jump to navigation

Building A Mystery June 21, 2010

Posted by nrhatch in Music & Dance, Writing & Writers.
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
trackback

Rik’s post, A Musical Note: Tim Buckley ~ Sweet Surrender, transported me from cyber post to cyber point. 

After reading Rik’s wise words, I watched Tim Buckley sing Sweet Surrender on YouTube . . . which reminded me how much I enjoy listening to Sarah sing her version of Sweet Surrender . . . which made me pause to watch Sarah tickle the ivories on Angel . . .

Which led me around to Sarah singing Building A Mystery with its talk of vampires, voodoo dolls, ghosts in the halls, sandals in the snow, know-it-all grins, smiles that won’t wash away, and looking out the window without our shadows getting in the way: 

You come out at night
That’s when the energy comes
And the dark side’s light
And the vampires roam
You strut your rasta wear
And your suicide poem
And a cross from a faith that died
Before Jesus came
You’re building a mystery

Here’s Sarah singing Building A Mystery ~ something most of us do, day by day, as we live our lives:

In uncertainty lies all possibility . . .

Comments»

1. Richard W Scott - June 21, 2010

I’ve never heard this. Can’t imagine how I’ve missed it.
Thanks for this!

nrhatch - June 21, 2010

Sarah is one of my favorite singer-songwriters.

She and Enya elevate me from terra firma to the stars no matter my mood before I tune in.

They . . . Paint The Sky With Stars.

2. cindy - June 21, 2010

I’d never heard it either, thanks Nancy.

nrhatch - June 21, 2010

Glad you enjoyed.

Sarah is an amazing person ~ founder of Lilith Fair, musician, songwriter, and someone devoted to raising awareness to issues of import.

She will probably have an encore (or two) in the months ahead.

3. deepercolors - June 21, 2010

♥ I love Sarah too. I also wrote a poem after listening to this one and watching the homeless, etc. on 4th street in downtown San Jose.
See my poetry page on my blog. Arms of the Angels.

4. cuhome - April 4, 2012

You’ve been nominated for the Tell Me About Yourself Award! Please see my blog for details! Congratulations!

nrhatch - April 4, 2012

Thanks, Janet! I’m so glad that you are rebounding from your heart attack (or stunned heart).

Be well.


What Say YOU?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,919 other followers

