a fun Craft Idea filled with Advent Activities:  Christmas Advent Jar

Comments»

1. Loreen Lee - December 17, 2010

T’was the week before Christmas
And all through the mall
There was hustle and bustle
From counter to stall.
The shoppers were huddled
Round sweaters and shirts,
Not thinking how much
The cost of it hurts.
When out of the speakers
What should I hear
“A sale on galoshes”.
That were priced so dear.
(I forget the original of next part- have to leave it out – fill in please.)
On pay-pal, On Visa,
On credit, on loan,
On check, and cash only,
Can’t wait to get home.
For they heard me exclaim
As I ran from their sight.
Next year, Merry Christmas,
But I’ll put up a fight.

nrhatch - December 17, 2010

Thanks, LL!

We do love to over-extend ourselves during the Holly Daze. :)

2. Julie - December 17, 2010

Cute! I’ve tried hard not to overextend myself, but I can’t help feeling anxious about the house not being ready, gifts not being wrapped or sent, Christmas cards to get done, etc.

Deep breaths and caffeine help a lot!

nrhatch - December 17, 2010

Thanks, Julie

If you are so inclined, the link to the challenge is first up of the Related Posts.

Keep breathing!

3. Carol Ann Hoel - December 17, 2010

This reminds me of too many last minute shopping trips, like on Christmas Eve! However, as much as I was sorry I had to shop (oh so sorry for myself), the bargains were unbelievable. Blessings to you…

nrhatch - December 17, 2010

Every year, I do less shopping than the year before. This year, I never once set foot in the mall. Maybe we’ll go on Christmas Eve just to watch the last minute frenzy. ;)

Blessings to you, too!

4. Ollin - December 17, 2010

Nice!

nrhatch - December 17, 2010

‘Tis the season to spend money . . .

5. gospelwriter - December 17, 2010

I’ve mostly given shopping the boot at this time of year but occasionally I have to brave the crowds – it’s crazy out there! Nice take on the theme…

nrhatch - December 18, 2010

We lived near a mall in NJ and the parking lot overflowed from Black Friday until New Year’s.

First with purchases . . . then with exchanges.

Loved your Christmas Week reflections.

6. Paula Tohline Calhoun - December 18, 2010

Interesting . . .we both managed to use the word “frazzled” in our Weekend theme posts! I did a poem too – similar to yours. Love what you did! (And I didn’t read your entry until I had posted mine!):-D

nrhatch - December 18, 2010

Frazzled . . . the antithesis of Peace.

Sidey’s theme schemed POEM to me (given the classic, ‘Twas the Night before Christmas).

Shall be around to your poem shortly.

7. kateshrewsday - December 18, 2010

I LOVE the store-to-store shuffle :-D Brilliant version, Nancy….

nrhatch - December 18, 2010

Thanks, Kate.

That’s the stanza that I fiddled with the most ~ shuttling the “shuffle” and the “hustle and bustle” back and forth while eliminating extraneous syllables clogging up the works. :)

8. Cindy - December 18, 2010

No thneeds this year, but I did indulge and get myself a lovely basting brush, that’s all …

nrhatch - December 18, 2010

Writers and cooks need thneeds of the trade! ;)

9. Joanne - December 18, 2010

For me it’s been like going vegan — a process that is done in stages… Each year I decide what I can eliminate the following year… and I prepare myself with new mental dialogue and comebacks to ward off the evils — real or imagined — of societal pressure to conformity…

This past week I had the pleasure of covering a teacher’s class one day for two periods at a middle school where I had been long-term subbing… The sub’s favorite lesson plan to follow is “push play”… The teacher had me showing his students “Christmas With The Kranks” (Tim Allen & Jamie Lee Curtis)… I had never seen it before that day, but it was hilariously relevant to this post :D

nrhatch - December 18, 2010

Christmas with the Kranks is quite amusing ~ I’m sure that giggles filled the room! :)

And I agree . . . it’s easier if you peel back the layers one at a time.

10. 4minutewriter - December 19, 2010

I managed to set foot in a mall only twice this time around. It makes Christmas feel so much more relaxed.

nrhatch - December 19, 2010

Doesn’t it? When I was younger, I enjoyed trolling the mall, store to store, looking for hoodinkies and whatzamajiggets.

Now, I’m more interested in Reducing, Reusing, Recycling, De-Cluttering, Donating, Streamlining, Simplifying . . .

My gifts this year were to the Earth (planting trees) and “mathoms.”

A mathom (a custom created by Tolkien to keep the Hobbit Holes de-cluttered) is an object of any value which the current owner does not need but which others could put to good use.


What Say YOU?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,065 other followers

